Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2009

      I enjoy making bread so coming to my house involves having fresh bread. Many people exclaim over the effort and difficulty. I always remind them that bread baking has been around since before processed yeast and over thermostats. This recipe is case in point. It is our favorite and I've tried lots of recipes. It's the way bread should be - part of everyday life without all the fuss. Give it a try. The longer it is in the fridge, the better the flavor. The crust and crumb are both wonderful and the flavor is delicate and delicious. Give it a try and enyou!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      On my 20th batch , my husband refuses to eat shop bought ever again. My grandson never eats his crust he can not get enogh of this bread so he now takes for his pack lunches. A batch last approx 2 days if I am lucky thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Made my first batch this a.m. and was pleasantly surprised that the results were so good. However, the recipe doesn't indicate how many loaves you get, so I'm on here with an estimate: probably three loaves, folks. But don't make it if you don't love a very European bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      The best bread recipe ever. Easy to make and so so so delicious. Crusty yet soft on the inside. Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly, but when I removed my first loaf from the oven I was skeptical - the crust seemed really hard. But when I tasted it WOW! This bread has a great flavor, which will get better when the dough stays in the fridge a few days. my kids ate the entire first loaf in about 1/2 an hour. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      The easiest bread recipe ever! I wanted to be able to make good bread, but had given up after years of overly complicated and not-so-great tasting recipes. This one is awesome! I'll be making some every week. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      French Tart... you know I'm a huge fan of yours! This recipe is EXACTLY what I was looking for: a true, rustic, simple dough that did not require complicated instructions but yielded a pure rustic European taste. I baked a loaf up yesterday after letting the dough sit in the fridge overnight, and it was excellent. I added a pot of boiling water on the bottom rack in the oven as well for that "steam" effect, and what I ended up with was a beautifully risen, golden brown loaf with an incredible crust and a light as a feather interior. The half that was remaining last evening kept marvelously overnight without a bit of staleness to it even though I just kept it loose in an unsealed bag. Needless to say, after breakfast and lunch today, our loaf has run out and I have another beautiful baguette in the oven now. I will say that I love how after I pull a portion of dough from the crock, a few hours later it has all risen again in the crock... makes me think it'll keep replenishing itself! Anyway, thank you for sharing your top secret recipe... I am so excited to be able to have fresh European style bread rather than the grocery store's pathetic imitations. Bisou bisou et merci encore!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Was convinced I had done something wrong when a cream coloured mass crept across my kitchen counter but I followed instructions and the result was fabulous. I made some rolls last night and they were beautifully crunchy outside and chewy on the inside. I am not a lover of sweet bread and this bread is spot on for my taste, even kept pretty well and the leftover rolls were very good the next day. Thank you for sharing this with us Tarty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I am very pleased with my first attempt at this bread. I was concerned about how wet the dough was, at first, but it wasn't as sticky as I thought it would be. Yes, I used lots of flour when shaping the loaves. I tinkered a lot with this first attempt and added: 1/2 c 6-grain cereal blend; 1 cup rolled oats, ground into a flour; 1/2 cup wheat bran; 1/4 cup wheat germ; and unbleached flour to make up 1 5/8 lbs total weight. I think the 6-grain cereal blend may have made the dough too heavy and it didn't rise the way I hoped it would during the second rise prior to baking. I formed the dough into 2 large loaves in loaf pans, let it rise for approximately 40 minutes, and baked with a pan of water in the lower portion of the oven. I also poured 1/2 cup of hot water directly into the bottom of my oven, and immediately closed the door, in order to get that initial burst of steam. The taste and texture of this loaf were sublime with a nice crusty crust and an English muffin/crumpet-like interior. For my second attempt I am going to follow the directions to the letter and see if I can get the bread to rise higher. All in all; a great recipe! Thank you, Tarty, for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I love this recipe so simple, and how nice it is to have bread or rolls at your finger tips. I have a similar recipe for potato bread or rolls that can be kept in the fringe for a week. With my first batch I made rolls and pizza crust. The pizza crust was fabulous. Thanks for sharing this recipe oh the rolls were great too. Made Cinnamon bread so yummy even better toasted with butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Thank you so much for sharing this! My hubby is THRILLED now that he can have fresh, crusty baked bread at home everyday. :) Just after I put the bread in the oven I put a tray of ice cubes in a 9x13 pan underneath the rack with the bread to create a steam effect. Thank you thank you thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Thank you a million times for posting this. This is the first time that I have ever tried to bake bread and actually gotten real bread! And it's so simple compared to the other things that I've tried. I made a half batch and baked a loaf last night that was all eaten and one this morning, both perfect! Thank you, thank you again. I'm so excited about being able to bake bread and the many possibilites this recipe presents.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I made this up yesterday and made my first loaf from it this evening. What a great flavor! Thanks so much for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Great recipe, thanks so much for sharing, I made my first loaf last night and as it was coming out of the oven some friends drop by. We had fresh bread and a glass of wine it was great. Thanks again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is awesome! Homemade bread is so much better than store bought, and this way I can have it whenever I want! Right now I am baking a loaf with brown sugar and cinnamon. I've made rolls, breadsticks and baguettes and all have been fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      The texture and flavor of this bread is fantastic! I was concerned because the dough was much wetter than I expected, but light kneading on a well floured surface turned out a lovely loaf. I used active dry yeast and the sugar in the amounts given. I did use a pan of water in the oven on the rack beneath the bread while baking. I set my oven temperature to 437.5 (halfway between 425 & 450) and baked small hand formed loaves (about 6" long) for 20 minutes. This will always be on hand for me to use. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

    • on November 14, 2011

    • on March 17, 2011

    • on February 13, 2010

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 727.8
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    54%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1463.4 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 152.1 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes