48 Reviews

This is the best brownie recipe ever!! You'll never try another brownie recipe after making these! Here are a few tips: For a dark chocolate lovers, use Ghiradelli Double Dark/60% or bittersweet chocolate in place of the semi-sweet chocolate. I often use 1 lb of bittersweet chocolate to melt, and 1 to 1 1/2 packages of dark chocolate chips folded into the batter. Get out your kitchen scale and weigh your chocolate for best results. While I love dark chocolate, after making these a dozen times, I've discovered that using a good quality semi-sweet chocolate, as directed, yields a crowd-pleasing result (for those who may not love dark chocolate as much). They are surprisingly rich with the semi-sweet chocolate, too!

Don't hesitate to melt chocolates and butter in the microwave, checking and stirring every minute (usually takes 3 minutes).

Another helpful tip is to line the pan with parchment paper so that there's a 1"-2" overhang. When the brownies have baked and COMPLETELY cooled, you can then carefully lift the whole batch out of the pan and onto a cutting board. Refrigerate and cut when cold if you like uniform squares. Otherwise, these moist brownies will look like brownie heaps. Another treat is to trim the edges off the batch and store these bits in a ziplock bag in the freezer - perfect for a quick fix or for ice cream toppings!

Enjoy and be sure sure to spring for the good stuff: fresh butter, fresh walnuts, high-quality chocolate. A batch might set you back $20, but you'll soon be having people wanting to pay you to make them. LOL.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmcpherr July 19, 2010

I made these last night and now know what brownie heaven tastes like! Wow! Ina Garten does it again. I made a third of the recipe using a 8"x8" pan, baked for 33 mins in total in a 325 deg oven. I used instant expresso coffee powder so I put in less than what the recipe called for. I also used all semi sweet chocolate and reduced the amount of sugar to compensate. The top was crunchy and the center was moist, chocolatey and fudgy. Yummm. I stuck them in the refrigerator before cutting as they were very soft. This is a very easy recipe to follow and will be my brownie staple from now on. Evelyn, thank you so much for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yclai March 23, 2006

These are wonderful brownies. I have had my eye on this recipe for awhile, but hadn't made it because of the large yield. With just my husband and I at home, it seemed dangerous to have such a large pan of brownies in the house. However, at the last minute, our Super Bowl plans changed and I needed a quick dessert to take to a party. I threw these together and brought home an empty pan! The brownies are moist and very, very rich. The chocolate chips stirred into the batter provide little pockets of happiness for the taste buds. I didn't refrigerate the brownies (didn't have time), and found that I only had about a cup of walnuts and about a cup of pecans on hand, and therefore, used a mix of both. Hubby sneaked a brownie while still warm and didn't care for the coffee flavor. However, as the brownies cooled, the coffee flavor was less evident. Most people didn't distinguish the coffee flavor at all...just thought that it was a deep chocolate flavor. These are a great brownie that pleased our crowd.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. February 01, 2004

This is the best brownie recipe in the world. If you are browsing brownie recipes and stumble across this one, stop. Run to the kitchen and make them! I made 1/3 of this recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan for about 21 minutes. I also substituted broken up Oreos for the walnuts.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 November 02, 2003

I have made this recipe 2x now. The first time, I accidentally melted all of the chocolate instead of just 1# and they never fully baked...so I think that may be the problem that some people say they had. Especially the people who said their batch took over an hour to bake! I remade the first batch, and they came out perfect. I personally did not like the flavor of the coffee in these. It was WAY too strong. The second time I made these was actually last night! I made a 1/2 batch. The full recipe is HUGE! I left out the coffee all together and added 1/4 t. of Almond Extract and they came out sooooooooo good. Everyone in my office was raving about them! Also, when making the 1/2 batch, I use my 9x13 glass baking dish and they are the perfect thickness :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Selmas0ngs March 11, 2009

I have to fess up...I haven't made these yet, but have seen them being made on The Barefoot Contessa's show many times and they look wonderful and have all the ingredients for being a wonderful brownie. So rather than give it no stars, I gave it three, because I actually don't know. I did read the reviews on The Food Network site about people who've made this "Outrageous Brownie" and while most were complimentary and the brownies were everything and more they were promised to be, others had trouble even though they followed directions (pan size included) exactly. The biggest negative were a couple comments about this brownie being the "crumbly" type. They didn't look that way on TV. They looked moist and fudgy. Others complained of little things saying the coffee ingredient was too strong, which was not a big deal for me. I love the way coffee compliments chocolate, and if I didn't, I would just cut back on that portion of the recipe. Others said they were too "chocolaty" and used bittersweet chocolate instead of the unsweetened in the recipe. I am wanting to make these brownies, but have been unsure. There are a lot of expensive ingredients for the recipe to fail and not come out as expected, but I suppose the only way to know is to jump in and try. Still, I have those negative concerns echoing in my head from the TFN site about these brownies. Although Ina herself claimed it was probably the biggest seller at her store (The Barefoot Contessa) at one time and one of the most requested recipes of all time. I've been looking for a while for the perfect brownie recipe and have tried many that were just "OK". But these have that certain something, the butter/chocolate/flour ratio that I think might make them the ultimate brownie. The biggest pet peeve about brownies I have is the edges bake quicker than the middle, and I always end up de-panning and cutting away an inch or so all the way around so nobody gets a "crusty" edge. Hate that. Also (lol!), if I'm going to make them, I need to make way in the refrigerator to put the pan in when it's partially cooled from the oven. A half sheet pan takes up a lot of space if your refrigerator is somewhat full. I believe cooling them completely in the refrigerator is an important part of this recipe. And before anyone suggests making half the recipe (or even a third), that's not an option for me when baking. I don't think Ina would do it, or she would have posted it on TFN's site explaining it was OK to do so. Baking is a science, and just because the recipe is exactly "half", doesn't mean you'll achieve the same "full" results. Those of you that have done so with success....more power to you. After all my concerns, if I do dive in and make these soon, I promise to post here with a TRUE review and hopefully set aside any worries I had. (Sorry this was so long-winded).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Citruholic November 10, 2008

I just wanted to add to my review that I think these taste best refrigerated instead of at room temperature.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyRose June 15, 2005

These brownies were awesome! For the final 12 oz of chips, I used 6 oz of raspberry chips and 6 oz of peanut butter chips and made 1/2 a tray of each. I only used the nuts on the peanutbutter side. Everyone loved them. I have to hunt for the raspberry flavored chips, but they are always around during the holidays.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marguerite214 June 05, 2005

These are the most delicious brownies you will ever make. The coffee only enriches the chocolate flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa in Cali April 17, 2004

This is a keeper! I'm not a coffee drinker so I passed on the instant coffee...still was yummy for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_geek February 07, 2004
Outrageous Brownies