18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty and simple dish to prepare. Browning the orzo first gives it a wonderful flavor! I omitted the carrots, and cut the brocolli florets into small pieces since I thought it would be easier to scoop up with the orzo. I zapped them in the microwave for a few minutes to soften them before adding them to the rest of the dish. I also left out the marjoram, and added a bit of Paul Prudhomme's "Vegetable Magic" to give it a zesty zing. I served it with seared tuna. Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H2O January 26, 2004

great recipe. i used salted water with seasonings instead of chicken broth. and added the broccoli about halfway through. <br/>it was delicious.<br/>thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adams.wifey October 04, 2013

This was just OK for us. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Everyone tried it but no one was thrilled with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 14, 2013

I liked this very much! My son was not excited but he's a greasy burgers and fries guy. I had leftovers and added a little Parmesan that topped it off nicely when I reheated it for lunch. Thanks for the nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle July 24, 2012

The marjoram overpowered the other ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper May 23, 2012

I followed suggestions from some of the reviews and threw in the broccoli just after the mushrooms and onions. I also added a couple of diced chicken breasts. I made a double recipe and I will be using the leftovers as stuffing for stuffed green and red peppers later this week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naturegal07 July 29, 2009

This was easy to put together. It lacked a bit in my opinion. The broccoli didn't seem to "go". If you are used to having a plain steamed vegetable with your meal, this is an easy way to cook it without another pot. Since I always sauce/dress/"do" my veggies, this was not a bonus for me. The amount of oil used was too little. The dish could have benefited from some added salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 04, 2009

Wonderfully simplistic meal! We made it as described but also added some precooked chicken to make it a one dish complete meal. Very yummy and leftovers were great for lunch the next day. I will definitely make this again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn September 13, 2008

We love orzo and found this to be a great way to change it up a bit. We needed to add some salt to the recipe because we found it a bit bland. Some red pepper flakes might nice for a little zip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW September 01, 2008

This is my favorite way to cook orzo so far. My dh was shocked at how my young nieces and nephew gobbled this up, veggies and all. It was easy and delicious. I too added the broccoli earlier than listed. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting this tasty recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened July 19, 2008
Orzo-Broccoli Pilaf