Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / our favorite italian beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    our favorite italian beef

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2003

      Well I'll add my 5* to this one. It is perfect with a great robust flavor. Easy to follow directions & perfect to make on a busy day. The combo of ingerdients adds a "zing" to the meat as well as produces a tender dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      I can easily see you why this is your favorite italian beef because after trying it is has become ours as well. I started this early Sunday morning using a 3lb eye of round that I browned first as we like the addition flavors that browning provides. Threw everything into the crockpot and cooked about 10 hours till it all fell apart. I then put it in the fridge to await next evenings dinner. All the flavors intensified and dh said it was some of the best beef he has ever had. This is a really good winter meal that will be a repeat on my table several times in the next few months. You did really good Bratty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      Well Bratty 1 you’ve got yourself one fantastic recipe here! It’s appropriately named “Our Favorite Italian Beef”...because it is now “Our Favorite Italian Beef”. I made this with the recommended sirloin tip and it was awesome, such bold flavor from the peppers. Your right about it even tasting better after it’s frozen. I’m submitting a photo in gratitude of your sharing such a delicious recipe! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2002

    • on February 06, 2003

      Wow, this dish was exceptional. The roast I used was about 3#, and was cooked for about 12 hours total. I followed the recipe and directions as stated, and the result was incredibly tender, almost melt-in-your-mouth beef. I REALLY enjoyed this, but was pleasantly surprised that my "Picky Panel of Judges" gave it 5 stars! (Actually, my 6 year old gave it a 10!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      This recipe is a Knock Your Socks Off. A tried and true beef that has some kick to it. I started it at supper time, shredded it by bed time, placed beef back into the crockpot with the juices, put that in the refrigerator and in the morning all I had to do is put the liner of my crockpot in and set it and I was good to go. We served it over Chef Christian's Garlic Mashed Potatoes #53532 with a brocolli and cauiflouwer mix for our vegetable. I thickened the juices with cornstarch and water. Blended this in my crockpot and turned it to high and in 15 minutes the juices made a nice gravy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      I was lucky i got some of this before the dog I was sitting ate the rest. For the record he loved it! I really was looking forward to having the leftovers but it was not ot be, guess I have to make it again! Very good flavor and love the kick the juice gets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Excellent recipe for a great sammich. I suggest cooking the first 6-8 hours with milder peppers, then adjusting the heat level prior to the second round of cooking. Mine came out great for me, but others found the juice a bit too hot. Thanks for posting this bratty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This was great. I even saved the juices and poured them over some leftover pot roast from my sister. It is a bit spicey for some members of my family so next time I am goingto make one batch without the pepperoncinis and one batch with them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This is a very good recipe. I did not have 2 days to make it though. I cooked the roast on high for 4 hours, let it cool, shredded it, then let it cook another 4 hours on high. I made modifications to the recipe after reading the reviews. I drained the liquid from the pepperoncini peppers and the roasted red bell peppers. I also seeded and de-stemmed the pepperoncini. When I removed the roast after the first 4 hours, I used the immersion blender in the crock pot to blend the peppers with the cooking liquid. The juices were zingy but not overly hot. NOTE: I went to Dollar Tree and got the pepperoncini and roasted red peppers for a buck a jar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I have made this recipe for along time! Just the best! When it is served, I add mozzarella cheese and sauteed mushrooms to the sandwich.....we used to order italian beef sandwiches with the mush. and cheese on them from a restaurant, delivery, and they were even better after having been wrapped in foil for the 20 min. it took the drivers to bring them to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      5 stars all the way....I used a 4 lb. sirloin tip roast (on sale, really good deal), made it a day ahead, using just one jar of pepperoncini and no hot peppers (sensitive DH and DDs stomachs). I refrigerated it overnight, then got it going again in the crockpot and added one sliced green bell pepper. I served it on Italian sandwich rolls and my family loved it! Thanks so much Bratty, this is a good recipe that has become a family favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      This is really good. Members of my family now order this from caterers to serve at family gatherings. Everybody always comments how the catered version is not as good as "mine". I make no secret of where I got the recipe and even offer to print it out. Give it a shot. You will not be sorry. The only thing I omit is the hot peppers or mild reds. I use the pepperoncinis which I believe is a must. The only reason I didn't use the others was I forgot to buy them on the first batch and it turned out great. Their have been a few out of towners who have asked for the recipe because they are jonesing for my italian beef. I have always used sirloin tip as instructed. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Oh My Wow! You have to make these! I didn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I made this last night for a football game gathering where we were also serving lasagna and my son won't eat any pasta. We used a panini press with provalone and sliced green peppers for the sandwiches and used the liquid in the crockpot to make a gravy. The gravy was amazing!!! We poured everything through a strainer and put the peppers into the Magic Bullet blender and added the puree back to the strained liquid. A lttle flour for thinkening and then you have a great gravy for the beef. Everyone loved this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Excellent results, bratty. I was careful not to use too many hot peppers. I used Good Season Italian Salad Dressing Mix TSR Version Good Seasons ItalianSalad Dressing Mixby Todd Wilbur and Beef Au Jus Sauce Beef Au Jus Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I lost my printed out first copy of this recipe to my dear neighbor who came with her husband for dinner last night. I served this knowing that they were bringing pictures of their trip to Italy to share. The meat was "delizioso"! Delicious! I will use it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was awesome! My husband and grandson both loved it! I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      The family loved this! I first seared the sirloin on all sides then added the rest of the ingredients to the "dutch oven". I cooked it overnight at 170 degrees, shredded the meat in the morning then continued it all in the dutch oven at 170 the whole day. Can't wait for the freezer leftovers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Brought back a lot of memories of home. Didn't have any beer on hand, so I had to settle for a smaller amount of soju ( Korean alcohol ) Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for our favorite italian beef

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.0
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    28%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 167.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 49.2 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Good Seasonings Italian salad dressing mix

    au jus mix

    hot peppers

    pepperoncini peppers

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes