11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good but was very sweet. I would ease up on the sugar next time and add in some basil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brookelynne26 March 30, 2010

I made this sauce for my first OAMC session and I loved it. It had just the right amount of kick and was very easy to make. I'd like to try making it with fresh tomatoes instead of sauce and paste next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimemeki February 22, 2010

Fantastic!!! I made this and froze in 3 batches. We had the first batch tonite for dinner. I loved the slightly sweet taste! I added some meatballs that I had made ahead. The only thing I adjusted was slightly less on the chili powder. Good job!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 November 03, 2009

I can't say enough. My kids loved this. I think it was because it was a little sweet. It went over great with my family....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4athomej September 13, 2008

Wow! This is a super basic recipe for spaghetti sauce! I added some basil and backed off on the chili powder, also was out of bay leaves. I also threw in some mushrooms, olives and chopped green bell peppers. The cider vinegar is BRILLIANT. The ground chuck gave it a wonderful flavor. I can't tell you how many different recipes I've tried looking for the perfect sauce- and now I've found it. Thanks for a great, flexible recipe. I love that the great, meaty flavor isn't just from throwing in a bunch of spices; it gives us a lot of room to make it our own. WONDERFUL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingfor7 July 30, 2007

Wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
venus62 January 18, 2007

I'm giving this 1 star because I didn't have any bay leaves. This had no flavor at all and I can't belive that the bay leaves would have helped save this sauce. Also 4 pounds of ground chuck is way to much, 2 pounds would have been more than enough. Big disappointment :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick May 19, 2006

This sauce makes me wish that the Ospidillo Cafe was just down the street from my house! Aside from scaling everything in half for the 2 of us, I followed the directions; the end result was thick, full of flavour & clung to the spaghetti noodles perfectly. I used some of the leftovers to make The Lady & Sons Lasagna (#113198) by Pianolady ....... froze the rest to make Suzanne Zick's Baked Spaghetti (#97831) at the end of the week. Thanx Bone Man!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady February 28, 2006

This sauce had me dipping practically the whole time it was cooking and drinking the last bits in the pan! So tangy and rich tasting. I used only 1 tablespoon chile powder and less meat, since my kids don't like a lot of meat in their sauces. I had some leftovers with kidney beans today and it went together great. Thanks for the great recipe (and love the photo by Pamela). Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado January 17, 2006

wow! I wish I could give this more than 5 stars, this sauce is amazing!! I only made half the recipe and that was a big mistake, lol! The whole family loved it and all 3 kids had second helpings, my meat hating daughter had a third helping *shock*!! I let the meat cook in the sauce and followed the recipe exactly with perfect results. I froze the tiny bit that was leftover and I look forward to making this again soon, thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 19, 2005
Ospidillo Cafe Spaghetti Sauce