105 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is by far the easiest way to have excellent artisan bread that I've found yet. I've been experimenting with pre-ferments and No-Knead style recipes - but this was easy! The rolls I made with it had a great flavor and nice chewy crust. I (like other reviewers) used half wheat flour and half bread flour. I also used cool water and put it in the fridge right away, instead of warm water and the 2 hour rise. I used 1 1/2 tsp of SAF Instant yeast. Thank you so much!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rock Farm January 14, 2009

Love this idea, thanks for the introduction to it! I made this today, as written except that I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 unbleached white. It was easy! I have just baked the one loaf so far, and I agree with Chef Shadows, it does resemble the texture of english muffins...which is great for breakfast. I look forward to trying variations, maybe will add some seeds or other grains next time. I didn't have the fast acting yeast so I just used what I had which was traditional active yeast, the usual fleishman's one in the jar....it rose really well, using 4 1/2 tsp which is supposed to equal 2 of their small packets. Making rolls tomorrow I think! Cheers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner January 04, 2009

I love this recipe, it's so adaptable. I cut the recipe in half and have made it twice, it was great both times. The dough bakes up chewy and deeply colored but moist and spongy inside. Today I made half of my half recipe into a savory swirled loaf. I flattened out the dough into a rectangle and spread 7/8 of the surface with soft butter, roasted garlic, shredded cheddar cheese, shredded parmesan cheese, chopped fresh dill, and salt and pepper. I rolled up the dough, starting with the side the that the filling went all the way to the edge, and pinched the seam closed and placed seam side down in a small, greased loaf pan. I let it rise again and used kitchen shears to cut tiny snips in the dough's surface for a spiky effect. It turned out lovely, flavorful, and perfect with barbecue chicken and garlicky dill pickles. I have so many ideas I want to try out with this wonderful dough. Do try this, its so simple and rewarding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelteredcreature April 14, 2014

This is awesome.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond August 05, 2013

I've been a bad cook. I have been making this recipe for quite some time and haven't reviewed it yet. I love that I can keep it in the fridge and have fresh bread on short notice. We have made free form loaves, breadsticks, and pizza from this dough. I frequently brush it with melted butter and sprinkle with garlic salt. It is out of this world with Carraba's Bread Dipping Spice (recipe 53876). Next up I want to try traditional loaves and cinnamon or pecan rolls. One way to get a nice crust is to fill a squirt bottle with water (don't use it for anything else) and periodically open the oven while the bread is baking and squirt the bottom of the oven. Thanks for such an awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly Keller September 11, 2012

I can't cook at all. But this recipe is so simple, even I managed.
I did find it was better after being left for about 24 hours, it certainly rose a lot more. That probably suggest I made a mistake with the yeast. Looking forward to trying in about 10 days when it should have a really great flavour
However, the bread is tasty, firm and morish.
Definitely use this one and share with friends

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spacial May 14, 2012

Simple, easy, and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ted and Sarah March 03, 2012

I have using this recipe for over a year now. It is wonderful! If I have it on hand I use fresh yeast and it makes this recipe even better. I would add notes or hints on how to make it better but French Tart has really covered all the bases on this perfect bread. Sometimes, on request of my husband I make it into a thin round like a pizza and cover it with crushed garlic, salt/pepper and then dip into a marinara sauce. Other times i make smaller loafs and use them for sandwich buns. Always having fresh bread dough on hand... I think this is quit possibly the best recipe on food.com and has made many of our meals happy ones. Thank you French Tart!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin January 29, 2012

This is the best, most versatile bread recipe I have ever used. crusty, chewy, delicious loafs, perfect hard rolls. I just finished up my second batch of the dough. I made small roll sized balls and put them in an eight inch cake pan to proof, brushed on melted butter and baked. Perfect dinner rolls.
I may even pull out some of the Lorne Sausage I made using French Tart's recipe and make some mini sausage sandwiches. French Tart you are a gem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NCNYmom December 15, 2011

I'm an American raised in Europe. Having moved back to the States as an adult, the one thing I've missed terribly has been really good bread. Until now. This recipe not only makes fabulous, authentic artisan style crusty bread - it also lets me keep a ready supply of dough always on hand. And to top it all off, the recipe is so flexible you can easily churn out pizza dough, bread sticks, savory or sweet rolls, etc; the uses are practically endless. I agree with others that have posted: this is indeed a 10 star recipe. Thank you, French Tart! Bye bye store bought bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marylande November 13, 2011
Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread