123 Reviews

I loved it too. Great seasoning. After reading the other reviews I dropped the salt down to 3 teaspoons as I am a little salt sensitive and knew I could always add more! Turned out great. Love the heat. It's just the right amount for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Life Tussle January 13, 2009

This had good flavor but it is FAR too salty, after reading the reviews I cut the salt down to 5 t. and it was still unfortunately extremely salty. I will probably try it again but only use a little salt, or maybe not put any in the rub and just salt the steaks normally after rubbing. Didn't have the coriander and added a bit of cumin, otherwise made as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmet_girl December 17, 2008

I too halved the salt, I omitted the cayenne pepper as I know it is too hot for my family. Next time I will reduce the paprika down to 3 teaspoons. Overall a really great recipe, I will add this to my regular meal rotation, thanks Shasha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom September 22, 2008

I used no salt in the mix and it was perfect Loved spicy flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 17, 2008

It was way too salty. I evened reduced the salt to 6 tsps. It was a little too spicy for me but my husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLin September 14, 2008

Too salty for most. Too hot for manu. I was looking for something similar to Outback but this is not like any rub I have been served there. That being said I reduced the salt and heat and enjoyed it. My wife did not care for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theangells August 28, 2008

I tried this recipe last night. In the words of my daughter, It was the bomb.com. By far the best steak I have ever cooked at home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tgprice August 27, 2008

This is such a highly rated recipe, but if you read the reviews, so many people alter the recipe and then give it five stars. You can't do that! The rub is good, but I like many had to reduce the salt. My rating is based on the original recipe unaltered.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mattress67 July 21, 2008

I've had this recipe printed out and laying in my to-make pile for several years. I wish I had come back and read the other reviews before using it. We love Outback steaks but this rub was waaaay too hot for us. Even DH, who loves hot salsa, needed to scrap the rub off the finished steak in order to eat it. I actually had to rinse mine off so it wasn't so hot. If you aren't a pepper lover, you might want to cut back on the cayenne. Or use the rub very sparingly. I cut the recipe in half since I only had two steaks and I only used half of what I prepared. We also didn't think it tasted anything like the Outback steaks. Heat lovers might enjoy this rub, but it wasn't for us. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) July 17, 2008

Spicy and salty. I liked the spice but my husband did not. Would reduce both ingredients if make again. Doesn't taste much like Outback, I will have to keep searching!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonniexx July 13, 2008
Outback Steakhouse-Style Steak