38 Reviews

Excellent side dish that is soo easy.Wonderful side dish.I am not a huge fan of canned mushrooms but this recipe is so packed with flavour that you will think that they are fresh. I used reduced salt beef broth. I think I may try simmering fresh tiny button mushrooms next time until tender (personal preference) but it still is great with canned.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario January 10, 2003

I have made these a few times, and they are exactly like the ones at the Outback, but cost a lot less to make. I had searched for them and didn't find this exact recipe, but I think this could not be closer without going to the Outback. I am with you, I get 2 orders always with my Outback Special.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ December 24, 2002

I have been making this recipe for years but my newest trick is Campbells french onion soup. So much easier then cutting the onion and I think it comes out better. I add a little water to the broth, maybe 1/3rd can and that cuts the sodium. I just use generic button mushrooms and I cannot tell the difference between Outback and mine..

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmce33 October 25, 2010

I absolutely love Outback's sauteed mushrooms, I sometimes crave them! Me and my daughter are happy to have stumbled upon this recipe, these are really delicious. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe (it always gets me when people substitute and then give a rating based on their substitution).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turtlelove February 15, 2009

Delicious! This recipe combines the essential flavors for a savory dish of sauteed mushrooms: beef broth, and wine. I used white because I didn't have red. This one is going to be a staple in my cookbook. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Disco Parmesian April 08, 2010

Ummm, Ummm Good. When we found this recipe everyone in my family was so very happy. The guys particularly like lots and lots and I like that it's quick and easy to do. Thanks for writing and submitting this one for all to share!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Marie September 20, 2009

I worked for outback for nearly 10 years, and guess what! You are on the money! I made them tonight, I did not have canned broth so I made them with beef boullion and water, boiled the cube, simmered the onions added the shrooms (I used portabella) and simmered that for around 15 mins. They were awesome, definitely a great comparison! Great job!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlcorsones December 07, 2008

Wow, not even close. Nice try though. BTW I am a Kitchen Manager at Outback Steakhouse. Just come eat with us, because this isn't close at all. Sorry try again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Damienkross February 29, 2008

I made these for my husband. He always orders these at Outback. (I don't). He said that he liked them, but were nothing like Outback's mushrooms, hence the three star rating. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ August 23, 2007

These are so easy yet so good!!! I have never had these at the Outback (I must have been missing out!), but if they are anything like Tara's recipe they are terrific!!! Thank you Tara for posting a winner!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D May 19, 2003
Outback Steakhouse Sauteed Mushrooms