Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Our Favourite Lemon Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Favourite Lemon Loaf

    Average Rating:

    137 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 137

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      Holy freakin' jack flash! This is one of those perfect recipes, that mind me of the lemon loaf my mom used to make, only BETTER! I've printed out this recipe, and already my boyfriend has request another loaf, as he loves having a small slice with his at-work coffee. I sub'd the 1/2c of milk, and broke it down to 1/4 fresh lemon juice & 1/4 milk, and it wasn't too strong ... I'll be doing that from now on to give it that extra tiny little boost of fresh lemon taste. SUPER recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Great loaf! Added 1.5 lemon rind and 1/4 lemon juice 1/4 milk which gave the loaf a real lemony taste the way I like. Thanks for posting, I got many compliments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      We love lemons and this is quite a treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      My son was here last week-end and I made the lemon bread for him to take home.Very good. I have been making this for about 30 years or so but don,t remember where I got the recipe from.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      This gets five stars due to the great changes posted by others. I use this to make mini loaves at Christmas...had to adjust the cooking time down to 40 minutes when dividing the batter into 3 small loaf pans. I used 1/4 c. fresh lemon juice (2 lemons) and 1/4 c. milk and added 1 T. canola oil for additional moisture. I also used the zest of all of the lemons (3) for the batter and, because I use Meyer lemons, reduced the sugar to just over 3/4 c. The end result is a wonderful lemony flavor...not too sweet and very moist. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      OMG This has got to be the best Lemon Loaf recipe ever... I have made 100's of lemon loafs and none have ever been this good.. It is moist and not to heavy.. PERFECT.... I also sub'd the 1/2 c of milk with 1/4 fresh lemon juice and 1/4 cup milk.. I kept everything else the same... I will Def make this again and again :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Everyone loved this lemon loaf. Did use have milk, half lemon juice because we like lemon. If you put the loaf back in the still warm oven after glazing, the glaze really thickens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      We loved everything about this loaf - from the buttery fluffy texture to the tart lemonade-like glaze. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Delicious! I love the glaze -- just enough tart-sweet to perfectly complement the wonderful flavor of the lemon loaf. I prepared it as directed but put in a slightly smaller loaf pan. I had no problem with it being too heavy or not rising as some other reviews mentioned. This one's going in the tried-and-true pile. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      this was really good and tasted like it was a lemon loaf. Husband said not to lose the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      this was my first try at lemon loaf and it turned out great (it even looks like it came from a real bakery). I did find the it was not "lemony" enough for my taste, but after reading other reviews, I think I will try adding lemon juice next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      This recipe my landlady always made. This lemon loaf is so moist and tasty. You could be tempted to eat the whole thing by yourself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      Not as moist as i would prefer. Good basic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Very nice I just made it for the first time. Love the flavor next time I think I will use icing surgar insted of regular sugar. I would like to see if it makes a difference. The flavor is so nice not too tart not too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Perfect - added some lemon juice to the batter as suggested by other reviews. Will be making (too) often! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Great recipe! I added ~1/3 cup of lemon juice to the batter for extra lemony flavor and whipped the egg whites and folded them in as another person suggested to make the loaf a little lighter. I also prefer a thicker glaze so I mixed 1 cup icing sugar, 2 tbsp lemon juice and the zest of 1 lemon instead. It turned out great, and I'm glad I made it for my coffee, otherwise, I'd eat the entire thing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Cant say enought good things about this....really loved it. My DD (8yrs old) wants me to make this lots - and an even better sign, I brought some leftovers to work and it was gone in a matter of 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      this is the best recipe I've tried for a lemon loaf. My husband can't stop eating it!!! I added 2 tbsp. of poppy seeds (did it more for the look not so much for taste). One thing, next time I will double the glaze, as we liked how chewy the loaf got on the top because of the glaze! Wonderful recipe and will be a staple in our household! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! I used unsalted butter, added 3 TBSP of lemon juice to the batter and was able to make 3 mini loaves out of this recipe. Thank you, it's now our favorite lemon loaf as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      tasted soooo good.. only mistake is i didn't wait long enough for it to cool so when i put the glaze on it kinda melted in. oh well. i added in juice of one lemon and a half tsp of baking soda and an extra half tsp of baking powder. and for the glaze i used confectioner's sugar and a tbsp of light corn syrup. makes the glaze a little thicker. oh and a handful of fresh blueberries was a nice touch. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Favourite Lemon Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (888 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2714.6
     
    Calories from Fat 973
    35%
    Total Fat 108.1 g
    166%
    Saturated Fat 64.5 g
    322%
    Cholesterol 633.1 mg
    211%
    Sodium 2545.8 mg
    106%
    Total Carbohydrate 409.3 g
    136%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 253.1 g
    1012%
    Protein 37.7 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites