Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orzo With Wilted Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orzo With Wilted Spinach

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2010

      Super simple and delicious! We used it under a spicy egg and tomato dish and loved every bite. I'll be making this again with some garden kale! Made for ZWT6 by a Looney Spoon Phoodie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Oh boy, I love asiago and spinach together! Then spinach?! Oh a recipe made in heaven! The pine nuts on top sent this over the edge, and very welcomed! I did add salt and pepper to taste, and was so lovely! We have fresh spinach coming from the garden, and this was a perfect use. Made for Zee Zesties! for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      A very simple dish, which I truly appreciate. I'm trying to go back to basics a little bit, and this fit the bill nicely. I cut the recipe back by half, but left the spinach the same. Can't have too much fresh spinach! I thought the addition of the asiago was was a good touch. I, also, toasted the pine nuts before adding them. And I used a LOT of black pepper! Thnx for sharing your recipe, Vicki. Made for a fellow Voracious Vagabond during ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      We tried this tonight with balsamic chicken and Italian green beans. It was fabulous, my entire family loved it. The asiago cheese and the pine nuts finished it off nicely. I really like the added little crunch of the pine nuts. Even my 10 year-old son said it is defitinitely a keeper. I appreciate that he gets some greens with the pasta. Thanks for the recipe Vicki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Nice and easy side dish for dinner last night after work. The pine nuts and especailly the asiago give it a wonderful flavor. I also added some salt and pepper. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I added extra sun-dried tomatoes and some artichoke hearts to this pasta. Even DBF liked this one! Don't skimp on the asiago as it really adds to the flavor! Made for ZWT 4 by a jefe de la cocina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Definitely 5 stars. When adding spinach it stuck to the pan so I added some liquid (white wine) to cook. Taste was oustanding, and BF agreed. I added extra sun-dried tomatoes. Very easy to make. For some reason leftovers didn't seem as good as the night before but no penalties for that:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Four Stars. Nice mixture of ingredients and makes a colorful side dish. It is a good base recipe which can be altered to your own preferences. I found one teaspoon of olive oil was too little for the ingredients listed and also moved the addition of the Orzo to one of the last steps in order to keep it from being overcooked. This is a quick and easy recipe which can be prepared at the last minute adding an elegant touch to your meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This was an easy dish to put together. My major issue with this recipe was ingredient amounts. The recipe was reduced to 2 servings which still called for 1 cup of pasta. I used more like 1/2 cup and had 3 nice servings. I would have increased the sub-dried tomatoes and 8 to 16 oz spinach is a lot. The recipe would have benefited with additional seasoning. Good luck in RSC #11.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This was a really good recipe and my whole family enjoyed it. I found that the pine nuts were especially good for this recipe. I added a bit more sun dried tomatoes as I felt 2 tablespoons wasn't enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This was very nice. I used about 10 oz spinach. I wilted about half of the spinach with the shallot mixture before adding the pasta and was glad I had as I kept throwing bits of orzo out of the skillet, trying to stir it & wilt the rest of the spinach. Next time I may use some of the oil from the tomatoes to saute the veg. to add some additional flavor. Also, I tried this cold the next day and it was pretty bland so I definitely recommend serving this warm. Thanks for the recipe and good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      5 stars I would award this recipe at least 7 stars if possible. I cut the recipe back to 2 servings. I was generous with the sun dried tomato, left the garlic & shallot as stated in the whole recipe.. Great blend of flavors - The pine nuts and Asiago are the perfect compliment to comlpete this taste sensation - We loved it 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orzo With Wilted Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.0
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    10%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 89.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    asiago cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes