Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2010

      Unbelievable! This is both the easiest and the best baguette/boule recipe I've ever tried. Thank you thank you thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Like this needs another fantastic review... But I'm going to give it one anyway! This is wonderful bread! I used a quarter of it right away after proofing by rolling it out into a rectangle, sprinkling it with crumbled bacon, shredded colby/jack, onion and garlic, then rolling it up cinnamon roll style. Then I slashed the top, brushed with olive oil, and baked at 375' for 30 minutes and served with black bean soup tonight for dinner. I can't wait to cook this at the higher temp to get a thicker crust but I didn't want to burn it with the filling. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. I look forward to making it frequently!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      First I want to review the recipe. It's truly an amazing recipe. It felt so good to make "hand made" bread. The first one I made didn't look like the photos but tasted delicious. The second loaf which I made today was perfect. I rolled out 11/2 pounds of the dough(I weighed it on a kitchen scale) into a 16 by 8 inch rectangle and brushed an egg wash(one egg with a TBLspoon of water over the dough. I mixed 1/3 cup of sugar with 11/2 tsp. of cinnamon over it. I sprinkled some raisisns over it and rolled it up from the shorter sde and tucked the ends under the bread. I placed it in a loaf pan and covered it to rise for about 2 hours. I just took it out of the oven! It is so delicious and it looks really good too. Second I want to thanks the Chef French Tart. I emailed her a question and she got right back to me with a lovely response which helped me a lot. Thanks for sharing this recipe and for being so nice about my question! 10 star worthy:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Love it! I've made another recipe like this, but it was too much salt... good, just way too salty. This one is perfect!! I only got 3 loaves? Still, I'm happy!! Maybe I just made them too big. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      I have made this recipe many times over the last 6 months and love it. Family who visit often now request this bread ahead of time. I do find the flour measure is touchy, due to weather I believe. I have had to scale back to about 6 Cups and then play from there. I also find a max. of 2 C whole wheat works best for me if making a mixed batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Oh, French Tart. Forever will I be grateful for your culinary magic. I am afraid of making yeast bread. I tried this and felt successful immediately, so you have contributed much to my self esteem. Five stars from the whole crew. I tried the microwave rising trick from another reviewer, and when I opened my microwave, it was like the Blob was after me! It worked nicely, but be sure to use a large enough pan (I used a deep dish pie plate - NOT sufficient). I baked two free form loaves immediately and they were devoured by my children. I made the last today after refrigerating overnite and did not have a good rise, so I am not sure what I did. No matter, this is a lovely recipe and I will make it often. THANKS for another great one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      This is such an amazing recipe! I recently decided to start baking our bread to save money, since good bread is so expensive here. I was a little scared because I had never worked with yeast before, so the first time I just made half a batch. I used whole wheat flour for half of the flour and it turned out great. I had to make another batch of dough 4 days later because we ate it all! The second time I added a couple tablespoons of vital gluten flour and cut back on the salt a little (I think I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons). The second batch was even better. I was worried that it would go stale quickly but we haven't had that problem, and if we do I will just make croutons! The only problem I have found so far is that my friends and family keep showing up and eating all our bread, so I'm not sure how much money we are actually saving! This will be my go-to recipe from now on, I don't even think I need to try any other recipes because this one is so versatile. Thank you so much for sharing this, French Tart, I'll be using it at least once a week for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      This was a real winner as are all of FT's recipes. I have to say when I looked at the time to prepare (336 hours) I was a little freaked, but realized that's probably NOT work time. I was so right, this went together easier than any bread I've made and it was so nice to have it in the fridge when DH called as said he'd invited company home for dinner and I needed to put an impromtu meal together. Even one was so impressed that I had fresh bread ready to go. I made two small round loaves, one with a multigrain topping and one plain; both were great. I still have dough in the fridge for another medium size and will wait to see if it'll have a little sourdough flavor. So great to have that dough there as needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      I have had amazing results with this bread dough and have used different ingredients including whole wheat along with the white flour, rosemary, olives, and raisin breads to name a few. The variations are endless with this, and it's so awesome that you can pull off a piece anytime you want to throw a loaf in the oven or make up rolls in a hurry... LOVE this so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      I have always had trouble with bread dough...not anymore. The recipe makes for several hearty, chewy loaves. I took the advice of another reviewer and placed a pan of hot water in the oven beneath the bread while baking, and it turned out wonderfully. Will absolutely make again. Thanks French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      I love this bread! Super simple and delicious. I've passed along to anyone who will listen, essentially, and it's also revived my delight in soup-making (after all, what goes better with fresh bread than soup?). Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I'm not giving this any stars at this point ~ only because I'm still in the experimental stages with this. I spoke with MsTart prior to making this recipe as I wanted to try making it gluten-free. I used the following: 1 cup brown rice flour, 1 cup white rice flour, 1 cup potato flour, and 3 1/2 cups GF baking flour. I also added 2 teaspoons xanthum gum, and the other ingredients as written. The dough came out nicely and I made 1 loaf after th initial prove. It was rather small (about 6 inches long/4 inches wide) and I baked using the boiling hot water in the preheated oven. The loaf had a wonderful crust but was not done inside ~ still doughy. I did taste test it and the flavor was good, it just wasn't done. I will make another loaf tomorrow, cutting the temperature to 400 and not kneading as much. I'm convinced this is the perfect recipe for my gluten-free bread craving, I just have to figure out what the adjustments are that I need to make. I've never baked any kind of bread other than quick-bread (cake-like) breads, so this is ALL new to me. Will update this review tomorrow. But thanks so much French Tart for sharing this wonderful family recipe. You've obviously made alot of people very happy to have access to this recipe, and I'm sure I'll be one of them too. UPDATE: Well, I finally figured it out ~ after 3 loaves, I figured out that I killed my yeast! No rise from any of the loaves I made. So I must start over again and redo this recipe. Will update again at that time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      This bread was fantastic. The dough was very wet initially and I thought it would not rise when baking, but it did. I made rolls, lowered the over temp. to 400 and put a pan of water in the bottom of the oven during the cooking time as instructed. The rolls were wonderfully crusty on the outside and moist on the inside. My husband loved them. I've been trying to make crusty bread like this for years and this is the first recipe to deliver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I can't say anything that hasn't already been said. I've never had the greatest luck with homemade bread, so I tucked this recipe away in my "Want to Try" cookbook. I've finally gotten up enough nerve to do it, and I'm so glad I did. I was afraid that I'd done something wrong, because my dough didn't double in size, even after 3 hours. But I put it in the refrigerator and pulled it out the next day. Grabbed a melon sized ball and made a baguette. No glaze or seasoning, just the plain bread. And it was fabulous with a little butter. I can't say I'll make a loaf everyday....with only 2 here we would be huge!! But I'll definitely be able to dispose of this within the two week period. Hopefully I'll get brave enough to roll it out and make cinnamon bread or throw some other seasonings into it. Right now, I'm just proud to make it plain! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      My second day in a row making bread and not getting dirty at all! I just saw that I could add a bowl of water in the oven,I'll have to do that next time. I don't think I could add anything the other reviewers didn't say already. I love being able to make my own bread and seeing my little ones enjoying it just as much as I did is a big plus!Thanks for sharing and hooking me on bread making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Ridiculously easy and delicious! Makes a wonderful medium for bread bowls. My guests love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      AWESOME! Had this one printed way back and finally got to the making! And yes awesome! Baked in the pan that makes mini loaves had me think back to some great holiday meals that saw to freshly baked bread brought to the table - now I too can easily do the same. We love this recipe! Having made more then my fair share of bread and buns over the years I do know that flour varies, Canadian flour here ... my flour weighed in as 6 cups making two pounds. Measured out the 61/2 cups and yes that is about right on - all I needed was a little extra dusting to get to make a lovely elastic dough. While I did use fast rising yeast I did use the teaspoon of sugar. In my oven usually bake bread and rolls at 350 to 375 - baked first pans at 375 the last at 400, both temps worked well. Like you well know like flour ovens vary! Leaning to the 400 degree oven for the small loaves. We just can't say enough about this great tasting bread - wonderfully crusty and so good with great texture and taste. Noting how well it rose in the bowl I did up the last of the dough in the mini pans, covered and put back in the fridge - took them out the next day to warm and popped them in the oven - made for super bread for lunch. How easy can it get to have oven fresh bread. This recipe makes it super easy to serve freshly baked that tastes like it came from a high end bakery - has been added to my favorites cookbook. Just not enough stars for this one! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This rustic bread recipe was great! I made half of a recipe for myself just to try it out. I couldn't believe that a recipe with so few ingredients (no butter, oil, or eggs) could turn out so good. I baked half of the recipe in a small round loaf on my stone. The outcome was crunchy and crusty on the outside and soft and moist on the inside. I put the other portion of the recipe in the refrigerator. I was looking at other recipes the following day and came across a recipe for pita or pocket bread with basically the same ingredients and measurements. I made pocket bread and it turned out just as great as my rustic loaf. This is a very versatile recipe and I will be using it for many different things. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      OHHH MYYY GOOOOSH! Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I grew up in Switzerland, living in the US now, I'm craving the "real" bread like crazy! I used to make Zopf bread on special occasions, but because of all the sugar and butter, that was only a special treat! NOW THIS IS IT! It tastes wonderful! When I fixed the dough I was convinced I did something wrong, it was one creamy, sticky mess, I added some more flour until I atleast could kned it some. I used normal yeast, since I didnt have the rapid rise. Let it rise for 2 hours and put it in the fridge over night. I knedded again this morning with some flour, but the bread fell together and flattened in an instant. Really dissapointed I had put it in the oven, with a big bowl of boiling water and you know what? After 15 minutes peeking in the oven, that flat mass looked like real bread. The one I powdered with flour was rising higher than the one I brushed with butter and garlic. I was delighted, much more after I took it out and ate almost a loaf by myself! My belly hurts now, but I'm happy!!!! My family better hurries up and wakes up this morning. There is no guarantee that there will be any bread left soon. Who sznooses looses :-) Merci beaucoup!!!!! Severine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      This is great, thank you. Really easy too. I also did 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat. For my first baguette, I put a melted butter/minced garlic mix on top and it turned out really well. I cooked it for 30 minutes as instructed and the bottom kinda burned a little, but I think that's just because of the size of the loaf - not an error in the recipe. I'll have to remember to keep in mind to adjust the amount of cooking time based on what I'm making. I'm excited to have fresh bread all week, thanks again! Edit: I've used up the entire batch, which has made the baguette I originally reviewed, 4 large hamburger buns, and 2 additional baguettes. I've reduced the cooking time to about 25 minutes and I no longer have the kinda burnt bottom. I also haven't really noticed a difference in adding a jar of boiling water while baking. This has been great and very convenient. My last two baguettes were brushed with earthbalance butter/minced garlic/rosemary and they turned out wonderfully. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 727.8
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    54%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1463.4 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 152.1 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites