Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orzo Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orzo Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2003

      A winner! I have two reasons for saying this. First, is that we've always liked rice, and I've always loved rice and orzo dishes. My kid just discovered how good orzo can be. I made this according to your directions but added about a 1/4 tsp. of minced garlic and a sprinkle of thyme. It was eaten up! My second reason is that this would be a great base for making it into a main dish meal...a little chicken, tomato, whatever. Very easy to make and very tasty. Thanks for sharing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Very good! I added some minced garlic and some sliced mushrooms. Cook time was spot on and the recipe had great flavors. Simply and easy...which is great when you're working on all the rest of your dishes. Will definitely make again. May add some additional seasoning....crushed red pepper?????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This was a good recipe - I had orzo in the pantry, and was looking for a way to use it up - this answered the question well. I added a little parmesan cheese at the end, to boost the flavor. Delicious alongside a pork tenderloin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      A good base. I'll use this recipe again, with a lot of seasonings added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Oh, this was such a yummy find! I didn't use onion and used 1 tsp. of Better Than Bullion and water instead of the broth and it wasn't too salty, but still had real flavor. I just used regular white rice, and it came out beautifully. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Very very good! I cut the recipe in half and there still was enough. I did add some minced garlic to the orzo and onion mixture which I brown/sauteed in butter instead of margarine. I made it as a side with Sauteed Chilean Sea Bass #82582 by Hey Jude (which on that I did make a sauce to put over the fish and rice) and asparagus. Thank you for a great recipe and an easy one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This is a fantastic and easy recipe. I always get rave reviews when I make this. I substituted butter for the margarine and I use jasmine rice. Fabulous! Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Really nice side dish. Really, really nice! Made as written except I used butter. DH is very suspicious about his food since I joined 'Zaar so I make up names so that he will at least try them. He stared at his plate and asked "what's this"..."Upscale Rice-a-roni hon " ;) He wolfed his portion, stole some of mine and then trotted to the kitchen to get more. Good Job Lightly Toasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Delicious! This is a great recipe that uses items that I always have on hand. I always like finding recipes like that. The taste is fantastic and I wouldn't change a thing, although mushrooms would be wonderful in this. I served this alongside Turkey Meatballs, green beans and a salad. My ds#2 devoured the rice - he had 3 helpings and said he was addicted to it! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This was really good. I added small slices of small carrots, some scallion and peas. I used Basmati rice and it was delish. Check the rice before 20 mins. is up. Mine was done before that and was just starting to think about sticking! Nice side dish for company. Use real butter!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Wonderful recipe...I added some frozen peas to it..this makes a big batch....I used jasmine rice...this would be a great recipe for unexpected company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was fabulous. Quick easy side dish. Great Flavour. I only used Orzo, no rice. My SO is a chef and he loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      After I started this recipe, I realized that the Uncle Ben's rice that was recommended is a converted rice, and I was using Jasmine rice. I needed extra broth and additional cooking time, but still came away with a great side dish for Crunchy Baked Tilapia and Asparagus With No-Cook Creamy Mustard Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Very easy side dish. My DH and DS, who is 3, both raved about the "rice". Anything that gets him to ask for more, will definitely be moved to the keeper group! Next time, I may add some garlic, just because we love it so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Another great recipe from ya E, It turned out great, even my picky boys ate it up. Thanks for posting it. From the Brewhead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      This is a wonderful side dish. It is simple enough to please picky eaters (my children) but flavorful enough for the adults.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      I'm always looking for new ways to jazz up plain white rice, and I happened to have some orzo that needed to be used, so this was perfect. I really enjoyed the taste. I like the suggestion of adding some chopped carrots, and may try that next time. This time recipe was made as directed, and came out perfectly. I see myself using this often as a base recipe to try with different spices and additions. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Looked for an orzo side dish to go with my French Shrimp recipe and found this one and it was perfect! I halved it because there are just two of us and I still had leftovers. I found that I had to add more liquid, so watch this carefully while simmering. Delicious and so easy! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      Nice dish. I wasn't sure if it would work but I stuck everthing in the rice steamer after browning the orzo and it worked! I added some finely chopped red pepper for color and next time will add some garlic too. (I didn't this time because we were having a lot of garlic in the main dish.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Very yummy and easy. I also added some minced garlic. If I were making it for company I might add some finely chopped carrots or red bell peppers for colour. I really liked the "buttery" flaour but I might use a little lress margarine next time as I found it just a little bit greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orzo Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.9
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    29%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 564.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites