120 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. I didn't have turmeric so I substituted curry. I used this on our steak and also on fries to make some very good seasoned fries. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW August 31, 2011

This was very good, but I've never had a steak at Outback that tasted like this. Two things, way too much salt for our tasted and a little less pepper spices. This could have been my fault for using heaping teaspoons instead of level ones. Definately a different rub, but a very good one! Thanks for posting!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 April 29, 2003

I'm sold. I absolutely love this recipe. My whole family thinks this is the way steaks should taste! Only Shasha's rub for my steaks from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill April 11, 2003

I have been using Ted's Montana Grill seasoning mix for years and had no desire to change. It is amazing! I tried this but w/ less salt and now I can say this is also amazing. I made a double batch and now both are in my cabinet. I will alternate w/ any beef recipe and not miss a beat. You can substitute Accent for salt ( I do this all the time). It has 1/3 less sodium and really perks up the flavor for just about anything.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baltisraul February 13, 2014

The perfect steak rub!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer November 25, 2013

My husband loves this on steak and I have been using the recipe for about 3 years. If the meat I am using is cheaper I use 1/2 of the mix a can of coke to marinate overnight and then add the remainder of the seasoning directly to both sides of the steak right before cooking. It can turn a very tough piece of meat tender and the seasoning creates great juice while cooking that can be added over the steak once it's done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspir8ion August 11, 2012

This was pretty darn good! I had to substitute basil for the coriander, and curry powder for the turmeric (we were out of both), I cut down the cayenne by half, as well as the salt. The seasonings were delicious, and the only drawback was that we all felt like we had been pepper-sprayed when the plates hit the table - not a major drawback, and in fact quite funny to watch :) We will definitely use this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat January 26, 2011

This was outstanding! This had a really nice balance of flavors. I was a little worried about the proportion of salt but it ended up tasting great. I like things spicy so the cayenne pepper is a must. We used rib eye steaks and grilled them to medium-rare. The rub was super easy and made for an amazing meal paired with potato gratin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter November 06, 2010

The family loved this recipe. They used A1 sauce so when I asked them about the saltiness in relation to other reviews, they vaguely remembered it being too salty. Next time I will probably use the other suggestions and reduce the salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fallonm August 08, 2010

Made this tonight with rave reviews!! Didn't change a thing (well ok, I grilled the steak instead of frying it)... I put the leftover mix in a shaker, cause this is going to be a regular around here!! Thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky74 June 04, 2010
Outback Steakhouse-Style Steak