105 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This has become a staple in my house. I usually only make enough for one loaf and make two small loaves out of it since it's only me and my DH. I use a bit of brown sugar to activate my yeast and leave the dough out overnight to give it a light sourdough flavor before baking it up the next morning.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissy Addy June 28, 2010

I use this recipe twice a week. I've tried many bread recipes and while they were all good, this one is great. It has a terrific spongy texture that we love. And best of all, we have cut most sugar out of our diets for my daughters ADD, and this recipe fits the bill. You cant even tell there isnt any sugar in it, its so good. Thanks! UPDATE: I made this bread first few times with the steam pan method. And then i got lazy and just used a spray bottle to mist the top of the bread just before putting in the oven. I saw no difference in the texture of the dough. It worked great. I have also subbed 1/4 cup Whey Protien Powder for 1/4 cup of the flower to add protein to the bread, and there was no change to the texture taste or moisture level. Still wonderful

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fyreflye.girl May 23, 2010

Wow! I am enjoying this recipe so much. I have done this countless times now, and have tweaked it a bit to get it to work for me. At first I was having a hard time getting it to rise after coming out of the fridge, so I tried rising it for 2 hours in the oven with the light on. That seems to work well. Also, I add a bit more yeast then called for, as that seems to help the rising too. Also I add 3tsp of sugar when I am adding the salt. I find this rounds out the flavour a bit. I have done this with a mix of white and whole wheat bread flour, as well as just all whole wheat, which I think I like better. I also found that baking it at 450 was giving me loaves that were a bit too crusty for my liking, so I have been baking mine at 350 for 25 mins, and I find that they are perfect! I have also used this as a pizza dough with great success! I rolled it thin with a rolling pin and brushed it with olive oil, and baked for 7 mins, then added sauce and toppings and put it back in the oven until done. It is amazing to have bread/pizza dough in the fridge all the time ready to go when I am. Thank you so much for posting this. I hardly buy bread anymore, so this recipe is also a big money saver, as well as being fun and easy!! I would recommend this to anybody....it is quick, easy and great!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bexxx April 24, 2010

I love it! Easy, convenient and tasty as can be! I now keep a bowl of dough in the fridge at all times. I never use it all up - I add the last bit to the next batch to enhance the flavor. Mmmmmmm!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 November 07, 2010

FT- I made this bread recipe last week and all week long. It is FANTASTIC!! If I could give you 5 stars for each day of the week I would. I made a baguette for dinner Sunday, Rolls for pulled pork on Monday, a mini loaf for 2 Tuesday, a baguette Thursday and used ther emainder of dough to make rolls for the weekend.On each the insides were soft and fluffy, not dense or heavy at all as my DS said. He finished the baguette off after dinner with slathered butter. For the rolls I wanted some crusty and some soft tops. For the soft tops I brushed on melted butter as they came out of the oven and they were soft but not squishy. PERFECTION> I have a bowl ready to go in the firdge right now for dinner tomorrow and the remainder fo the week more breads. I may even try some in a loaf pan for sandwich bread but I am having so much fun just taking out a softball doughball and cooking up a storm. It is the best smell in the morning. I also plan to incorporate some freh herbs from my garen this week into the loaves. I cannot wait! Thank you again. edited April 9, 2010. I have to say I use this recipe all the time now! If I want a change I change the flour additions to rye or wheat with the white. I love it, DH loves it and now FIL comes over for some fresh made rolls.Today's dough ball is going to be used to make cinnamon bread for DH. He mentioned it has been a while lol. FT you have saved me an enormous amount of money on yeast and an enormous amount of time. I rarely use my bread makers anymore and I have 2 because I could always have fresh bread baking. Now I just pull out your recipe on Sunday morning, get it going and I have bread or rolls for the week and each day fresh, resh, freash! I can't wait til my summer herbs are ready to make herb bread again. Tomorrow with my new batch of dough will make rosemary foccaccia as my rosemary plant made it through winter and is ready for plucking!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie April 09, 2011

This is so good and so simple. I made up a small loaf as soon as the dough proofed....oh my goodness. This would be perfect to make up a quick loaf of bread to use for dipping in olive oil and toasted garlic...yum!
This will be a regular in our house. I can't wait to try this for pizza crust later in the week.
I used 2 tsp dry active yeast and 1 tsp sugar.
Thanks for sharing this recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpleducks February 23, 2011

After a few less than stellar attempts, I think I've mastered this recipe with a few minor adjustments. I found 6-1/2 cups of flour produced dry dough and adjusted to 6 cups. I also upped the yeast to 1-1/2 teaspoons (using rapid rise yeast). Having read the reviews, I also lowered the baking temp to 400 F. My latest and best batch consisted of 5 cups of bread flour and 1 cup of whole ground flaxseed meal. The loaf was wonderful and heartily enjoyed by my family. I may try baking at the original 450 F to achieve a crisper crust, but the interior was absolutely perfect. Thanks for helping me achieve breaddom in this lifetime!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full August 27, 2010

This worked great for me! I do not usually bake my own bread due to the time and effort it takes, but this seemed so simple that I decided to give it a try. I used regular yeast instead of fast-acting, which worked fine. The dough is a little wetter than others I've worked with, so be sure to use plenty of flour on your hands and board when kneading. It is so nice to just take out what I need, and have hot, freshly baked bread or rolls whenever I want. Thank you French Tart for answering my yeast question, and also for sharing this wonderful recipe! UPDATE: Now that I've made this a few times, I still love it. I have realized though that it really doesn't need to be kneaded, that seems to knock the air out of it too much. Just use plenty of flour while stretching and folding it onto itself into the shape you want. I do this on a well floured board, then plop it on parchment liberally sprinkled with cornmeal. Then I slide the parchment onto a board that fits in my microwave. I heat a cup of water to steaming hot in the micro, then quickly open the door and stick the dough in there- I leave the cup on the board if there is room. This way you don't need to cover the dough and it rises very nicely. After 20 min or so, I slash the top, and slide the parchment onto a preheated baking stone, then dump the cup of hot water carefully into a metal baking pan(also preheated) on the shelf below the stone, then shut the door quickly to keep the steam in. Sorry this is so long, but I thought my trial and error might really help someone.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madame Blueberry January 25, 2009

Wonderful!!!! We made just as the recipe was written. Then we played! This bread straight out of the oven has the texture and flavour of English Muffins... then as it cools it takes on the flavour of a "Good Sourdough"! I have added, tonight , some crumbled bacon and fine grated cheddar cheese... The possiblities are endless to what you can add to this bread... I see ham, blue cheese, different herbs... and the list goes one! FT this is a 10 + recipe just for the fact it is so versital (SP ?) Way to go frenchy! Update Dec 15,2008: We are on our 3rd batch now! We have made rolls for burgers, bread sticks with koser salt and herbs, and several different cheese breads, and YES! pretzels! Thanks again FT!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shadows December 15, 2008

6/2/11 This was perfect! The loaves of bread had a wonderful texture. I used some of the dough to make monkey bread as a morning treat and was very pleased with the results. (92) Update 8/16/11 I make a batch of this dough almost once a week and have used it for everything from savory breads to sweet treats...
I rolled a portion of it out and layered it with some ham, provolone, salami, Parmesan, and mozzarella and then rolled it up into a log brushed it with some garlic olive oil and baked it for about 25 minutes until golden brown.
I rolled another portion out and spread it with some apricot jam and then rolled it up like a log and brushed it with butter and sprinkled some sugar crystals on and baked it for about 20 minutes until it was golden brown.
I have also made cinnamon rolls and pizza with it and have had nothing but success and empty plates. Thank you so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie August 16, 2011
Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread