Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Our Favorite Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Favorite Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2013

      Made this for Thanksgiving. Made 2 full loaves. Was very impressed. Made great French Toast and grilled cheese sandwiches but great for the holiday left overs also :) Will make again. Not as dense as other recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Good bread! Next time I think I'm going to reduce the honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      I make bread every week and this is still one of my favorites! Thank you .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I'm not great at making yeast breads, but this one was easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      I cut the recipe in half and used my bread machine with great results. Excellent flavor and texture. I am going to play around with the sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Slices up perfect for sandwiches and toast and I love the taste. I had to add more flour to get the dough right but it was easy to put together with my kitchenaid mixer. Thanks for sharing I'll make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This bread is fantastic! Sliced it as soon as it was possible, then both my husband and I had 2 slices with butter,(and wanted to eat more still!). Great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      LOVE IT! I have tried several wheat bread recipes and this is by far my favorite. Soft. Simple. Delicious! The only problem I had was the bread fell a little flat in the middle. Next time, I will add a bit more flour to see if it can stand better... but I am hesitant to do anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      This is the first time I have every successfully made yeast bread. I've made pizza crust in the past, but whenever I make bread it turns out dry and hard as a rock. Not this time! I only lightly kneaded it for a few minutes. The one thing I would change is maybe adding a pinch of salt. Otherwise, it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      OUTSTANDING!!!! My bread machine quit after 11 years, I used it alot. I have a kitchenaid stand mixer and thought why not try using the dough hook and make this bread. I am definitely not buying another ABM after this. I wish I could give this 100 stars. Thanks so much for this easy wonderful recipe. MaryL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Really great bread. My husband LOVES this, and he generally doesn't like wheat bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Excellent recipe, added a bit more flour to get the right consistency. Flavorful and nice, thanks Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      This is a keeper. I don't like the darker breads being too sweet so I changed it a little and added only 1T of Molasse and 1 T of honey, substituted the butter with applesauce and added a couple handfull of sunflower seeds, came out very good. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      With such an easy and delicious recipe, there is simply no reason to buy wheat bread ever again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      EXCELLENT! I made this yesterday and although I had to substitute applesauce for butter (can't have dairy) it turned out fantastic. As a matter of fact, my toddler (a white bread lover) wanted this for her pbj sandwich today, she actully requested it over the white bread! I also added 2 TBS wheat gluten to mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Have made this twice using a stand mixer. The first time I substituted olive oil for butter and had good but slightly greasy results. Yesterday I followed the recipe exactly and the loaves had a better texture, but not quite as tasty. Maybe I'll use both fats on the next batch. Very good, easy bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Delicious bread. Very easy recipe. Thanks Marg@Cyman Designs. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This is a great wheat bread recipe. The first time I screwed up and got it confused with another recipe I had lying on the counter and accidentally made it into four (very small) loaves instead of two. They tasted great, were just very small! The second time I got it right and they looked and tasted beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      I would give this 25 stars if I could!!!! This has to be the easiest bread I have ever made..comes together easily, cooks and tastes perfectly...finally, a recipe that makes bread baking fun AND easy!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      This was such a wonderful find! After finding my ideal "white bread" recipe a while ago, I have been searching for a whole wheat bread recipe to become our "fave". This is it! It was incredibly easy to make, easy to come together with only a few minutes of kneading to make 2 beautiful loaves of bread. I lightly buttered the tops after they finished baking (35 min's) in the oven and they tasted wonderful. There is a slightly sweet taste to them, a nice rich brown colour and are easy to slice for sandwiches and toast. Thanks for sharing Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Favorite Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1479.8
     
    Calories from Fat 262
    17%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1391.1 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 278.0 g
    92%
    Dietary Fiber 24.3 g
    97%
    Sugars 47.5 g
    190%
    Protein 39.4 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes