22 Reviews

Absolutely horrible! These don't even resemble cookies certainly not Otis spunkmeyer! Food.com remove this so people like me don't accidentally try it without reading the reviews! Awful waste of ingredients

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney C. January 23, 2016

I wish I would have read the other reviews. I saw Otis Spunkmeyer & the 1st review. These are in no way, shape or form like Otis CC. Almost seems like a biscuit. Didn't like the taste & they were very dry. Instead of using regular shortening I used butter shortening & little bit less butter. Will never try again. I had wanted to try different cc recipes. But I think I'll stay with slice & bake. I know how theyll turn out. And nowhere near this much work. So disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bamrac April 25, 2015

HORRIBLE! They literally tasted, smelled, and felt like playdoh. Never making again!!! Followed the recipe exactly. Disgusting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allycat2001 November 20, 2014

These cookies taste nothing like the original cookie. Very disappointed since I have always loved the cookies I bought in stores Nestle Toll House is still the best cookie recipe, And, I have tried many..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texas2stepps_6364785 April 26, 2014

I can't say I thought these cookies tasted like an Otis Spunkmeyer copycat, but they were still good. They taste good, although, although I probably won't make them again. Mainly because I don't particularly like chocolate chip as drop cookies. The hunt for the perfect chocolate chip cookie...continues.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darcileeann January 06, 2013

Samferg....maybe it wasn't the fact that you used shortening instead of butter that made the difference. I have used only butter and sometimes only shortening and other times split the ingredient. Maybe it was your "friends" ...."secret ingredient" that made them turn out the way they did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefpauli September 12, 2010

I liked that the cookies held their shape well, but the taste/texture was a little too "cake-like". Otis' cookies are rich and buttery and I thought these were just a bit too dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Wisnewski August 11, 2010

I made these cookies as a substitute because a friend shared her recipe with me and I was missing one very important ingredient that she mentioned was absolutely essential. In addition, my friend's cookies used only butter. If I had baked these cookies first, I'm sure I would have given four stars (as these don't taste much like Otis Spunkmeyer's at all) but after having my friend's cc cookie, I can say those were the best I'd ever had. I do know that having had both cookies only three days apart has changed my view of using shortening in a cookie recipe. I could really taste the difference the shortening made. I think that I will go back to my friend's recipe and stick with all butter and her secret ingredient. I did really like the chewiness of this recipe, but I hear I can achieve that with other additions that won't affect the taste like shortening does.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samferg July 28, 2010

I never thought that there was such a most excellent chocolate chip cookie recipe out there. I am extremely impressed with this recipe as my family absolutely loves these cookies!!! (I do too). I baked them @ 375 degrees for 16 min. and they are PERFECT!!!!! For the vegetable shortening I used butter flavored Crisco sticks. This recipe could not be any faster or easier. A GREAT BIG THANK YOU....Can't wait to try the other Otis recipes!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerJo March 12, 2010

Very good CC cookie. I have to say they taste like bakery cookies to me. I think I like the taste of chocolate chips cookies made using only butter. Not that these were bad, just personal preference. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 20, 2009
Otis Spunkmeyer's Chocolate Chip Cookies