Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outback Croutons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Croutons

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2010

      excellent recipe! Not quite like Outback though! I know I sound like Paula Deen right now, but they need more butter. I know the recipe already has a ton, but they are just really good, normal croutons right now, not quite the texture of Outback. I cut the recipe in half (because who has a cookie sheet to hold 2 loaves of bread?!). I also used 2 bowls and divided up the butter mixture evenly. It was much easier to coat the croutons when not working with such a large amount. Also very important to spread them onto the cookie sheet in one layer so none are overlapping. I will for sure be making these again, just with more butter - then I will hit the treadmill! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      Excellent croutons, light, melt-in-mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      My first batch came out of the oven 20 minutes ago, and I hope there are enough left for dinner tonight. These are wonderful, with a perfect mix of garlic and the rich flavor of butter. I also made a few slices of french bread along with the bite size pieces The cajun seasoning was very subdued, so you could add a bit more if you like more kick. However, the recipe is great as is. These will be the croutons I serve from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      These are excellent. I made them just as they should be. Their total time in oven to get crunchy was 30 minutes. NOt sure if my oven is low or what, but that's what it took. It took 5 seconds, and then an additional 10 seconds with the stick of butter cut in three. (Thanks to MIchele Figueroa for the suggestions) and I used 5 hot dog buns for my bread. Great recipe for our salad night last night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I have wanted to make these for some time - and today was the day! I was a little bummed when there was no temperature or time recommendation for the first toasting of the bread or time suggestions for the butter (making it look like mayo). So, I timed everything for the next person as a guide. First, I used a half a loaf of Texas toast (wanted to only do one quarter of the recipe). I used one stick butter. I cut the butter in three pieces and microwaved for 10 seconds - stirred and then microwaved for another five seconds. That seemed to give me the mayo consistency. For the first toasting, I toasted at 350 for about 10 minutes. I used two teaspoons of seasoning...and the second toasting I toasted the full ten minutes. I love the croutons and so does my husband! I might increase the butter next time a little...THANK YOU for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      My entire family loves this recipe. I made it a few times and I get a ton of requests. I am passing it out at Christmas time most likely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I baked mine a little longer than I'd like, but the flavor was still delicious and quite like that of Outback! I might suggest more cajun seasoning, if you want a little more zing!! The consistency of the butter was really tricky for me - I ended up putting it back in the fridge to set up a little more, but that didn't seem to hurt anything too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Love, Love, Love these. They Taste soooo good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      To be honest, I have never eaten at outback, but had 3/4 a loaf of italian bread to use up. I had came across this recipe the other day, and knew I had to try it. Never have had luck at croutons, but think my problem has been not pre-toasting the bread. Just finished my first batch, and they are sooooo tasty. Next time I may omit the cajun seasoning (due to personal preference) but they are great anyway!!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      Thank you for posting this recipe!! I have eaten at Outback a few times (there isn't one in my town so it is a real treat to go there) and I think these croutons turned out better than the ones they actually serve. Quite easy too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Really Nice! I used to work there and thats exactly how we did it. The key is to get the butter to the right consistensy. Just use the microwave it works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Croutons

    Serving Size: 1 (2072 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5484.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3554
    64%
    Total Fat 394.9 g
    607%
    Saturated Fat 239.0 g
    1195%
    Cholesterol 976.1 mg
    325%
    Sodium 7341.1 mg
    305%
    Total Carbohydrate 427.7 g
    142%
    Dietary Fiber 20.6 g
    82%
    Sugars 35.4 g
    141%
    Protein 69.3 g
    138%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites