Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orzo With Roasted Vegetables (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orzo With Roasted Vegetables (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2014

      We loved this recipe! The lemon dressing is the star of the dish, although I cut down the olive oil slightly to make it healthier. I also added some dried ground oregano which went really well with the lemon. Thanks for a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      This may be one of the most fantastic things I've ever eaten! Couldn't stop picking at it last night! It's a good thing my husband doesn't like eggplant or peppers b/c I don't think I could share! I also cut way back on the oil with the veggies and only made 1/2 the amount of dressing and I thought it worked well. Will cut back on the salt next time. Oh, also used less feta, just poured until it looked right, but it was a little less than 4 oz. My house smelled of roasted peppers all day! : ) Will definitely make again! My 13 month old loved the pasta and peppers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Made this as a side dish and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      Couldn't stop tasting! Every bite had new flavors. Wow. Changes I'd recommend, like others said, cut down on oil...I cut oil in half (both for roasted veg and the dressing) and it was still plenty. We preferred abt 4 oz of feta. I think 3/4 lb would overpower the dish for us. And, zucchini is an excellent sub for eggplant, as someone else suggested. It's a beautiful dish, some one needs to post a picture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Delicious! We didn't have pine nuts so we skipped them and it still came out fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I might make this as a side for a BBQ sometime as I think it would be a crowd pleaser. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Excellent flavor-- I roasted my veggies on the barbie grill along with the garlic cloves. Cut down on the oil as other members did and seasoned with freshly grated pepper and salt. Keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      this salad always gets rave reviews when served. i did cut back on the olive oil and roasted the veggies in a pan lined with non stick aluminum. easy...easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Thought this was a very tasty summer side dish. I think I might have used too much orzo though. I would have liked to have had more veggies. I did decrease the oil like everyone else did and sprayed the veggies with pam to roast. I also think it could have used more lemon but that might have been b/c I put too much orzo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Very colorful and a great take along to summer dinner party. I have also tried smoked fresh mozzarella cut into small squares in place of the feta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      This is HEAVEN! Soo Good. I will be making it for my next BBQ party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Waaaay too much oil as written. I only used two tablespoons to roast the veggies and one tablespoon in the "dressing." It still seems kinda oily, but I'm allowing it to sit and absorb. The flavors are great, although I did substitute zucchini for the eggplant (personal preference). I'm also leaving out the basil, pine nuts, and scallions because I don't have them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      With a little tweaking for dietary considerations, this was a fabulous recipe. I subbed zucchini and yellow squash for the eggplant, and cut way back on the oil - just a bit sprayed on the veggies before roasting, and 2 T oil to 1/4 c lemon juice for the dressing. With all the vegetables, the color gives a gorgeous presentation, so it would be great for company. We tried it at room temp, cold, and reheated in the microwave - cold was just ok, but the others were great. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I would give this 4.5 stars. The vegetables alone were awesome. I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of garlic and would increase it next time. I personally would decrease the lemon in the dressing or gradually pour the dressing in to your liking. I bought the crumbled feta and just folded it in right before eating. I think you could also use parmesan cheese as well. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Just tried this and will definitely make again! I just needed a side vergatable dish, so I left out the orzo and was still delish. I did not use all the oil and no scallions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      AWSOME!! is all I can say!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I love the combo of feta and pine nuts so this sounded really great to me. Turned out to be a delicious, elegant and colorful dish that would go well with anything ( I served with roast chicken). I changed up the veggies a bit based on what I had...left out the eggplant and added zucchini and asparagus. I did think it was slightly oily so I think I will cut back on the olive oil next time. Maybe just a drizzle on the veggies to roast them. That would cut back on the fat and calories, too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I'm really glad I made this - it's a beautiful salad!!! I didn't add the feta because of the cost, so I was worried it wouldn't be as good - but it was great. The flavour of the vegetables really comes through. I cut down on the oil & found I still had a lot, so I didn't add the oil in with the dressing. Other than that, this is perfect! Thanks for posting it Roxy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Awesome! Had some eggplant and red and yellow peppers to use up, and am so glad I found this recipe. LOVED the combination of sweet roasted veggies with orzo, feta, and lemon dressing. Reduced the olive oil used on the veggies to 1/4 cup, and probably didn't use that much feta, just kind of threw it in. Awesome side dish or simple lunch. I'll defintely make this again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      I really wanted to love this dish, but it was just not a winner for my family. The feta taste was way too overpowering for us, and I thought too much lemon and oil as well. The roasted veggies looked and tasted great; they had lots of oil, and perhaps with half the dressing, the salad would have had a better mouth feel. I'd halve the feta as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Festive, fun and easy -- highly recommend for a summer side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orzo With Roasted Vegetables (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.4
     
    Calories from Fat 367
    61%
    Total Fat 40.8 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 50.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1369.4 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites