120 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used no salt in the mix and it was perfect Loved spicy flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 17, 2008

It was way too salty. I evened reduced the salt to 6 tsps. It was a little too spicy for me but my husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLin September 14, 2008

Too salty for most. Too hot for manu. I was looking for something similar to Outback but this is not like any rub I have been served there. That being said I reduced the salt and heat and enjoyed it. My wife did not care for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theangells August 28, 2008

I tried this recipe last night. In the words of my daughter, It was the bomb.com. By far the best steak I have ever cooked at home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tgprice August 27, 2008

This is such a highly rated recipe, but if you read the reviews, so many people alter the recipe and then give it five stars. You can't do that! The rub is good, but I like many had to reduce the salt. My rating is based on the original recipe unaltered.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mattress67 July 21, 2008

I've had this recipe printed out and laying in my to-make pile for several years. I wish I had come back and read the other reviews before using it. We love Outback steaks but this rub was waaaay too hot for us. Even DH, who loves hot salsa, needed to scrap the rub off the finished steak in order to eat it. I actually had to rinse mine off so it wasn't so hot. If you aren't a pepper lover, you might want to cut back on the cayenne. Or use the rub very sparingly. I cut the recipe in half since I only had two steaks and I only used half of what I prepared. We also didn't think it tasted anything like the Outback steaks. Heat lovers might enjoy this rub, but it wasn't for us. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) July 17, 2008

Spicy and salty. I liked the spice but my husband did not. Would reduce both ingredients if make again. Doesn't taste much like Outback, I will have to keep searching!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonniexx July 13, 2008

This was good, but waaayyy to much salt for us. Made it twice, once with all the salt the recipe called for, and once reducing it in half. We could not eat the meat it was soooo salty the first go round. Spices have good flavor mixture and I will try it again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle July 07, 2008

thats is a ok spice for steak ... not bad ... but i have seen better

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony June 18, 2008

Had a really good flavor but too much salt for us. I'll cut way back on the salt next time. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ June 08, 2008
Outback Steakhouse-Style Steak