105 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this bread! Super simple and delicious. I've passed along to anyone who will listen, essentially, and it's also revived my delight in soup-making (after all, what goes better with fresh bread than soup?). Thanks for a great recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccmoore74 March 29, 2011

I'm not giving this any stars at this point ~ only because I'm still in the experimental stages with this. I spoke with MsTart prior to making this recipe as I wanted to try making it gluten-free. I used the following: 1 cup brown rice flour, 1 cup white rice flour, 1 cup potato flour, and 3 1/2 cups GF baking flour. I also added 2 teaspoons xanthum gum, and the other ingredients as written. The dough came out nicely and I made 1 loaf after th initial prove. It was rather small (about 6 inches long/4 inches wide) and I baked using the boiling hot water in the preheated oven. The loaf had a wonderful crust but was not done inside ~ still doughy. I did taste test it and the flavor was good, it just wasn't done. I will make another loaf tomorrow, cutting the temperature to 400 and not kneading as much. I'm convinced this is the perfect recipe for my gluten-free bread craving, I just have to figure out what the adjustments are that I need to make. I've never baked any kind of bread other than quick-bread (cake-like) breads, so this is ALL new to me. Will update this review tomorrow. But thanks so much French Tart for sharing this wonderful family recipe. You've obviously made alot of people very happy to have access to this recipe, and I'm sure I'll be one of them too. UPDATE: Well, I finally figured it out ~ after 3 loaves, I figured out that I killed my yeast! No rise from any of the loaves I made. So I must start over again and redo this recipe. Will update again at that time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative May 30, 2010

This bread was fantastic. The dough was very wet initially and I thought it would not rise when baking, but it did. I made rolls, lowered the over temp. to 400 and put a pan of water in the bottom of the oven during the cooking time as instructed. The rolls were wonderfully crusty on the outside and moist on the inside. My husband loved them. I've been trying to make crusty bread like this for years and this is the first recipe to deliver.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaroseland_10534351 May 30, 2010

I can't say anything that hasn't already been said. I've never had the greatest luck with homemade bread, so I tucked this recipe away in my "Want to Try" cookbook. I've finally gotten up enough nerve to do it, and I'm so glad I did. I was afraid that I'd done something wrong, because my dough didn't double in size, even after 3 hours. But I put it in the refrigerator and pulled it out the next day. Grabbed a melon sized ball and made a baguette. No glaze or seasoning, just the plain bread. And it was fabulous with a little butter. I can't say I'll make a loaf everyday....with only 2 here we would be huge!! But I'll definitely be able to dispose of this within the two week period. Hopefully I'll get brave enough to roll it out and make cinnamon bread or throw some other seasonings into it. Right now, I'm just proud to make it plain! Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 18, 2010

My second day in a row making bread and not getting dirty at all! I just saw that I could add a bowl of water in the oven,I'll have to do that next time. I don't think I could add anything the other reviewers didn't say already. I love being able to make my own bread and seeing my little ones enjoying it just as much as I did is a big plus!Thanks for sharing and hooking me on bread making.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia April 17, 2010

Ridiculously easy and delicious! Makes a wonderful medium for bread bowls. My guests love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryjanejam January 01, 2010

AWESOME! Had this one printed way back and finally got to the making! And yes awesome! Baked in the pan that makes mini loaves had me think back to some great holiday meals that saw to freshly baked bread brought to the table - now I too can easily do the same. We love this recipe! Having made more then my fair share of bread and buns over the years I do know that flour varies, Canadian flour here ... my flour weighed in as 6 cups making two pounds. Measured out the 61/2 cups and yes that is about right on - all I needed was a little extra dusting to get to make a lovely elastic dough. While I did use fast rising yeast I did use the teaspoon of sugar. In my oven usually bake bread and rolls at 350 to 375 - baked first pans at 375 the last at 400, both temps worked well. Like you well know like flour ovens vary! Leaning to the 400 degree oven for the small loaves. We just can't say enough about this great tasting bread - wonderfully crusty and so good with great texture and taste. Noting how well it rose in the bowl I did up the last of the dough in the mini pans, covered and put back in the fridge - took them out the next day to warm and popped them in the oven - made for super bread for lunch. How easy can it get to have oven fresh bread. This recipe makes it super easy to serve freshly baked that tastes like it came from a high end bakery - has been added to my favorites cookbook. Just not enough stars for this one! Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry September 14, 2009

This rustic bread recipe was great! I made half of a recipe for myself just to try it out. I couldn't believe that a recipe with so few ingredients (no butter, oil, or eggs) could turn out so good. I baked half of the recipe in a small round loaf on my stone. The outcome was crunchy and crusty on the outside and soft and moist on the inside. I put the other portion of the recipe in the refrigerator. I was looking at other recipes the following day and came across a recipe for pita or pocket bread with basically the same ingredients and measurements. I made pocket bread and it turned out just as great as my rustic loaf. This is a very versatile recipe and I will be using it for many different things. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B April 04, 2009

OHHH MYYY GOOOOSH! Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I grew up in Switzerland, living in the US now, I'm craving the "real" bread like crazy! I used to make Zopf bread on special occasions, but because of all the sugar and butter, that was only a special treat! NOW THIS IS IT! It tastes wonderful! When I fixed the dough I was convinced I did something wrong, it was one creamy, sticky mess, I added some more flour until I atleast could kned it some. I used normal yeast, since I didnt have the rapid rise. Let it rise for 2 hours and put it in the fridge over night. I knedded again this morning with some flour, but the bread fell together and flattened in an instant. Really dissapointed I had put it in the oven, with a big bowl of boiling water and you know what? After 15 minutes peeking in the oven, that flat mass looked like real bread. The one I powdered with flour was rising higher than the one I brushed with butter and garlic. I was delighted, much more after I took it out and ate almost a loaf by myself! My belly hurts now, but I'm happy!!!! My family better hurries up and wakes up this morning. There is no guarantee that there will be any bread left soon. Who sznooses looses :-) Merci beaucoup!!!!! Severine

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffee crazy March 15, 2009

This is great, thank you. Really easy too. I also did 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat. For my first baguette, I put a melted butter/minced garlic mix on top and it turned out really well. I cooked it for 30 minutes as instructed and the bottom kinda burned a little, but I think that's just because of the size of the loaf - not an error in the recipe. I'll have to remember to keep in mind to adjust the amount of cooking time based on what I'm making. I'm excited to have fresh bread all week, thanks again! Edit: I've used up the entire batch, which has made the baguette I originally reviewed, 4 large hamburger buns, and 2 additional baguettes. I've reduced the cooking time to about 25 minutes and I no longer have the kinda burnt bottom. I also haven't really noticed a difference in adding a jar of boiling water while baking. This has been great and very convenient. My last two baguettes were brushed with earthbalance butter/minced garlic/rosemary and they turned out wonderfully. Thanks again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie January 16, 2009
Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread