105 Reviews

Unbelievable! This is both the easiest and the best baguette/boule recipe I've ever tried. Thank you thank you thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel June 24, 2010

Like this needs another fantastic review... But I'm going to give it one anyway! This is wonderful bread! I used a quarter of it right away after proofing by rolling it out into a rectangle, sprinkling it with crumbled bacon, shredded colby/jack, onion and garlic, then rolling it up cinnamon roll style. Then I slashed the top, brushed with olive oil, and baked at 375' for 30 minutes and served with black bean soup tonight for dinner. I can't wait to cook this at the higher temp to get a thicker crust but I didn't want to burn it with the filling. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. I look forward to making it frequently!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie March 12, 2010

First I want to review the recipe. It's truly an amazing recipe. It felt so good to make "hand made" bread. The first one I made didn't look like the photos but tasted delicious. The second loaf which I made today was perfect. I rolled out 11/2 pounds of the dough(I weighed it on a kitchen scale) into a 16 by 8 inch rectangle and brushed an egg wash(one egg with a TBLspoon of water over the dough. I mixed 1/3 cup of sugar with 11/2 tsp. of cinnamon over it. I sprinkled some raisisns over it and rolled it up from the shorter sde and tucked the ends under the bread. I placed it in a loaf pan and covered it to rise for about 2 hours. I just took it out of the oven! It is so delicious and it looks really good too. Second I want to thanks the Chef French Tart. I emailed her a question and she got right back to me with a lovely response which helped me a lot. Thanks for sharing this recipe and for being so nice about my question! 10 star worthy:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) February 02, 2010

Love it! I've made another recipe like this, but it was too much salt... good, just way too salty. This one is perfect!! I only got 3 loaves? Still, I'm happy!! Maybe I just made them too big. Thanks!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue January 29, 2010

I have made this recipe many times over the last 6 months and love it. Family who visit often now request this bread ahead of time. I do find the flour measure is touchy, due to weather I believe. I have had to scale back to about 6 Cups and then play from there. I also find a max. of 2 C whole wheat works best for me if making a mixed batch.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellcinn October 30, 2009

Oh, French Tart. Forever will I be grateful for your culinary magic. I am afraid of making yeast bread. I tried this and felt successful immediately, so you have contributed much to my self esteem. Five stars from the whole crew. I tried the microwave rising trick from another reviewer, and when I opened my microwave, it was like the Blob was after me! It worked nicely, but be sure to use a large enough pan (I used a deep dish pie plate - NOT sufficient). I baked two free form loaves immediately and they were devoured by my children. I made the last today after refrigerating overnite and did not have a good rise, so I am not sure what I did. No matter, this is a lovely recipe and I will make it often. THANKS for another great one.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 September 25, 2009

This is such an amazing recipe! I recently decided to start baking our bread to save money, since good bread is so expensive here. I was a little scared because I had never worked with yeast before, so the first time I just made half a batch. I used whole wheat flour for half of the flour and it turned out great. I had to make another batch of dough 4 days later because we ate it all! The second time I added a couple tablespoons of vital gluten flour and cut back on the salt a little (I think I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons). The second batch was even better. I was worried that it would go stale quickly but we haven't had that problem, and if we do I will just make croutons! The only problem I have found so far is that my friends and family keep showing up and eating all our bread, so I'm not sure how much money we are actually saving! This will be my go-to recipe from now on, I don't even think I need to try any other recipes because this one is so versatile. Thank you so much for sharing this, French Tart, I'll be using it at least once a week for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spice Princess September 16, 2011

This was a real winner as are all of FT's recipes. I have to say when I looked at the time to prepare (336 hours) I was a little freaked, but realized that's probably NOT work time. I was so right, this went together easier than any bread I've made and it was so nice to have it in the fridge when DH called as said he'd invited company home for dinner and I needed to put an impromtu meal together. Even one was so impressed that I had fresh bread ready to go. I made two small round loaves, one with a multigrain topping and one plain; both were great. I still have dough in the fridge for another medium size and will wait to see if it'll have a little sourdough flavor. So great to have that dough there as needed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 14, 2011

I have had amazing results with this bread dough and have used different ingredients including whole wheat along with the white flour, rosemary, olives, and raisin breads to name a few. The variations are endless with this, and it's so awesome that you can pull off a piece anytime you want to throw a loaf in the oven or make up rolls in a hurry... LOVE this so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImKerri April 28, 2011

I have always had trouble with bread dough...not anymore. The recipe makes for several hearty, chewy loaves. I took the advice of another reviewer and placed a pan of hot water in the oven beneath the bread while baking, and it turned out wonderfully. Will absolutely make again. Thanks French Tart!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dorisfarrar April 28, 2011
Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread