8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is delicious! The pudding is amazing, but I suggest doubling the recipe .. check out my blog for a complete review of the recipe, pictures and tips on how to make it. Enjoy http://customcreations1226.blogspot.com/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thecakeladyhsb September 10, 2012

To make this in a rectangular dish you need more than 2c. of pudding. I added 1 c. sour cream to the pudding before spreading, which stretched the amount of pudding and added flavor. The dish got rave reviews from my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeeJayTN August 16, 2012

This was absolutely delicious! My entire family loved it and it was gone in one sitting, so I guess I'll just have to make another one! I didn't make the meringue just due to preference. The only other thing that I did different was cook the custard on medium, stirring constantly and then it only took about 5 minutes to thicken. Thanks so much for the recipe! One more thing. My grandmother's name is Osie also, and I have never heard of this name anywhere else except when I came upon this recipe. Small world. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukefan4 January 11, 2010

This was a awesomely Yummy recipe. I made this for the second Pick A Chef Contest 2006. I was expecting a lot more pudding since it said to use a 2 quart dish. I was able to fit it all into a pie dish. This disappointed me a little bit, although the taste of this sure did make up for that. I now know why she did this, its so you would have to make this over and over and over again. Extremely delicous recipe and somewhat easy to make, just a VERY long time to get the custard a custard. Although WOW was it worth it!! I definatly would recommend this to everyone and anyone!! This is a keeper and KUDOS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creation in Hope September 20, 2006

Very delicious! I left out the vanilla wafers and substituted cornstarch for the flour to make it gluten-free, also substituted Splenda for half of the sugar in the custard. Rich and flavorful with a nice variety of flavors and textures.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 August 01, 2006

This is total comfort food for sure! I love this puddin' right out of the oven still steamin. I didn't think it was quite as good cold, so I popped it the magic box and it re-warmed quite nicely. Dad prefers it hot too, mom is a cold fan. The only thing I would change is to add more meringue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redneck Epicurean September 23, 2005

Nostalgic and wonderful! This is the recipe my Mom used. She's been gone 28 years now and I miss her deeply. Preparing this brings back beautiful memories. I hadn't thought of posting it so I'm glad you did. My Thanx.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance March 28, 2004

Nothing to say about this except "yum".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 March 28, 2004
Osie's "Old-Fashioned" Banana Pudding