Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Steakhouse Toowoomba Pasta Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Steakhouse Toowoomba Pasta Copycat Recipe

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2012

      This used to be one of my favorite dishes at Outback when I wasn't in the mood for steak, but sadly it's been taken off the menu. Fortunately, I found this recipe before that happened and was able to verify that it matches the Outback version very closely.

      In other words: It's delicious. The ketchup seems like a weird addition (and I hate ketchup), but it gives the sauce the right color and a little hint of tomato product without changing the fact that it's a cream sauce. For best taste, make sure you use a good quality mushroom like the suggested baby portobellos (cremini) mushrooms.

      Many thanks for posting up this recipe! I just had our annual crawfish boil this weekend, and I've already got the leftover crawfish tails slated for a batch of Toowoomba pasta. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      Had outback just last week and had the toowoomba sauce and it was so addicting so I'm Def going to try this copy cat . The only thing that has me a bit nervous is when I read the recipe it says that most of the cream will boil down to a dark orange colour in which the one at outback was white and small tinge of yellow/orange. How can I keep it to that colour rather then the dark orange??? Thanks ever so much for this recipe and looking forward to any suggestions and or advice that would come from someone on the inside of outback steakhouse to help. From missy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      I am from Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia. Thanks to the creator of this recipe, I just found out about this dish, and I have to say, I am really amazed. Why the heck is it named after Toowoomba? Our town has absolutely no connection to pasta. Actually, most people who settled around here were of German decent, so if anything, I would expect a German dish named after us. We aren't really associated with prawns (shrimp) either, as we aren't really close to the coast and good quality prawns are usually expensive. Also, Toowoomba is not even in the "outback"... it's a city in south east Queensland, only a small drive away from Brisbane. Many of us that live here have never even been to the outback... It's as much of a mystery to us as it is to you guys. Our food isn't really any more exotic than what American food is either. It's kind of ironic, because we used to have a Texan steakhouse in our town, and over there, you guys are eating "Outback" steak. I must thank the creator of this dish for making me aware of Outback Steakhouse. It gave me a great laugh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Probably my MOST favorite recipe! Loaded with fat and calories but WELL worth the occasional splurge. This actually makes 6 to 8 good size servings, and best of all, it heats back up in the microwave the next day and still tastes delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

    • on February 16, 2010

      I agree, too SPICY, but it was EXCELLENT!! just as great as outback's! for those who doesnt like too spicy food, you should only use 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper,because with 3/4 it was still too spicy for my taste. those who do like spicy food you can go with 3/4. Im really thrilled about this recipie. GREATTT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I love the resturaunts version so i decided to try and make this one. It was wonderful better than i could ever have hoped for. My husband liked this one better than Outbacks, but i thought they were just about exact.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      The recipe is great. I did get a tip from a friend at Outback. They sautee the shrimp and crawfish in butter and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is awesome!! I will use a little less cayenne peeper next time, but it was really good. I really did think it was better than Outback as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Never been to an Outback Steakhouse but with a recipe this good - not to worry about missing out on anything! This is good! Other then using regular large mushrooms I made as posted. We love pasta - adding shrimp puts this one over the top at our house - we love shrimp too! Thank you for a Pasta recipe the whole family enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      A new Top 5 for me. Love it! Left out coriander, also didn't have the green onions, but will add next time. Thanx for the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      this was just fantastic!!!!! I left out the coriander, better than the Outback!!!!! yum yum!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Deeeeeelicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Steakhouse Toowoomba Pasta Copycat Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 954.9
     
    Calories from Fat 542
    56%
    Total Fat 60.2 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 35.7 g
    178%
    Cholesterol 412.4 mg
    137%
    Sodium 1250.1 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.9 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 32.3 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes