105 Reviews

I think this is a wonderful recipe! My daugher and I have really enjoyed experimenting with this dough - and have decided it's so easy and tasty.

Thank you French Tart!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jb Tyler, TX August 30, 2011

Wow! Easy and Delicious! My family and I ate a loaf warm from the oven. I used 1 T active dry yeast with 1 tsp sugar. I mixed up the dough, let it proof for 2 hours, and put it in the fridge overnight. I had to knock it down a couple times to keep it in the bowl because it was so bubbly!. I baked 2 4x8" loaves at 400 degrees for 35 minutes the next day. The texture is honeycombed, like an english muffin! Thanks so much for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dirndlfrau July 05, 2011

♥ I played around with this recipe baking it in numerous shapes, in a pan, with the boiling water and all I can say is WOW. ♥ So simple - my favorite is to bake it in a small long shape and serve with a favorite soft specialty cheese. My DH thinks this has an english muffin taste, this is great toasted. I can not thank you enough for sharing, how generous of you! ♥

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiefCook&BottleWasher May 10, 2010

Thank you so much for this recipe. It is such a timesaver. We loved the first loaf we made, and the flavor of the next loaf after it stayed in the refrigerator for a week was so wonderful. Will be keeping this bread dough in my refrigerator to use for our bread. Followed directions as written, but excited to different types of flour and add ins. Thank you, this has made making homemade bread so much easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 May 03, 2010

Dear dear Ms. Tart, your bread is marvelous and INSPIRING! I replace at least half of the flour with fine semolina and sprinkle the parchment with coarse semolina, and the result is very similar to the Sicilian bread that my DH admires. I have also used this dough to make scacciata, which is a eastern Sicily stuffed bread, with great success. Very good olive bread as well. I don't have dry yeast available so I use 25 g of cake yeast per recipe. I wish my oven would go to higher temperatures so that the bottom of the loaf was as crispy as the top. I have been using the convection option, and have been skipping the parchment to get a better result. Thanks to you for my new found interest in bread baking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MariaLuisa April 25, 2010

Thank you French Tart!! I made the dough last night with 2 packets of regular yeast and 1 teaspoon of sugar, it rose past double in 1 hour. I punched the dough down and put it in my crockpot crock in the fridge with the glass cover. I'm glad that I checked it before I went to bed because it had risen and was pushing the lid up. I realized that the gases were trapped and covered it with a towel. All was well in the morning, the dough had stopped at the top of the crock. I wasn't sure if you meant to place the dough on a hot baking pan to rise, so I just left it on the cold one. (Maybe that is why it didn't rise a lot.) I baked it at 450 degrees for 20 minutes and the top was brown and hard. When I let it cool and sliced it up for dinner, it disappeared. The kids loved it. I guess my oven is hotter than most. I can't wait to experiment with this wonderful dough. Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Lynn April 23, 2010

OHMYHEAVENSTHISISGOOD! What a simple recipe, too - it smells like pure heaven. I did find that the mixture, once the two hours was up, was not something I could "tear" a piece off of - it was more a pour and tear - it took more flour kneaded in than I expected, but then again, I didn't use the weight measurements, I used the standard cup measurements for the flour, which I know can cause differences, depending on how the flour is packed. Next time, I'll try it with weighed flour, and I'd also like to try different variations, as well. FT, this is absolutely delicious! Gratefully recipenapped for Veggie Swap 20.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen April 17, 2010

FT you already know how awesome this bread is but I had to review it anyway. I am a neophyte bread maker and this made me feel and look like a pro. I made it as directed but for my 1st batch added in toasted sesame and pumpkin seeds. It was just wonderful! Warm from the oven and slathered with butter Dh & I were making very rude yum, yum noises. :) If I win a lottery I am moving in to your B&B as a full time guest!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned April 05, 2010

Ummm yummm yummm! This was perfect and easy! I made the dough Monday evening, and let it proof for 2.5 hours and then put in the fridge until Tuesday night. On monday the dough seemed very moist (I used cup measurements) but Tuesday right before I baked it, it was very nice to handle and I kneaded in about 2Tbs of flour. Baked up perfectly and if I had not been sick to my tummy, I could have eaten the whole thing by myself! This, I am sure, will become a staple in my home. Thanks for posting FT! Made for Veg*n Swap March 2010!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ March 10, 2010

Dare I leave another 5 star rating?? This is worthy of at least 10 stars...if not more! I love making bread, and I usually make bread using a biga, but that requires some forethought, so when I stumbled upon this wonderful recipe I just had to give it a try and I was VERY Happily impressed with the results. I have made two batches in the last week. I do only get 2-3 loaves out of mine...maybe I make large loaves? The crust is so nice and crusty and the inside has a nice chewy texture, just like an Artisan stlye bread that I have been looking for. Thank You French Tart...you never seem to disappoint!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Flick February 21, 2010
Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread