21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wish I would have read the other reviews. I saw Otis Spunkmeyer & the 1st review. These are in no way, shape or form like Otis CC. Almost seems like a biscuit. Didn't like the taste & they were very dry. Instead of using regular shortening I used butter shortening & little bit less butter. Will never try again. I had wanted to try different cc recipes. But I think I'll stay with slice & bake. I know how theyll turn out. And nowhere near this much work. So disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bamrac April 25, 2015

HORRIBLE! They literally tasted, smelled, and felt like playdoh. Never making again!!! Followed the recipe exactly. Disgusting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allycat2001 November 20, 2014

These cookies taste nothing like the original cookie. Very disappointed since I have always loved the cookies I bought in stores Nestle Toll House is still the best cookie recipe, And, I have tried many..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texas2stepps_6364785 April 26, 2014

I can't say I thought these cookies tasted like an Otis Spunkmeyer copycat, but they were still good. They taste good, although, although I probably won't make them again. Mainly because I don't particularly like chocolate chip as drop cookies. The hunt for the perfect chocolate chip cookie...continues.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darcileeann January 06, 2013

Samferg....maybe it wasn't the fact that you used shortening instead of butter that made the difference. I have used only butter and sometimes only shortening and other times split the ingredient. Maybe it was your "friends" ...."secret ingredient" that made them turn out the way they did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefpauli September 12, 2010

I liked that the cookies held their shape well, but the taste/texture was a little too "cake-like". Otis' cookies are rich and buttery and I thought these were just a bit too dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Wisnewski August 11, 2010

I made these cookies as a substitute because a friend shared her recipe with me and I was missing one very important ingredient that she mentioned was absolutely essential. In addition, my friend's cookies used only butter. If I had baked these cookies first, I'm sure I would have given four stars (as these don't taste much like Otis Spunkmeyer's at all) but after having my friend's cc cookie, I can say those were the best I'd ever had. I do know that having had both cookies only three days apart has changed my view of using shortening in a cookie recipe. I could really taste the difference the shortening made. I think that I will go back to my friend's recipe and stick with all butter and her secret ingredient. I did really like the chewiness of this recipe, but I hear I can achieve that with other additions that won't affect the taste like shortening does.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samferg July 28, 2010

I never thought that there was such a most excellent chocolate chip cookie recipe out there. I am extremely impressed with this recipe as my family absolutely loves these cookies!!! (I do too). I baked them @ 375 degrees for 16 min. and they are PERFECT!!!!! For the vegetable shortening I used butter flavored Crisco sticks. This recipe could not be any faster or easier. A GREAT BIG THANK YOU....Can't wait to try the other Otis recipes!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerJo March 12, 2010

Very good CC cookie. I have to say they taste like bakery cookies to me. I think I like the taste of chocolate chips cookies made using only butter. Not that these were bad, just personal preference. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 20, 2009

I thought I had the best chocolate chip cookie recipe but these are truly the best I've ever had!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babybub October 13, 2009
Otis Spunkmeyer's Chocolate Chip Cookies