144 Reviews

Holy freakin' jack flash! This is one of those perfect recipes, that mind me of the lemon loaf my mom used to make, only BETTER! I've printed out this recipe, and already my boyfriend has request another loaf, as he loves having a small slice with his at-work coffee. I sub'd the 1/2c of milk, and broke it down to 1/4 fresh lemon juice & 1/4 milk, and it wasn't too strong ... I'll be doing that from now on to give it that extra tiny little boost of fresh lemon taste. SUPER recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dobermanmom May 23, 2010

Great loaf! Added 1.5 lemon rind and 1/4 lemon juice 1/4 milk which gave the loaf a real lemony taste the way I like. Thanks for posting, I got many compliments.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u May 13, 2010

We love lemons and this is quite a treat!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol in Oregon 2 September 20, 2002

This gets five stars due to the great changes posted by others. I use this to make mini loaves at Christmas...had to adjust the cooking time down to 40 minutes when dividing the batter into 3 small loaf pans. I used 1/4 c. fresh lemon juice (2 lemons) and 1/4 c. milk and added 1 T. canola oil for additional moisture. I also used the zest of all of the lemons (3) for the batter and, because I use Meyer lemons, reduced the sugar to just over 3/4 c. The end result is a wonderful lemony flavor...not too sweet and very moist. Highly recommended!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssg7741 December 19, 2013

OMG This has got to be the best Lemon Loaf recipe ever... I have made 100's of lemon loafs and none have ever been this good.. It is moist and not to heavy.. PERFECT.... I also sub'd the 1/2 c of milk with 1/4 fresh lemon juice and 1/4 cup milk.. I kept everything else the same... I will Def make this again and again :O)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyRay June 17, 2011

Delicious! I love the glaze -- just enough tart-sweet to perfectly complement the wonderful flavor of the lemon loaf. I prepared it as directed but put in a slightly smaller loaf pan. I had no problem with it being too heavy or not rising as some other reviews mentioned. This one's going in the tried-and-true pile. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Croft Girl April 11, 2010

My son was here last week-end and I made the lemon bread for him to take home.Very good. I have been making this for about 30 years or so but don,t remember where I got the recipe from.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie April 15, 2004

Everyone loved this lemon loaf. Did use have milk, half lemon juice because we like lemon. If you put the loaf back in the still warm oven after glazing, the glaze really thickens.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Philly413 April 18, 2011

We loved everything about this loaf - from the buttery fluffy texture to the tart lemonade-like glaze. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta April 19, 2010

Great recipe! I added ~1/3 cup of lemon juice to the batter for extra lemony flavor and whipped the egg whites and folded them in as another person suggested to make the loaf a little lighter. I also prefer a thicker glaze so I mixed 1 cup icing sugar, 2 tbsp lemon juice and the zest of 1 lemon instead. It turned out great, and I'm glad I made it for my coffee, otherwise, I'd eat the entire thing!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maverick05 March 23, 2010
Our Favourite Lemon Loaf