Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outrageous Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outrageous Brownies

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2010

      This is the best brownie recipe ever!! You'll never try another brownie recipe after making these! Here are a few tips: For a dark chocolate lovers, use Ghiradelli Double Dark/60% or bittersweet chocolate in place of the semi-sweet chocolate. I often use 1 lb of bittersweet chocolate to melt, and 1 to 1 1/2 packages of dark chocolate chips folded into the batter. Get out your kitchen scale and weigh your chocolate for best results. While I love dark chocolate, after making these a dozen times, I've discovered that using a good quality semi-sweet chocolate, as directed, yields a crowd-pleasing result (for those who may not love dark chocolate as much). They are surprisingly rich with the semi-sweet chocolate, too!

      Don't hesitate to melt chocolates and butter in the microwave, checking and stirring every minute (usually takes 3 minutes).

      Another helpful tip is to line the pan with parchment paper so that there's a 1"-2" overhang. When the brownies have baked and COMPLETELY cooled, you can then carefully lift the whole batch out of the pan and onto a cutting board. Refrigerate and cut when cold if you like uniform squares. Otherwise, these moist brownies will look like brownie heaps. Another treat is to trim the edges off the batch and store these bits in a ziplock bag in the freezer - perfect for a quick fix or for ice cream toppings!

      Enjoy and be sure sure to spring for the good stuff: fresh butter, fresh walnuts, high-quality chocolate. A batch might set you back $20, but you'll soon be having people wanting to pay you to make them. LOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      I made these last night and now know what brownie heaven tastes like! Wow! Ina Garten does it again. I made a third of the recipe using a 8"x8" pan, baked for 33 mins in total in a 325 deg oven. I used instant expresso coffee powder so I put in less than what the recipe called for. I also used all semi sweet chocolate and reduced the amount of sugar to compensate. The top was crunchy and the center was moist, chocolatey and fudgy. Yummm. I stuck them in the refrigerator before cutting as they were very soft. This is a very easy recipe to follow and will be my brownie staple from now on. Evelyn, thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      These are wonderful brownies. I have had my eye on this recipe for awhile, but hadn't made it because of the large yield. With just my husband and I at home, it seemed dangerous to have such a large pan of brownies in the house. However, at the last minute, our Super Bowl plans changed and I needed a quick dessert to take to a party. I threw these together and brought home an empty pan! The brownies are moist and very, very rich. The chocolate chips stirred into the batter provide little pockets of happiness for the taste buds. I didn't refrigerate the brownies (didn't have time), and found that I only had about a cup of walnuts and about a cup of pecans on hand, and therefore, used a mix of both. Hubby sneaked a brownie while still warm and didn't care for the coffee flavor. However, as the brownies cooled, the coffee flavor was less evident. Most people didn't distinguish the coffee flavor at all...just thought that it was a deep chocolate flavor. These are a great brownie that pleased our crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      This is the best brownie recipe in the world. If you are browsing brownie recipes and stumble across this one, stop. Run to the kitchen and make them! I made 1/3 of this recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan for about 21 minutes. I also substituted broken up Oreos for the walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I have made this recipe 2x now. The first time, I accidentally melted all of the chocolate instead of just 1# and they never fully baked...so I think that may be the problem that some people say they had. Especially the people who said their batch took over an hour to bake! I remade the first batch, and they came out perfect. I personally did not like the flavor of the coffee in these. It was WAY too strong. The second time I made these was actually last night! I made a 1/2 batch. The full recipe is HUGE! I left out the coffee all together and added 1/4 t. of Almond Extract and they came out sooooooooo good. Everyone in my office was raving about them! Also, when making the 1/2 batch, I use my 9x13 glass baking dish and they are the perfect thickness :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I have to fess up...I haven't made these yet, but have seen them being made on The Barefoot Contessa's show many times and they look wonderful and have all the ingredients for being a wonderful brownie. So rather than give it no stars, I gave it three, because I actually don't know. I did read the reviews on The Food Network site about people who've made this "Outrageous Brownie" and while most were complimentary and the brownies were everything and more they were promised to be, others had trouble even though they followed directions (pan size included) exactly. The biggest negative were a couple comments about this brownie being the "crumbly" type. They didn't look that way on TV. They looked moist and fudgy. Others complained of little things saying the coffee ingredient was too strong, which was not a big deal for me. I love the way coffee compliments chocolate, and if I didn't, I would just cut back on that portion of the recipe. Others said they were too "chocolaty" and used bittersweet chocolate instead of the unsweetened in the recipe. I am wanting to make these brownies, but have been unsure. There are a lot of expensive ingredients for the recipe to fail and not come out as expected, but I suppose the only way to know is to jump in and try. Still, I have those negative concerns echoing in my head from the TFN site about these brownies. Although Ina herself claimed it was probably the biggest seller at her store (The Barefoot Contessa) at one time and one of the most requested recipes of all time. I've been looking for a while for the perfect brownie recipe and have tried many that were just "OK". But these have that certain something, the butter/chocolate/flour ratio that I think might make them the ultimate brownie. The biggest pet peeve about brownies I have is the edges bake quicker than the middle, and I always end up de-panning and cutting away an inch or so all the way around so nobody gets a "crusty" edge. Hate that. Also (lol!), if I'm going to make them, I need to make way in the refrigerator to put the pan in when it's partially cooled from the oven. A half sheet pan takes up a lot of space if your refrigerator is somewhat full. I believe cooling them completely in the refrigerator is an important part of this recipe. And before anyone suggests making half the recipe (or even a third), that's not an option for me when baking. I don't think Ina would do it, or she would have posted it on TFN's site explaining it was OK to do so. Baking is a science, and just because the recipe is exactly "half", doesn't mean you'll achieve the same "full" results. Those of you that have done so with success....more power to you. After all my concerns, if I do dive in and make these soon, I promise to post here with a TRUE review and hopefully set aside any worries I had. (Sorry this was so long-winded).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      I just wanted to add to my review that I think these taste best refrigerated instead of at room temperature.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      These brownies were awesome! For the final 12 oz of chips, I used 6 oz of raspberry chips and 6 oz of peanut butter chips and made 1/2 a tray of each. I only used the nuts on the peanutbutter side. Everyone loved them. I have to hunt for the raspberry flavored chips, but they are always around during the holidays.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      These are the most delicious brownies you will ever make. The coffee only enriches the chocolate flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      This is a keeper! I'm not a coffee drinker so I passed on the instant coffee...still was yummy for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Oh man... these were amazing. I made them for the Superbowl party and they were a HUGE hit. I found them a little more work than 'regular' brownies but it was worth it. I couldn't find the unsweetened chocolate, so I used semi sweet for the full amount. I was pleased with the result and think that they might have been not sweet enough for us with the addition of the coffee and the unsweetened chocolate. Anyway, they were great- and even though we finished them only yesterday. I am already being asked when I am going to make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      Absolutely fabulous! These are the best brownies I've ever tasted. This is the first time I've posted a comment but I felt I had to with this recipe! These are rich and melt in your mouth. I ended up cutting them into 63 small pieces instead of 20 so it's enough for an army. The only changes I made were I omitted the walnuts, used 1 tbsp of coffee and baked for 30 minutes total. Definitely my brownie recipe from now on. Loved the fact you can make them ahead of time as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Quite exceptional, Evelyn! This recipe makes a lot of brownies and well filled the entire jellyroll pan. The only change I made to the recipe was to add only 2 cups of chopped walnuts instead of the entire 3, because I ran out of walnuts. I found the two cups of nuts to be plenty. Otherwise, I followed Evelyn's recipe to the letter. My husband adored this recipe! I would prefer not quite as much coffee in the mix and next time I prepare this recipe, I will reduce the instant coffee to 1 TBS. We like our brownies served with chocolate or vanilla ice cream and hot fudge sauce (Lee Lee's Famous Chocolate Sauce for Ice Cream - my personal favorite) and whipped cream. Yummy! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Evelyn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      My kids both big and small loved these brownies. We love nuts, so I loaded them in the recipe and they were devoured in no time! Chewy and moist just like they are supposed to be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      These were good, but evidently I did NOT cool the chocolate mixture down enough as the chips melted.. More like a chocolate candy type brownie.. I will try again, only making half of the recipe as this pan is more for feeding a potluck or bake sale group..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Definitely the best brownie I have ever baked!! I've tried several recipes over the last few months (I'm the designated "brownie bringer" for my friends' parties) and this was the hands-down winner. Everyone was blown away by how delicious they were-- even my daughter who is not a brownie fan loved them. I did make a half batch in a 9x13 pan and I left out the nuts (I love them, others don't and/or are allergic) and they turned out great. Even though they do take some work, this is going to be my go-to brownie recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Most amazing brownies ever. If you're not a very good baker, don't try them as they're not simple one-bowl brownies. They turned out fantastic and truly a brownie lovers brownie. I made two changes, I had no instant coffee, so I added 1T regular, and very good, coffee granules. Also I omitted the nuts as my friend is allergic. Taste was amazing pure chocolate brownie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      My sister makes these and they are to die for! :) Amazing! Thank you for posting this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      OMG This is the first time I made this recipe and it turned out GREAT. I used an EXTRA large pan 14 x 20 and the cooked for a total of 30 minutes. I will be bringing them to work ( I work in the kitchen of a nursing home, I make a cake each month for my residents Birthdays) I will let you know how they went as I can say this for sure.... They are brutally honest when I try a new recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outrageous Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (2731 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 657.4
     
    Calories from Fat 432
    65%
    Total Fat 48.0 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 23.0 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 122.4 mg
    40%
    Sodium 204.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 44.9 g
    179%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites