123 Reviews

The family loved this recipe. They used A1 sauce so when I asked them about the saltiness in relation to other reviews, they vaguely remembered it being too salty. Next time I will probably use the other suggestions and reduce the salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fallonm August 08, 2010

Made this tonight with rave reviews!! Didn't change a thing (well ok, I grilled the steak instead of frying it)... I put the leftover mix in a shaker, cause this is going to be a regular around here!! Thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky74 June 04, 2010

perfectly cooked and seasoned! very tender and delicous

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerlyJ March 20, 2010

Really good! I'm on the Atkins diet and this is great on Sirloin also. Plus it's simple. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie817 October 30, 2003

Waaaaay too much salt - but I cut it back by half before making my batch since I could see it was an over the top amount. Because I did that, I will rate this five stars because it is an outstanding rub mixture. Just think about if you want that much salt in your mixture and adjust accordingly. Oh, and I would suggest you NOT push down on your steaks to 'sear the edges' as stated in the directions. Serious no-no. You will lose precious juices that way. If your heat is high enough, the pan (or grill) will do its job and give you great sear marks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzette316 April 22, 2016

I am not sure if this is exactly like Outback's bold seasoning, but this is crazy good as it is. Next time I might cut down the coriander a little bit and increase the salt (I used sea salt.) I can see why this is called "Magic Dust" by some people!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen C. March 27, 2016

Made this for the first time tonight. Tried the salt half way at 5tsp. Came out exactly like it tastes at Outback. Well done!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jon L. November 30, 2015

My family loved this! I left out coriander (didn't have any), used 2 Tsp of salt, and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ps15152000 December 23, 2014

All I can say is WOW! I really can't compare this rub to Outback's, but the flavors are excellent. Because of the reviews I read, I cut back on the salt and cayenne. Othet than that I prepared the mix as presented. Normally, all I use on my rib-eyes are salt and pepper only. I was a bit leary www ith this rub because I didn't want to ruin my steaks. What it did was make them so much better. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandiegansince63 October 27, 2014

i used 1/3 of the salt and found it was still too salty, basically ruined a perfectly gd steak, would def say to just use a pinch for future reference

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lycan October 01, 2014
Outback Steakhouse-Style Steak