Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Get Healthy Your Way

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    Totally Satisfying. Totally Made by You.
    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    The 16 Benefits You Won't Believe
    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    Bust Your Cravings and Button Your Jeans!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Steakhouse Copycat Bread (Gluten Free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Steakhouse Copycat Bread (Gluten Free)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2009

      A gluten free bread worth eating! I used unsweetened Almond milk in place of dairy milk. I too used potato starch instead of the sorghum flour and canola oil in place of butter. Popped it in my Zojirushi bread maker on quick bread and with it's 3 risings the texture was close to "regular"bread . I think next time I might try it with a bit less instant coffee though. When in the bread maker I was tempted to add more flours, because it was like cake batter not at all like "regular" breads in a nice tight ball. I was surprised how it all came together and tasted wonderful. Now I can have sandwiches again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! This bread is absolutely heavenly. Even better than gluten filled bread :) I am SO grateful to finally have found a gf bread I enjoy eating. I make mine in the bread machine on the rapid setting with light crust. I also only use 2 eggs, substitute soy flour for the sorghum, and add 2 tbsp of flax seed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Wow, not only is it gluten free, but it is good! I used an ice cream scoop to portion out the dough into round mounds onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Then I use wet hands to flatten the dough before rising and baking. By slicing through them horizontally, these rounds make good buns or sandwich rounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Oh my GOODNESS, this was so delicious! I followed the directions to the letter, except threw everything in my Zojirushi. I loved it, but the kids didn't, which was fine with me because that meant I got the whole loaf to myself. I think this would make GREAT gluten free reuben sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      I made this bread today, and WOW, it's fabulous. The texture is just like "regular" bread. The flavor is great. I made it in my bread machine on the quick cycle. (best for gluten-free breads) The only thing I changed was I used oil instead of butter. I will definitely be making this recipe a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This bread has the most wheat - like texture of any GF bread I have made - it has body like whole wheat bread, not fluffy white bread. Excellent. I made this exactly as listed and the flavor is very sweet but with a slightly bitter aftertaste - will probably cut back the honey as well as the cocoa and coffee, just a touch. The batter wasn't enough for two 8x4 pans but would work well for three mini pans or one 9x5. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      When I first tasted this bread, I brought a slice out to my BF saying "This tastes like bread!!" This goes beyond great GF bread---it's just great bread in general! I did make a couple of changes due to what I had on hand. I used an all-purpose GF flour mixture in place of the garbanzo flour and used potato starch in place of the sorghum. I also halved the recipe (with 1 egg, 1 egg white) to make just 1 loaf. It turned out soft with a great crust, and it sliced wonderfully! I don't make bread too often, but when I do, I know where I'll turn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This was really tasty. My 5 year old daughter was very concerned when we added coffee, but she loved it! My bread never actually rose, not sure why...But it was just for my family, so I really don't care what it looks like if it tastes good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I over cooked and it was dry, dry , dry. My child wouldn't eat it. I thought it was a bit bitter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      This bread was wonderful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      I haven't made this but the bitterness is coming from the garbanzo bean flour. Some people don't like the aftertaste and bitterness it has. Just substitute gluten free flour that you like and it should still work fine. Coconut and sorghum would work well i think due to weight and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      No flopping here! Great recipe. Tastes like wheat homemade bread and it didn't flop in the least bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      i am just trying to get into gluten free so any thing is helpfull thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      This is simply the BEST gluten-free bread we've ever eaten!! It tastes so much like honey wheat bread I could weep. Used DariFree in place of the milk and canola oil instead of the melted butter since my son can't have casein (milk protein). Have baked in one 9" loaf pan at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes AND in the ABM on the sweet bread 2-lb. loaf setting with great results. This bread is terrific for toast, sandwiches, croutons, French toast, grilled cheese...and for bringing to OBSH so we can enjoy bread with our friends & family again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Steakhouse Copycat Bread (Gluten Free)

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.8
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    24%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 21.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 117.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    garbanzo flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes