Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Steakhouse Bushman Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Steakhouse Bushman Bread

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2009

      I work at outback as well and this is def not the recipe for the bushman bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I work at an Outback Steakhouse. The bread is a HONEY WHEAT bread and it has NO cocoa or coffee in it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Added a lot more flour both times I used this recipe. I skipped the coffee and the coco, and did all white flour because I didn't have wheat. THIS IS AMAZING BREAD!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      If you typically do not like coffee then leave out as the taste of coffee is overwhelming. I do not agree that this is the actual outback bread. Nothing Like IT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      I have the same exact recipe but wanted to add this for those who use a bread maker (if you want just copy and paste to "my notes")! Thanks for posting this!! *BREAD MACHINE* If using a bread machine, add all of the ingredients for the dough in the exact order listed into the pan of your machine. Set it on "knead" and when the machine begins to mix the dough, combine the food coloring with 1/4 cup water and drizzle it into the mixture as it combines. After the dough is created let it rise for an hour or so. Then remove it from the pan and go to step 8 on recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      I did this in the bread machine, and it turned out delicious, except the middle was sunken in. I omitted all that food coloring. The full recipe yielded one loaf, just about the size of an Outback loaf, and just as good, although a little lighter in color.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      Tastes JUST like it! I used splenda and omitted the salt. BIIIIIIgG mistake on omitting the salt. I ended up with a flat, sticky ball of dough that was hard as heck to form into loaves. The baked loaves themselves were flat also. So I will not deduct any points for MY mess-up. The taste, however, is JUST like the Outback's! My family LOVED it! I used the food coloring and it's shade rivals the Outback's. Next time I do this recipe, I won't opmit the salt as I usualy do in recipes. Thank you MEAN CHEF for clarifying that for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Overall good recipe. VERY, VERY sticky, needs more flour and not sure why the coffee and cocoa is needed for the recipe, except for coloring. Did exactly and each time I removed the plastic wrap, bread sunk. Will try finding another as this is way too little flour in this one. Overall taste was very good though, bread was very flat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Great bread! Tasted just like Outbacks. The only problem was it made a large amount. I may try to freeze some loafs for later. I didnt use the food coloring, and did have to add about 2/3 cups more flour to get the dough to "work". I also didnt have any cornmeal for dusting, so just used flour and it worked great. It didnt have that Outback look, but still tasted spot on. I also formed the dough in my bread machine, and then baked the loafs in the oven. Can't wait to make more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      We all thought this bread was excellent, and I will definitely make this again.. I cut the recipe in half and make 4 loaves with no problems. I used my bread machine to do the kneading, but I will acknowledge that there is a tip missing - you have to add flour as needed in order to get your dough to come together in a ball. And the amount will be different every day, depending on room temp and humidity.. Today I added I think about a cup additional flour in order for it to come together correctly. Oh - also, I didn't use the food coloring as suggested by Miller, (whom I believe got this recipe from Todd Wilbur), I used caramel coloring, and it worked out great! Caramel coloring is not hard to find in the supermarkets - it's marketed as Kitchen Bouquet..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic and SO addictive! I had to significantly modify it in order to make it gluten free due being a celiac, but the recipe was still wonderful! I omitted the food coloring since I figured I could just close my eyes and pretend! I posted the gluten free version incase anyone else needs to make it that way (Outback Steakhouse Copycat Bread (Gluten Free)).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Am praying that it rises again now that I've punched it down. There was absolutely no making long tubular shapes, it was so sticky I ended up just dropping globs on my stoneware. I did 3/4 of a cup more flour to no avail. I wish I'd read ALL of the reviews instead of just the first 4. If it tastes good I'll make it again, omit the water/food coloring mess and do half honey and half molasses. I also proofed the yeast first as that's just the way I've always made bread. For anyone interested this recipe is identical to nearly every other recipe for the same on the internet and the reviews about the flavor have all been RAVES!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This is to die for! I omitted the food coloring and extra water as I did not feel like fiddling with it and made it in my bread machine. I did have to add probably another 1/2 cup of flour, but I live in Missouri and often have to adjust recipies for humidity. This raised wonderfully and the color, even without the food coloring, was almost spot on. A definite keeper. DS has already requested some for his next camping trip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      THE most delicious bread I have ever made. Also my first successful loaf after attempting to make bread for over 20 times. Thanks a bunch. I halved the recipe and ended up with a small loaf that gave me 12 slices. Made this last night and there isn't even one slice left right now. I brushed the top with milk before baking and also after, to obtain a softer crust. It doesnt even need any fillings or spreads, it's delicious on its own...Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I’ve made this recipe many times, and it is one of my favorite breads. I mix and knead this with my Bosch mixer. I usually have to add an extra ½ cup of flour to get the dough off the sides of the bowl. Instead of making small loves out of this, I place the whole ball of dough on a pizza stone and cook it free form. It makes a nice round artisan style loaf. A tip I learned from another reviewer was to substitute ¼ cup molasses for half the honey. This adds to both color and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      The recipe was easy to follow, but the Bread didn't turn out as expected, not at all like Outback's. We didn't like it because the cocoa flavor is too strong. I would leave out the cocoa the next time I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      loved the taste, but was very "loose" when made in a bread maker...think I will decrease liquid next time... Any suggestions??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      This is the same recipe I use, only I use 2/3 cup honey and 3 T sugar for a little sweeter taste. It works great to do your dough in the bread machine. I love this bread -- I searched for it b/c if no one had posted it, I definitely wanted to share it, but here it is. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      great bread...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      So far I've made this twice. The first time was a near disaster. I followed as written (only omitting food coloring) but the dough was so sticky and wet that not even a rubber a ton more flour I got a workable dough. The bad experience I had during the process was immediately forgotten the second I took a bite of the bread, it is amazing! However I did learn from the first time and made very simple modifications on round two: I completely ignored everything below coloring, including the 1/4 cup of water and just began with 1 1/4 c and slowly added more in to make a good dough. I also proofed my yeast first, there is just too much work making bread by hand to risk it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Steakhouse Bushman Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 301.6
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    11%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 320.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 19.1 g
    76%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites