Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orzo with Parmesan and Basil Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2012

      Thank you for posting my new favorite side dish! This was DELISH! DH and I both loved it. I did as another posted and added about 3 Tbsp diced onion and about 1 clove minced garlic before adding the pasta. I also only used 1 Tbsp butter (just trying to cut back where I can). Used fresh basil from the garden. Love the texture of this and the parm makes it extra extra creamy! This is definitely a keeper for us. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      August 6, 2012 - Delicious and easy - will make again.<br/><br/>Updated: Made a few times and continues to be a winner. Even made it without the cheese (was out) and although it tasted different it was still yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Oh my this is so good. Its such a simple recipe but the fresh basil really makes this dish. I will continue to make this through the summer. Thank you for sharing,.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I made this last night as a side dish to go with my chicken parm and it was delightful! I did add 1 clove of garlic and 3 Tbls of onion to the butter and sauted them for about 5 minutes before adding the orzo. I think that added tons of flavor! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Fantastic! I expected this dish to be bland due to the relatively few ingredients. However, it was an excellent dish. This would be wonderful to eat in the summer, as a light and fresh pasta. I used fresh basil and omitted the salt. The parmesan is salty enough. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Very easy and tasty side dish. I've made this several times and it always comes out well. Dried basil will work if you don't have fresh - just mix it in when you add the chicken stock.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      Delicious! I didn't have fresh basil and had to sub dried and it was still really good! I always forget how much I like orzo. Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This dish was totally awesome!! Easy to prepare and the flavor was out of this world. I followed to the "T" and doubled the recipe. Served with Southern Fried Salmon Patties #137575. Everyone loved it! Thank you for sharing this. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      Very nice, very simple. Prepared recipe as is, and was very happy with the results. I don't see the need for any onion, as the parmesan adds salt and the basil adds sweetness. Your mileage may vary...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      This was so good and so easy! Wonderful side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      Made as suggested, no changes made, simply a PERFECT side to The Best Chicken Saltimbocca

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Made this dish & it was wonderful. I did add a glove of garlic & green onion when I sautéed orzo in the butter.Really good dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Perfect side dish! Creamy and flavorful, and very easy. Not much I can add to 50 reviews. Made for Best of 2012 game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      Very good and easy to do. Served with Chicken Piccata, salad and hot sourdough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      Made this to go with our dinnr tonight and it was great. Followed the directions exactly and so glad I did as it was perfect. Frying the orzo in butter prior to cooking was a great method. I'll be using this often. What made it even better was using fresh basil from my little herb garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      As I often have fresh living basil in a vase in my kitchen (natural deodorizer), this recipe has been made often. I loved it the first time and we have had it several times since. It is so creamy, smooth and delicious. I serve it with salmon or a chicken dish usually.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      i used vegetarian beef broth since that's all i had and added a bit of onion and garlic. to keep it from burning on my very hot stove, i simmered on low (med on a normal stove) for 12 min and then turned the heat off and left it on the warm element for another ten. i was finding this a touch bitter, probably from the cheese i used, so a added a bit of lemon juice which worked well. this was quite tasty. will make again. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      Quick and delicious. Thank you, this will be prepared frequently around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Very nice side dish - mild flavor and went well with our tangy lemon chicken. It would be good with any bold flavored main dish and it uses staple items at this house so I'm sure I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Great recipe that's very easy to make. I've made it twice so far (even used low-sodium chicken broth the first time), and it was too salty both times. Next time, I'll leave out the salt to taste, and maybe put in an extra half cup of orzo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    34%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 26.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 582.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites