16 Reviews

If I could give this more stars I would. Followed the recipe to the letter, and I would recommend to anyone else making this that they not change a thing. This was fabulous! And EASY. I mean - brown the shanks, brown the veg, put the shanks back in, add the rest of the ingredients, cover and let go in the oven for 2 hours. Absolutely wonderful! My husband sends you his thanks. I served it with Risotto Milanese and it was just perfect. Chia - great, great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P4 March 25, 2003

If I could give this recipe more than five stars, I would! Osso bucco is the meal I would request if I ever had to pick a "last meal". I have always been too intimidated to make it. I thought I would seek out a challenge and try this recipe out for a Valentine's dinner this year (so ballsy of me I know!) and boy did it turn out beautifully! It was so easy to make!! I used beef shanks (veal was too pricey) and had a difficult time squeezing all six in my dutch oven. I think next time I may try to cook on the stovetop or a crockpot rather than the oven. I served with oven polenta and green beans and my husband licked up every bit of it. I'm not a saucy girl, but the vegetable puree was divine! I poured it over pasta and served it with our left over osso bucco the next night. And the gremolata was soooo yummy too! I added olive oil to mine because it seemed too dry to serve without it. It was so good!! I can't wait to make many, many more times! I can't thank you enough for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anti February 16, 2011

I wish there was a way to do half stars. This would have been a 4 1/2 star rating.
For me, this was a good recipe. My husband absolutely loved it! He said he wouldn't mind this once a week or two...which is his way of saying this one is a keeper.
The parsley mixture really added something to the end...however I added olive oil and garlic to make it more moist. I think I'll keep doing it that way.
Thanks for posting this recipe. It'll go in my 'make again' list.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StoryMom November 21, 2010

Very good and I give it five stars because my wife and guests loved it. I would have given it four stars if it were just up to me. I think it needed more garlic and maybe a couble tablespoons of tomato paste. It was a easy recipe and I would reccomend everyone who likes osso bucco give it a try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bill mayes August 20, 2010

Excellent I used herb de Provence instead of basil.Thanks for posting my kitch still smells good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda January 03, 2011

Superb recipe.......thank you, thank you for sharing. I made this for a dinner party last night. Everyone raved and raved. I made this the day before and reheated at serving time in the oven. What a wonderful make ahead. The secret also is putting the sauce in the blender which makes it so professional looking. I cooked mine long & slow, it was fork tender. I know this is your recipe Chia, but you weren't here so I took the credit..........sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kermit in Huntsville April 11, 2010

I could not find fresh turkey legs to make my turkey osso bucco so I made this one using beef shanks. I substuted beef broth for the chicken broth. Other than that I made no changes, served it with risotto milanese. Very, very nice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Callinectes Sapidus January 31, 2010

I made this tonight exactly as directed, and it was absolutely wonderful. This is definitely a restaurant quality dish! Ten stars from all 6 of us. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover January 17, 2010

It tasted OK, but I didn't have as good an experience as most others. Meat was tender, but not falling apart and I thought the sauce was fair.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC January 01, 2010

This Ossco Bucco was devine. I made this especially for my dad and he just went crazy for it. I couldn't find veal shanks but got a great deal on beef shanks and had no white wine on hand so I used Rose champagne from New Years Eve. Was very easy to makeI will definitely prepare this dish again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sleeplessinmiami January 04, 2009
Osso Bucco