Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orzo-Broccoli Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orzo-Broccoli Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2004

      Very tasty and simple dish to prepare. Browning the orzo first gives it a wonderful flavor! I omitted the carrots, and cut the brocolli florets into small pieces since I thought it would be easier to scoop up with the orzo. I zapped them in the microwave for a few minutes to soften them before adding them to the rest of the dish. I also left out the marjoram, and added a bit of Paul Prudhomme's "Vegetable Magic" to give it a zesty zing. I served it with seared tuna. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      great recipe. i used salted water with seasonings instead of chicken broth. and added the broccoli about halfway through. <br/>it was delicious.<br/>thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      This was just OK for us. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Everyone tried it but no one was thrilled with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      I liked this very much! My son was not excited but he's a greasy burgers and fries guy. I had leftovers and added a little Parmesan that topped it off nicely when I reheated it for lunch. Thanks for the nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      The marjoram overpowered the other ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I followed suggestions from some of the reviews and threw in the broccoli just after the mushrooms and onions. I also added a couple of diced chicken breasts. I made a double recipe and I will be using the leftovers as stuffing for stuffed green and red peppers later this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was easy to put together. It lacked a bit in my opinion. The broccoli didn't seem to "go". If you are used to having a plain steamed vegetable with your meal, this is an easy way to cook it without another pot. Since I always sauce/dress/"do" my veggies, this was not a bonus for me. The amount of oil used was too little. The dish could have benefited from some added salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Wonderfully simplistic meal! We made it as described but also added some precooked chicken to make it a one dish complete meal. Very yummy and leftovers were great for lunch the next day. I will definitely make this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      We love orzo and found this to be a great way to change it up a bit. We needed to add some salt to the recipe because we found it a bit bland. Some red pepper flakes might nice for a little zip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This is my favorite way to cook orzo so far. My dh was shocked at how my young nieces and nephew gobbled this up, veggies and all. It was easy and delicious. I too added the broccoli earlier than listed. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting this tasty recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Tasty! The carrots gave it a nice sweet taste. I found that in step 8 my orzo only took 8 minutes to reach "tender but firm". The broccoli was done after around 5 minutes I believe. I might try a little fresh garlic in this next time. This was extremely easy and quick to make. Thank you for sharing this with us! I am embarassed of my photo when I see Annacia's but :-) I did submit it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I skipped the fat all together and softened the onions and mushies in water. Then proceeded by the directions. This is (to me) an ideal side. It's quick, simple, yummy and healthy. It's also the only side needed and it has pasta and veggies in one dish. OH, one other variance, I put the broccoli in when the pasta wasn't yet dry and let it cook that way. Lovely flavor and I liked the side better than the chicken breast I served it with. It's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was divine as well as fast, though I did tweak it a bit. I didn't have alot of orzo, so I added rice to it; I browned everything together and then cooked it in chicken broth. I also added a bit of dried sage. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This is great. I have a meat and potatoes hubby, who only eat vegetables and new things by force. After being force to try this, he really likes it and is now an added staple to our home! Thanks for adding a healthy side dish to my list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      Very good way to have broccoli which everyone enjoyed, however next time I think I will cut the broccoli smaller or else pre-cook it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      Great dish and easy to make. I chopped up the brocolli into nickel size pieces - they were just the right tenderness after they sat for about 5 minutes. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      A simple, and elegant side dish. We loved it with Parmesan Fish. I will keep this one handy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      Great dish! Full of wonderful flavours. I couldn't get orzo so I used risoni which is similar but a bit smaller I think. I left out the onions as we don't like them. A wonderful side dish and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orzo-Broccoli Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.2
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    18%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 233.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites