Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Steak House Walkabout Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Steak House Walkabout Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2010

      I just made this last night. It was excellent and very filling. It was tricky adding the flour.... I think adding the flour very slowly and constant stirring helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly, and this soup turned out to be a disaster! I'm not a good cook to begin with, so I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 to be extra fair. The onions disolved completely. The soup turned out so salty that I have endured jokes about it all night. My husband put on a brave face and tried to choke it down, but I took one taste and gave everybody permission not to eat it. It was suggested that (due to the saltiness) I should dump it on the driveway to melt the ice. ;) There is another recipe on here that contains chicken broth, and having tried both, I'd say THAT one is the way to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      I enjoyed this! I served it over spaghetti squash and served with french bread. Thanks for a great recipe-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      This recipe has way too much flour in it. Whoever says you can dissolve 3/4c of flour in 1c of water is crazy. That makes dough. It is impossible to get the flour dissolved and when you do, you can't taste the soup over the flour. Gross. Maybe it would work better with a few Tbsp of cornstarch instead. I will have to experiment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

    • on July 06, 2004

      This soup tastes just like the Outback one. I found that if you use 7 cups of water in the beginning, then heat the 1 cup omitted (heat it right before you are supposed to add the flour). Then just whisk the flour into the heated water and add it to the soup, it works very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      I found this recipe on the internet and wrote it without realizing you had already done so..I was just informed of this, so since my recipe will be cancelled I still would like to review this soup as being very good. In order to get the flour lumps out, the continuous stirring is very important. This keeps the soup very creamy. It is really a hot comforting soup with hard crusty bread. Recipefairy..sorry I didn't catch yours before I wrote mine. It's difficult to check all these recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      This is great. I've never had it at the restaurant but my husband made it on Sunday and it was delicious. Adding the flour was a bit tricky, I don't know an easy way to get the flour in without lumps and keep the onions from getting chopped up. You might want to make a slurry of broth and flour maybe? Thanks for posting this also, I don't have to write out the recipe now (I borrowed the book from a friend).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Steak House Walkabout Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (695 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.3
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    64%
    Total Fat 36.8 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 125.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 2096.4 mg
    87%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites