17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this recipe several times; it's perfect as written. It's also incredibly delicious as a dip for veggies or bread sticks. I put it up in small jars and give it as gifts; it's always a huge hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefPattiO April 21, 2015

I haven't made this yet. I'm confused by the measurements of the first 2 ingredients. Is the egg amount really 7 or 8 cups?? And couldn't you just give the garlic measurement in number of cloves? Not all of us are accomplished cooks. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ggcozgirl June 21, 2014

I made this last night, omitted the salt, used anchovie paste (based on other recipes I've seen), and only had 1 cup of olive oil, so had to use 1/2 cup veggie oil. I read another review that said let it sit overnight. THIS IS A MUST. It tasted like oil freshly made, but this morning I stirred it up, and tasted..mmmm. Very close to the real think. I think a little more Parmesan cheese next time too. Nice little kick to it like the real thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmtonly1 August 06, 2013

All I could taste was olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
triciasue92 July 16, 2013

Is this authentic? Although the recipe is close, it seems to be missing a certain spicy kick to it. It's a good dressing, and I agree with the other posters that the salt should be omitted. If anyone knows what that secret something is that it is missing, please let me know! I am no longer in the USA so I can't get my Outback fix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skarysquirrel December 01, 2012

My favorite part of going to Outback Steakhouse is the caesar salad. I enjoy caesars anywhere, but their dressing is unique. Just for fun, I googled "outback caesar recipe" and got this link. I followed the recipe, and it is AMAZING how similar it is. I have a couple of comments:
This recipe makes almost a QUART of dressing. I cut the recipe in half. While preparing, it seems some ingredients are heavy handed (an OUNCE of garlic for 1/2 recipe!) but it works. I will say that I made it last night and served it immediately, and while I liked it, I thought something was off. I chilled the leftovers in the fridge and had more tonight, and what a difference chilling in the fridge overnight made. It tasted EXACTLY like Outback's tonight. I still have enough for at least 2 more large salads using only 1/2 the recipe. If you like Outbacks caesar, you will love this....but do yourself a favor and prepare a day ahead of when you want to have it, the flavor payoff is so much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs.tim January 27, 2012

Never had Caesar salad at Outback but will certainly try now! The original Caesar salad had anchovies in it. I couldn't imagine making it without. The tin I bought contained 2 oz. What to do with the extra 1/4 oz? Put it in as well !! Did not add any salt (that is why I didn't use store bought). Very tasty. It did make a lot. Had Caesar salad for 3 days ! No complaints. My waist management team won't allow me to make this very often, but what they won't know...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Booshman January 11, 2011

I thought this recipe was very good. I did not add the salt as others suggested. Make it 24 hours before your dinner so the flavors can set in. Also, unless you are having 50 people over for dinner cut this recipe down by a lot. I threw a ton away as its only good for so long and it made so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebeccarybak January 06, 2011

way too much salt and I never even used anchovies (and I love salt....omiting the salt all together would be a 5 for me there's salt in the cheese also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grooke October 31, 2008

My whole family loved this. Just as good as the Ouatback's. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARIA MAC * July 07, 2008
Outback Steakhouse Caesar Salad Dressing