20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A winner! I have two reasons for saying this. First, is that we've always liked rice, and I've always loved rice and orzo dishes. My kid just discovered how good orzo can be. I made this according to your directions but added about a 1/4 tsp. of minced garlic and a sprinkle of thyme. It was eaten up! My second reason is that this would be a great base for making it into a main dish meal...a little chicken, tomato, whatever. Very easy to make and very tasty. Thanks for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP June 04, 2003

Very good! I added some minced garlic and some sliced mushrooms. Cook time was spot on and the recipe had great flavors. Simply and easy...which is great when you're working on all the rest of your dishes. Will definitely make again. May add some additional seasoning....crushed red pepper?????

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl August 03, 2010

This was a good recipe - I had orzo in the pantry, and was looking for a way to use it up - this answered the question well. I added a little parmesan cheese at the end, to boost the flavor. Delicious alongside a pork tenderloin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn February 13, 2010

A good base. I'll use this recipe again, with a lot of seasonings added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook August 08, 2009

Oh, this was such a yummy find! I didn't use onion and used 1 tsp. of Better Than Bullion and water instead of the broth and it wasn't too salty, but still had real flavor. I just used regular white rice, and it came out beautifully. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK May 21, 2009

Very very good! I cut the recipe in half and there still was enough. I did add some minced garlic to the orzo and onion mixture which I brown/sauteed in butter instead of margarine. I made it as a side with Sauteed Chilean Sea Bass #82582 by Hey Jude (which on that I did make a sauce to put over the fish and rice) and asparagus. Thank you for a great recipe and an easy one!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 23, 2009

This is a fantastic and easy recipe. I always get rave reviews when I make this. I substituted butter for the margarine and I use jasmine rice. Fabulous! Thanks so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racerchik March 15, 2009

Really nice side dish. Really, really nice! Made as written except I used butter. DH is very suspicious about his food since I joined 'Zaar so I make up names so that he will at least try them. He stared at his plate and asked "what's this"..."Upscale Rice-a-roni hon " ;) He wolfed his portion, stole some of mine and then trotted to the kitchen to get more. Good Job Lightly Toasted!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned March 04, 2009

Delicious! This is a great recipe that uses items that I always have on hand. I always like finding recipes like that. The taste is fantastic and I wouldn't change a thing, although mushrooms would be wonderful in this. I served this alongside Turkey Meatballs, green beans and a salad. My ds#2 devoured the rice - he had 3 helpings and said he was addicted to it! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 January 04, 2009

This was really good. I added small slices of small carrots, some scallion and peas. I used Basmati rice and it was delish. Check the rice before 20 mins. is up. Mine was done before that and was just starting to think about sticking! Nice side dish for company. Use real butter!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felina November 15, 2008
Orzo Pilaf