Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2009

      This is by far the easiest way to have excellent artisan bread that I've found yet. I've been experimenting with pre-ferments and No-Knead style recipes - but this was easy! The rolls I made with it had a great flavor and nice chewy crust. I (like other reviewers) used half wheat flour and half bread flour. I also used cool water and put it in the fridge right away, instead of warm water and the 2 hour rise. I used 1 1/2 tsp of SAF Instant yeast. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Love this idea, thanks for the introduction to it! I made this today, as written except that I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 unbleached white. It was easy! I have just baked the one loaf so far, and I agree with Chef Shadows, it does resemble the texture of english muffins...which is great for breakfast. I look forward to trying variations, maybe will add some seeds or other grains next time. I didn't have the fast acting yeast so I just used what I had which was traditional active yeast, the usual fleishman's one in the jar....it rose really well, using 4 1/2 tsp which is supposed to equal 2 of their small packets. Making rolls tomorrow I think! Cheers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      I love this recipe, it's so adaptable. I cut the recipe in half and have made it twice, it was great both times. The dough bakes up chewy and deeply colored but moist and spongy inside. Today I made half of my half recipe into a savory swirled loaf. I flattened out the dough into a rectangle and spread 7/8 of the surface with soft butter, roasted garlic, shredded cheddar cheese, shredded parmesan cheese, chopped fresh dill, and salt and pepper. I rolled up the dough, starting with the side the that the filling went all the way to the edge, and pinched the seam closed and placed seam side down in a small, greased loaf pan. I let it rise again and used kitchen shears to cut tiny snips in the dough's surface for a spiky effect. It turned out lovely, flavorful, and perfect with barbecue chicken and garlicky dill pickles. I have so many ideas I want to try out with this wonderful dough. Do try this, its so simple and rewarding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      This is awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      I've been a bad cook. I have been making this recipe for quite some time and haven't reviewed it yet. I love that I can keep it in the fridge and have fresh bread on short notice. We have made free form loaves, breadsticks, and pizza from this dough. I frequently brush it with melted butter and sprinkle with garlic salt. It is out of this world with Carraba's Bread Dipping Spice (recipe 53876). Next up I want to try traditional loaves and cinnamon or pecan rolls. One way to get a nice crust is to fill a squirt bottle with water (don't use it for anything else) and periodically open the oven while the bread is baking and squirt the bottom of the oven. Thanks for such an awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      I can't cook at all. But this recipe is so simple, even I managed.
      I did find it was better after being left for about 24 hours, it certainly rose a lot more. That probably suggest I made a mistake with the yeast. Looking forward to trying in about 10 days when it should have a really great flavour
      However, the bread is tasty, firm and morish.
      Definitely use this one and share with friends

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      Simple, easy, and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I have using this recipe for over a year now. It is wonderful! If I have it on hand I use fresh yeast and it makes this recipe even better. I would add notes or hints on how to make it better but French Tart has really covered all the bases on this perfect bread. Sometimes, on request of my husband I make it into a thin round like a pizza and cover it with crushed garlic, salt/pepper and then dip into a marinara sauce. Other times i make smaller loafs and use them for sandwich buns. Always having fresh bread dough on hand... I think this is quit possibly the best recipe on food.com and has made many of our meals happy ones. Thank you French Tart!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      This is the best, most versatile bread recipe I have ever used. crusty, chewy, delicious loafs, perfect hard rolls. I just finished up my second batch of the dough. I made small roll sized balls and put them in an eight inch cake pan to proof, brushed on melted butter and baked. Perfect dinner rolls.
      I may even pull out some of the Lorne Sausage I made using French Tart's recipe and make some mini sausage sandwiches. French Tart you are a gem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      I'm an American raised in Europe. Having moved back to the States as an adult, the one thing I've missed terribly has been really good bread. Until now. This recipe not only makes fabulous, authentic artisan style crusty bread - it also lets me keep a ready supply of dough always on hand. And to top it all off, the recipe is so flexible you can easily churn out pizza dough, bread sticks, savory or sweet rolls, etc; the uses are practically endless. I agree with others that have posted: this is indeed a 10 star recipe. Thank you, French Tart! Bye bye store bought bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      I think this is a wonderful recipe! My daugher and I have really enjoyed experimenting with this dough - and have decided it's so easy and tasty.

      Thank you French Tart!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Wow! Easy and Delicious! My family and I ate a loaf warm from the oven. I used 1 T active dry yeast with 1 tsp sugar. I mixed up the dough, let it proof for 2 hours, and put it in the fridge overnight. I had to knock it down a couple times to keep it in the bowl because it was so bubbly!. I baked 2 4x8" loaves at 400 degrees for 35 minutes the next day. The texture is honeycombed, like an english muffin! Thanks so much for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      ♥ I played around with this recipe baking it in numerous shapes, in a pan, with the boiling water and all I can say is WOW. ♥ So simple - my favorite is to bake it in a small long shape and serve with a favorite soft specialty cheese. My DH thinks this has an english muffin taste, this is great toasted. I can not thank you enough for sharing, how generous of you! ♥

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Thank you so much for this recipe. It is such a timesaver. We loved the first loaf we made, and the flavor of the next loaf after it stayed in the refrigerator for a week was so wonderful. Will be keeping this bread dough in my refrigerator to use for our bread. Followed directions as written, but excited to different types of flour and add ins. Thank you, this has made making homemade bread so much easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Dear dear Ms. Tart, your bread is marvelous and INSPIRING! I replace at least half of the flour with fine semolina and sprinkle the parchment with coarse semolina, and the result is very similar to the Sicilian bread that my DH admires. I have also used this dough to make scacciata, which is a eastern Sicily stuffed bread, with great success. Very good olive bread as well. I don't have dry yeast available so I use 25 g of cake yeast per recipe. I wish my oven would go to higher temperatures so that the bottom of the loaf was as crispy as the top. I have been using the convection option, and have been skipping the parchment to get a better result. Thanks to you for my new found interest in bread baking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Thank you French Tart!! I made the dough last night with 2 packets of regular yeast and 1 teaspoon of sugar, it rose past double in 1 hour. I punched the dough down and put it in my crockpot crock in the fridge with the glass cover. I'm glad that I checked it before I went to bed because it had risen and was pushing the lid up. I realized that the gases were trapped and covered it with a towel. All was well in the morning, the dough had stopped at the top of the crock. I wasn't sure if you meant to place the dough on a hot baking pan to rise, so I just left it on the cold one. (Maybe that is why it didn't rise a lot.) I baked it at 450 degrees for 20 minutes and the top was brown and hard. When I let it cool and sliced it up for dinner, it disappeared. The kids loved it. I guess my oven is hotter than most. I can't wait to experiment with this wonderful dough. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      OHMYHEAVENSTHISISGOOD! What a simple recipe, too - it smells like pure heaven. I did find that the mixture, once the two hours was up, was not something I could "tear" a piece off of - it was more a pour and tear - it took more flour kneaded in than I expected, but then again, I didn't use the weight measurements, I used the standard cup measurements for the flour, which I know can cause differences, depending on how the flour is packed. Next time, I'll try it with weighed flour, and I'd also like to try different variations, as well. FT, this is absolutely delicious! Gratefully recipenapped for Veggie Swap 20.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      FT you already know how awesome this bread is but I had to review it anyway. I am a neophyte bread maker and this made me feel and look like a pro. I made it as directed but for my 1st batch added in toasted sesame and pumpkin seeds. It was just wonderful! Warm from the oven and slathered with butter Dh & I were making very rude yum, yum noises. :) If I win a lottery I am moving in to your B&B as a full time guest!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Ummm yummm yummm! This was perfect and easy! I made the dough Monday evening, and let it proof for 2.5 hours and then put in the fridge until Tuesday night. On monday the dough seemed very moist (I used cup measurements) but Tuesday right before I baked it, it was very nice to handle and I kneaded in about 2Tbs of flour. Baked up perfectly and if I had not been sick to my tummy, I could have eaten the whole thing by myself! This, I am sure, will become a staple in my home. Thanks for posting FT! Made for Veg*n Swap March 2010!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Dare I leave another 5 star rating?? This is worthy of at least 10 stars...if not more! I love making bread, and I usually make bread using a biga, but that requires some forethought, so when I stumbled upon this wonderful recipe I just had to give it a try and I was VERY Happily impressed with the results. I have made two batches in the last week. I do only get 2-3 loaves out of mine...maybe I make large loaves? The crust is so nice and crusty and the inside has a nice chewy texture, just like an Artisan stlye bread that I have been looking for. Thank You French Tart...you never seem to disappoint!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 727.8
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    54%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1463.4 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 152.1 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes