Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ospidillo Cafe Michigan Hot Dog Chili Sauce No. 14 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ospidillo Cafe Michigan Hot Dog Chili Sauce No. 14

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2009

      Thanks for a great base for our palates! I had to tweak it for our tastes but finally got what I was looking for. since this was my first time i decreased the recipe by half on the amounts originally. I cooked the onion with the meat, drained it well then let it spin around the food processor a few times to thin out the meat much like the canned chili consistency. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, increased the chili powders, garlic powder, cumin, hot sauce and mustard. I added 1/2t salt and 2 T worcestershire. of course I made the recipe as written but kept adding alittle more of this and that and tasting until I was satisfied. finally got what I wanted without to much variation. the original just didn't pack the flavor I was looking for but it was still good. By the way my 1/2 sized recipes made just over 4 cups of chili. I froze it by cup fulls for later use. next time we will double the recipe. and maybe I will try fresh garlic to pack a bigger flavor. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Like others, I halved the receipe and still had plenty. I made a couple changes - used our own home-grown tomatoes & a bit of puree instead of tomato sauce and added smoked paprika and used fresh garlic and added a splash of worchester sauce (which I add to most tomato based things). It worked well with the dogs - unfortunately in Scotland we can only get bog-standard thin, prepackaged hotdogs, no proper Chicago style or similar, but it still made a good meal. And the chilli sauce can stand on its own as chilli, I think.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      It tasted great, just enough heat in it! thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I made this for my husband's 40th birthday party - and it was a hit. We were happy to have a little leftover for ourselves - and hot dogs to spare. Very tasty and will make again - it does make a BIG batch. The only changes/modifications I made were: I used ground round, I doubled the hot pepper sauce, and I used a potato masher to even out the consistency. I cooled it and froze it and it reheated quite well. Thank you, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This is wonderful. I did add the Dales sauce and italian seasoning used in Ospidillo Cafe #13. DH tasted it before it even had a chance to simmer and raved about it. I used three pounds of meat and increased the spices accordingly because I am going to can it. I have a feeling we will be eating a lot of hot dogs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Just made this recipe and it is great!! The only thing I did different was I added 1 Tbsp. tomato paste to thicken. I couldn't wait the 2 hours for it to thicken. Also I add 1 more tsp. garlic powder. Thanks can't wait to try it on nachos!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      WONDERFUL! Similar to another reviewer, I also grew up in Indiana. This sauce is so delicious, and reminds me of when I was young and my mom always wanted "real" chili dogs. The sauce is fantastic! The only thing I added was a bit of brown sugar- my bbq sauce wasn't too sweet. It is great! Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This was really good. I made it for superbowl and it was a hit. I used a little cornstarch to thicken it up (i like my chil thick) and then we used it on hot dogs and for nachos. I used ground turkey and it came out great! Wasn't hot at all though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      LOVED IT!!! it was good, even my kids enjoyed it! My husband thought of putting it on top of nachos and it was wondderful!Thank you thank you for posting, it was absolutely wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      For years I have yearned to be reunited with a very special food...something we Hoosiers call "spanish sauce". I grew up in a small northern Indiana town and we had 3 drive-in hot dog stands...all unique in their own way. Spanish dogs were just a way of life there. Each of these family-owned hot dog stands had their very own special home-made family recipe sauce and albiet close, each had it's own special taste...but all were great in their own way. Some people were only "west end" sauce eaters...others strictly "east end". Then there were those "south side" saucies who dared to cross the tracks to the other side and away from the "standard" sauce of the region. I know it sounds silly...but hot dog sauce was serious where I grew up. MY POINT?? I haven't lived in my home town for almost 20 years now...going back only now and then at which time we absolutely do not miss the opportunity to stop and get some spanish dogs. I DON'T HAVE TO EVER WAIT TO GO HOME AGAIN!! I have attempted 4 other times with recipes that I thought might be a good substitute only to be disappointed. YOU, my dear dear fellow zaarian, have hit the proverbial nail on the head! It is not 100%...but let me tell you...99.99876% doesn't get any closer..and we'll take it!! Ironically...that's the glory of dog sauce. Each is unique in it's own way and yours falls right into place. The night I made this my husband and I sat at the table with our plate of dogs and not a word was spoken. That said it all!! With the exception of the ancho chili powder, which I could not find for my first batch but will for future batches, I followed your recipe word for word. The one thing I did as far as technique was to take my stick blender (motor boat thingy) and make the sauce a smoother consistency to mimic our favorite "south side" sauce from back home. For anyone who wishes to partake in the glory of this dog sauce, may I suggest the traditional long skinnies (type of dog) and very hot steamed buns (slightly open buns, cut side down, wrapped in a kitchen towel on top of a cooling rack that you have placed over the pot of boiling dogs). So, in a nutshell I apologize for the book-length review, but there was really no other way to express to you our gratitude for your fantastic "dog sauce" recipe. My freezer will never be without it for the rest of my cooking life! Thanks again for your great "trip down memory lane" recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Fantastic chili sauce! My whole family loved it!<br/>Thank you so much for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Quick and easy to make, I had all ingredients on hand. Thick chili great for chili-dogs with an awesome flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Wow! This is great hot dog sauce! I wanted to try something different, and I had never seen chicken bouillon or honey in hot dog sauce before. We will definitely make this again! Thanks from another Scioto County native!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Yep, I agree with all the other reviewers. This is really awesome stuff. The recipe was reduced substantially. Next time I may just make a full batch and freeze it. After getting into the recipe I realized I didn't have chicken bouillon cubes so left those out. After doing a taste taste, I did add in a pinch of salt and some freshly ground pepper. Made for the Diabetic Forum and the 2nd Annual Tailgate Party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

    • on February 12, 2007

      AWESOME sauce!! we all loved it. Thanks bunches for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Wonderful hot dog sauce...my BF thought this was just great. Will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      YUMMMMMMMY! made this yesterday and left it in the fridge overnight to blend the flavors. I served the sauce today on jumbo hotdogs, then topped them off with onions. I used yellow onions in the sauce and LOTS of fresh garlic in place of garlic powder, added in hot chili flakes for more heat and omitted the parsley, just delicious! thanks Bone Man, we loved it!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      If Chili dogs are your thing, "Where's the picnic?"...I'll bring, Reminded me of those had in new York, TRUE! Didn't have dried ancho powder..used a double dose of HOT Cayenne pepper too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ospidillo Cafe Michigan Hot Dog Chili Sauce No. 14

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.7
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    55%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 15.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 138.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites