Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2009

      This is the best potato soup ever. I did have to cut back on the flour and butter for the thickener . Half of the called amounts was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      my boyfriend and I go to outback often and he always orders the potato soup. So I made a bet with him that I could make the soup. I did today, it tasted great I won the bet. I will surely be making this soup again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Awesome potato soup!!! Loved this. I wasn't sure about the measurement for cans of broth since I make my own so I did 6 cups, added a couple slices of cooked bacon to the soup (as well as used more for garnish) and otherwise kept everything the same. Makes a lot, but was so good as left overs none went to waste. By the way, even the kids loved this soup. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      Great Soup! Made as written and also added about a cup of shredded cheddar in the soup as well as the cheese on top. Made for Lets P-A-R-T-Y 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      Loved this soup but thought it had way too much butter in it. I think you could use 1/2 to 1/4 of the butter and it would still be a great potato soup. I added my cooked bacon right into the soup and also added a hand-full of cheddar cheese which was all I had. I used half & half for the heavy cream and that worked very well. I also microwaved my potatoes with skins on rubbed with a little EVOO, let them cool and peeled and chopped. I'll be making this one again. Thanks for sharing. Made for "Let's Party 2011"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      I made it! Super easy to make and super delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This is the closest you will get to Outback without having to leave your home! I didn't change a thing and it turned out beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      I can't eat potato soup at Outback because it contains wheat flour (like 99.9% of other restaurants). Subbed 6 Tbs. cornstarch for the flour in this recipe; it's easy, hearty, inexpensive - a family favorite. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Sorry forgot to rate it... Our son used to be the kitchen manager at the local Outback. I ran this by him and he said this looked a lot like the original (been a while since he worked there). I have made it a few times and although I have not done a side by side test this tastes just like Outback's IMO. I brought a crock pot full to a Super Bowl party and it was a hit. Many people coming back for seconds and asking for the recipe! Thanks Jazell. I would like to point out to the newer cooks that the 8 qts of water is for boiling the potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      I made this soup for my family as a post-Christmas meal...it was a HIT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      I love potato soup but could never find the exact recipe I like- 'til now!! This was wonderful! I followed the EASY directions exactly- only added cheddar (all I had) and green onions. Just a filling and comforting soup....THANKS!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      WHAT A HIT! We eat at Outback monthly and I've been searching non-stop for a recipe that would match their soup. I finally found it. Now DH and I can save some money and eat this at home more often. This is GREAT the next day reheated with a side salad or small sandwich. Thanks Jazell!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was my first time making potato soup. But it came out perfect. I did add some chopped garlic to it. My family loved it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Tasted just like Outback's soup- awesome recipe! My daughter told me I needed to make more after only one bite- it did come out a little thinner than Outbacks, but taste was right on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I made this soup and it was AWESOME!!! With my next day leftovers, I added a pound of cooked shrimp and then topped each bowl with green onion, cheese and fresh chopped crispy bacon. Thanks Jazell, AWESOME recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      It is a good recipe and better than most. I do have to say it has a very bad after taste that taste like cornstarch. So, its not my favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      My husband loves outback's soup, so I had to find a recipe that was similar and well it's not perfect but its close. I made this recipe twice the 2nd time was best. I went strictly by the recipe on this website, with a few extra ingredients' I added a dash of garlic salt & 1/4tp of celery salt. I fried the bacon then chopped the bacon into smaller pieces using my handy chopper. It turned out beautiful I also made a separate pot for my son's family they also loved it first time trying it. Thanks it was great!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      Calling this "Outback Potato Soup" implies it's a clone from Outback Steakhouse ... which it is not. Outback Steakhouse soup has a lot of flavor where this soup dominantly tastes like chicken broth. I also took the advice of a commenter who said use half the butter and flour ... which gave it the consistency of canned soup. The title should be just "Regular Potato Soup."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      unsure of how much chicken broth to use. its unspecified as to the measurement.. also, tasted like a big bowl of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      I made this earlier in the week, but with 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream and with only 1/3 of the butter. It was very good even without all the extra richness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (699 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 844.3
     
    Calories from Fat 441
    52%
    Total Fat 49.0 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 29.8 g
    149%
    Cholesterol 145.3 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1651.5 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites