Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Osso Bucco Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Osso Bucco

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      If I could give this more stars I would. Followed the recipe to the letter, and I would recommend to anyone else making this that they not change a thing. This was fabulous! And EASY. I mean - brown the shanks, brown the veg, put the shanks back in, add the rest of the ingredients, cover and let go in the oven for 2 hours. Absolutely wonderful! My husband sends you his thanks. I served it with Risotto Milanese and it was just perfect. Chia - great, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      If I could give this recipe more than five stars, I would! Osso bucco is the meal I would request if I ever had to pick a "last meal". I have always been too intimidated to make it. I thought I would seek out a challenge and try this recipe out for a Valentine's dinner this year (so ballsy of me I know!) and boy did it turn out beautifully! It was so easy to make!! I used beef shanks (veal was too pricey) and had a difficult time squeezing all six in my dutch oven. I think next time I may try to cook on the stovetop or a crockpot rather than the oven. I served with oven polenta and green beans and my husband licked up every bit of it. I'm not a saucy girl, but the vegetable puree was divine! I poured it over pasta and served it with our left over osso bucco the next night. And the gremolata was soooo yummy too! I added olive oil to mine because it seemed too dry to serve without it. It was so good!! I can't wait to make many, many more times! I can't thank you enough for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I wish there was a way to do half stars. This would have been a 4 1/2 star rating.
      For me, this was a good recipe. My husband absolutely loved it! He said he wouldn't mind this once a week or two...which is his way of saying this one is a keeper.
      The parsley mixture really added something to the end...however I added olive oil and garlic to make it more moist. I think I'll keep doing it that way.
      Thanks for posting this recipe. It'll go in my 'make again' list.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Very good and I give it five stars because my wife and guests loved it. I would have given it four stars if it were just up to me. I think it needed more garlic and maybe a couble tablespoons of tomato paste. It was a easy recipe and I would reccomend everyone who likes osso bucco give it a try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Excellent I used herb de Provence instead of basil.Thanks for posting my kitch still smells good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Superb recipe.......thank you, thank you for sharing. I made this for a dinner party last night. Everyone raved and raved. I made this the day before and reheated at serving time in the oven. What a wonderful make ahead. The secret also is putting the sauce in the blender which makes it so professional looking. I cooked mine long & slow, it was fork tender. I know this is your recipe Chia, but you weren't here so I took the credit..........sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I could not find fresh turkey legs to make my turkey osso bucco so I made this one using beef shanks. I substuted beef broth for the chicken broth. Other than that I made no changes, served it with risotto milanese. Very, very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I made this tonight exactly as directed, and it was absolutely wonderful. This is definitely a restaurant quality dish! Ten stars from all 6 of us. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      It tasted OK, but I didn't have as good an experience as most others. Meat was tender, but not falling apart and I thought the sauce was fair.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This Ossco Bucco was devine. I made this especially for my dad and he just went crazy for it. I couldn't find veal shanks but got a great deal on beef shanks and had no white wine on hand so I used Rose champagne from New Years Eve. Was very easy to makeI will definitely prepare this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Restaurant quality, chia. Absolutely delicious. The meat did, literally fall off the bones... the aroma of osso bucco cooking was so enticing, it was difficult to keep from tasting... I loved the ultimate flavour of the sauce; one of your reviewers expressed my sentiments exactly.... "vegetables looked so good I had to force myself to blend them to make the sauce." I used 6 veal shanks; two people ate 4, and the other two were "left overs". It will be a pleasure to share the left overs with my good friend Elly... There was no left over gremolata... Pity...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      Made for an awesome supper! Kitchen filled with a wonderful aroma as it cooked. Meat delicious, vegetables looked so good I had to force myself to blend them to make the sauce. We loved the sauce, we loved the meat, this one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      This recipe deserves more then 5*. One of my favorite meals at a restaurant that charges $28. I will be making this often. Everyone loved it. Even the picky family member. I used veal chops. Followed the recipe to the "T". Thank you for a great recipe Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      Just wonderful! Discovering in the middle of preparation that there was no chicken stock in the freezer, I was forced to sub beef broth. It turned out so well that I'd almost be hesitant to use anything else! I added about triple the amount of thyme and basil called for (using fresh instead of dried), and the seasonings were perfect. After recovering from sticker shock over the cost of veal, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      I tried this recipe because it looked easier than the one I tried before, and it was good but I liked the recipe I used once before that reduced the sauce without the vegetables better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2004

      Delicious ! I had to cook this on top of the stove (when I found my Dutch Oven was too small to hold the recipe) but this was no problem. Cooked it for 1 1/2 hours, meat had fallen from the bones. Great sauce, too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Veal Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Osso Bucco

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    58%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 21.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 160.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    veal shanks

    orange zest

    lemon zest

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites