Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Honey Wheat Bushman Bread (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Honey Wheat Bushman Bread (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2009

      Mine came out like hockey puck loafs. Not sure where it went wrong but it went wrong in a hurry thats for sure. My kids where so not impressed and used them as blocks. Sorry that I had to post this, but it was awful. It was jet black loafs. Thanks for shareing though its not your fault that I cant bake sometimes..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I made this recipe as listed..First off, I didnt like the use of all that food coloring..The bread did not taste or look like outbacks.This was drier and the color was really awful,blackish greenish?..I think it needs more molassas and some more honey..If I were to make is again. I would try to find the carmel coloring at a speciality store or ask if the bakery would sell some..I know I saw it for sale at the brew store ...Thanks for sharing though...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This recipe wasn't bad. It was not nearly as "fluffy" of bread as the real thing. Although I have never cooked with yeast before, so maybe I did something wrong. Will try again someday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      We loved this dense, dark bread. It is very similar to that served at the Outback Steakhouse. I made mine in my bread machine on the "dough" cycle. After the cycle was complete, I shaped the dough into 2 round loaves and put them on a baking sheet to rise for 1 hour. After baking for 40 minutes, I let it cool for about 15 minutes. We enjoyed it warm topped with honey butter...yummy! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!
      **Made for ZWT 8 Australia**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      AMAZING!!!!! Wasn't sure how this was going to turn out because this was my second time making bread (the first time a simple french bread recipe, and didn't turn out very well). Anyhow, made this recipe last night. Half the doug left in the fridge over night and the other half put in the freezer for some other day. Didn't add any of the food coloring, but did add approx. 1/4 cup of gluten. Turned out YUMMY!!!! My husband didn't know what kind of bread I was making and as soon as he tried it said "just like the one from Outback!!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I haven't had the outback bread before, but it is my husbands little brothers favorite, so I made this for him over Christmas visit. WHat a great, easy recipe! The bread was beautiful and delicious, and the family said it was a dead ringer! I might oil the cookie sheet this time (making a double batch!) because the loaves stuck a little. Since it is cold now, I just preheated the oven to a low temp, turned it off, and let the dough rise in the closed oven. Perfect! Thanks for posting, I searched for ten minutes to find the right one, and this is definitely it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This bread was delicious! I do agree that it was a little dry, though. I made the full recipe, but froze balls of dough to have more later. I am so glad I tried this recipe! I may try adding a bit more molasses and honey as other suggested. I didn't use the food coloring, so I added a bit of extra water to make up for it. Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: Australia/New Zealand

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Great bread . . . made for dinner tonight but smelled so good coming out of the oven I had to have a piece. I cut the recipe in half and made two small loaves. The only change I made was used equal amounts of honey and molasses. Also left out the food coloring, which didn't affect the bread anyway! Was not fluffy but wasn't heavy either. Just perfect! Made for ZWT 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Even my husband who "hates" wheat bread loved this recipe! Thanks for sharing. (PS If you let the dough rest for 5 minutes or so and then knead it again for 3 minutes-ish it will turn out more fluffy.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Just made it today and had rave reviews from my family. I did however use more freshly ground whole wheat and added vital wheat gluten....turned out great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I changed the recipe a tiny bit, becasue I do not want my KA to process one hugh dough. I changed: water 1 cp, bread flour 2 cup & whole wheat flour 1 cup. Honey 2TB. The dought smells fantastic!!Later update: I cannot rate this recipe, since I made one mistake by adding 2 TB cocoa, which contribute a sweet and bitter flavor. Thank you for sharing though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Very good recipe!! tasted just like it, if you add a little bit more sugar in it! but i think it is healthier the way it is! thank you for such great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This bread is great!! Tastes just like that fabulous brown bread served at Outback!! DD is hooked on this now!! Most likely we'll be making this bread twice a week now. :) I love the fact that there's a minimum of fat content and alot of healthy ingredients!!:) 5 stars for you rusted_essence!! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      this looks exactly like the recipe i just paid 79 cents for at topseceret recpies... on there alot of people commented that if you dont follow it EXACTLY it will turn out alittle off. also i use the bread machine to knead the dough. you just add the ingredients in the following order: mix food coloring with water and add to bread pan, then the flours, sugar, salt, butter cocoa honey molasses and yeast, set it to knead and walk away. when its one and rising and go to what i believe is step 10 on this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Honey Wheat Bushman Bread (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (1004 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 451.8
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    25%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 495.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites