Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Our Favourite Lemon Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Favourite Lemon Loaf

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2007

      Another winner, Boomie! I adore this lemon loaf and will be making it over and over! I am going to try again this week either in mini loaves or muffins for gifts. I love lemons and this is so delicious. Thanks for posting it! **Made for Beverage Tag 2007**

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This is exactly the loaf recipe I was looking for...the flavor & the texture was just perfect! Actually I did lessen the sugar to 3/4 cup but that's just me, I don't like things too sweet and I always use less sugar than a recipe calls for. This taste just like the one my mom makes. I made this loaf and split it with my friend and she just loved it and asked for the recipe. Oh, and I used a plump, juicy Meyers Lemon and it made it extra yummy!! THANK YOU!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Made for Holiday Tag 2007. This is a very easy to make recipe. The taste of the lemon is really refreshing. I am going to try making this in the summer, but I am going to add some fresh blueberries to the recipe. Yum! Thanks for a great recipe, Boomette1.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Very good! I have a friend who buys starbucks lemon loaf for breakfast every day. I made this for him. I made only couple minor changes (because of comparing several lemon loaf recipes). I used buttermilk instead of milk. Also, added 1 teaspoon lemon extract & 1 teaspoon lemon juice. He said the flavor was right-on. However, said Starbucks was just a little lighter. And the icing was different. Next time, I think I will beat the egg whites separately & fold them in. We'll see if that works. On it's own, this is a very nice recipe that I will make again. Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Nummy is right! I didn't have any real lemons and I wanted to skip the glaze so I added 1/4 cup lemon juice to the loaf before baking and NUMMMMMMY!!! Exactly what I wanted and I will definitely be making this often, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This is delicious! Great instructions that are easy to follow. The lemon is wonderful and very refreshing. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Fabulous cake! If I could, I would give more stars! So very moist and flavourful. I also used an extra lemon as a reviewer suggested. I love lemon. Very nice tang. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I baked it in a mini muffin instead of the loaf and they turned out great! I took the advice of others and added 1/4 cup of lemon juice and the zest of 2 lemons to the batter. The glaze is super lemony and I love it! I finished with a dusting of icing sugar which is just enough to offset the tang!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Yum! I would like more lemon flavor in the actual bread, since the best parts were the tops of each slice that got all of the glaze, so next time I will probably add lemon extract to this, but it was great as it was anyway.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This cake had a dense texture more like a pound cake. The flavor of the cake was a bit mild for our tastes so I'd probably increase the lemon zest and maybe add some lemon juice next time. I increased the recipe by half and it was the perfect amount for my bundt cake. Thanks for a good recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Excellent!!!! I used 3 small loaf pans. My father loves lemon and said when he tasted this that it should be illegal!!!!! Easy, great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Love this loaf! I didn't make the glaze (I'm not a fan of sweets), but I did add 3 tbs lemon juice (from the lemon I grated for rind) added to the batter. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      This is a wonderful lemon loaf Derf. I used the batter for 6 mini rosebud cakes. They turned out beautiful. Sweet, tart, tangy, moist, tender, crispy and very delicious.The cake has a beautiful subtle lemon flavour, while the glaze is thick and very intense. I will certainly be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Made a perfect lemon loaf. Follwed the recipe directions exactly and came out with stealler results. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      The best lemon loaf ever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Amazing! I've made it 4 times since & I am planning on making it for friends at Christmas. The only thing I did different, was instead of adding a glaze to the top, I poked holes all over & squeezed fresh lemon juice all over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      This recipe was great but I added 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup lemon juice as someone else suggested. Next time I'll add all lemon juice and top with powdered sugar. Mine didn't rise very much either. I realized it's missing about 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda. That should do the trick. My mind was going crazy with variations, like pineapple juice and coconut instead of lemon. Good job Derf! It's a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      This was a very Lemony Rich Pound Cake. I used margarine and came out wonderful. I definitely had to allow to bake at 350 for just over an hour and used a 10x5 inch loaf pan. Thanks Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Very good, I used butter. I have made twice and will make again! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This deliciously lemony buttery cake is a favourite in our home whenever I make it. I use only three-fourths cup of sugar in the batter and usually have to cover the cake with a strip of foil about half way through baking time, so it doesn't brown too much. We are always in such a hurry to eat it, that the first few pieces tend to crumble as it is still warm. Derf thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Favourite Lemon Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (888 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2714.6
     
    Calories from Fat 973
    35%
    Total Fat 108.1 g
    166%
    Saturated Fat 64.5 g
    322%
    Cholesterol 633.1 mg
    211%
    Sodium 2545.8 mg
    106%
    Total Carbohydrate 409.3 g
    136%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 253.1 g
    1012%
    Protein 37.7 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes