Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Steakhouse Walkabout Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Steakhouse Walkabout Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2010

      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!! When we go to Outback Steakhouse, I always order this soup. It's the best I've had ever. I never thought I would find a recipe to make it!! We just finished making t is EXACTLLY the same as the walkabout soup at Outback! I would like to say to anyone making this, follow the directions when it comes to the white sauce. I raised the recipe up to 6 servings. After adding the whole milk slowly, it took about 10 minutes to become a pudding consistency. So don't get impatient with it, it WILL thicken :) We are just ecstatic right now on how great this turned out! Again, Thank you Thank you Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      WOW- this is it. I loooooove the Walkabout Soup and this is it. I made it exactly as directed, except I used 2% milk. Don't give up on your white sauce, it took mine just a bit to thicken. I can't rave enough about this recipe. Can't wait to make it with Vidalia onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      The first time I made this is was WAYYY too salty, and I didn't add the salt due to previous reviews stating it was too salty. This recipe is delicious and so close to outbacks besides the fact that outbacks was much creamier than this. I used low sodium chicken broth(safeway brand's has less sodium than Swanson's low sodium), and a lower sodium chicken boullion that came in a packet..I can't remember what it's called it has the word herbal in it. That didn't make a too delicious flavor though so I added one chicken boullion cube without any water to match it. I have made this recipe twice in the last week, it is delicious! Everyone loves it and can't have just one bowl. For more than 3 full bowls, I recommend doubling the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      We just had Walkabout Soup at Outback 2 days ago. I wanted to make this recipe soon after, so the taste would be fresh in my mind. This IS it! It was exactly right. I followed the recipe exactly, making no changes. It was very easy to do, even on a weeknight after work. Next time I will not add any extra salt - it wasn't too salty, but it was close. I might add a little white wine or sherry. Thanks for a great recipe that I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      This is EXACTLY the soup the Outback used to serve. Be careful with the salt, though. Because of the broth and bullion, you'll want to taste it before adding more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      Oooooh YUM! This is really delicious. I am so glad to be able to satisfy the craving for the Outback soup in my own kitchen! I followed the recipe exactly and was thrilled with the results! Total happiness! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I used stephtrosclair's tip and used evaporated milk. I threw in three thin slices of american cheese in addition to the Velveeta. and steemed three ears of fresh sweetcorn, sliced off the kernels, and threw them in too. It was increadible. My new favorite soup. (I guess, technically, it has become a chowder).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      LOVED IT!!!! I substituted the velveeta cheese with a slice of american cheese and a slice of swiss cheese... instead of whole milk I used evaporated milk, it made it sooooo creamy! I also used low sodium beef broth instead of chicken broth. I also skipped the bouillon cubes, didn't feel the need for them. And I'm really glad I didn't, it was perfect and creamy with out them. With these adjustments, It was not too salty at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Thank you for this recipe, my family absolutely loved it!! I ended up using thick shredded chedder as a sub for the velveeta and dropped in some caesar croutons at the end instead of the bread for the kids and it was a major hit! I will make this for years to come... thanks! I must say this is one of the best soups I've ever made

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      My favorite soup on the face of the planet! My Dad makes this for my family and we LOVE IT! I follow the recipe to the T and it comes out perfect every time. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves the original from Outback. Honestly, I believe this recipe is more flavorful than the original. Thanks a million for the recipe! My life is now complete! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      I reduced the salt by using fewer bouillon cubes and not adding the salt. I also reduced the liquid a bit to make a slightly thicker soup. The taste was amazing and will definitely be something I make again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      This is one of my MOST favorite soup recipes. I make it exactly as the recipe calls and sometimes it comes out thicker than others, but it is ALWAYS so tasty. This one will stay in my book forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      really good soup. read reviews before i made it so i used a little extra flour in the roux and cut back on the salt and the soup was perfect. also gently rewarmed white sauce and melted cheese in it before adding to onion/broth mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Wow! The Outback in my area stopped offering this on their menu :( I was so bummed, as this was one of my absolute favorite soups. Thank you so much for your submission of this recipe!!! It was AWESOME! I will be making this again and again. The only thing I didn't do was add salt. I thought the bouillon would take care of that for me, and it did! Thanks again for the post!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Very good onion soup. It was a pleasent change from the traditional onion soup. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I was looking around for an Onion Soup recipe....and wound up with this one... Great find! Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This was an excellent recipe. We thought it tasted the same as the original. Based on several other reviews I did not add the salt to the soup or the white sauce and it was perfect. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      This soup is delicious and tastes alot like the real thing. My husband really loved it! I doubled the recipe, but followed the ingredients exactly. So yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This soup is wonderful, it was quick and easy to prepare and all my dinner guests enjoyed it. I served it with Beer Bread #73440 and it went wonderfully together. I made it just as written and I wouldn't change a thing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This soup is very close to Outbacks! They have not been serving it lately at the location closest to me so I decided to try myself. This recipe is quick, delicious, and EASY. Thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Steakhouse Walkabout Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.2
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    64%
    Total Fat 28.4 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 54.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1619.4 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Velveeta cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites