Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Original Recipe Sicilian Succo (Meatballs & Sauce)
    Lost? Site Map

    Original Recipe Sicilian Succo (Meatballs & Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2003

      Awesome, truly superb. My inlaws are Sicilain. They were surprised that I could make such a good dish. The fresh herbs set this off. Of course, they would use nothing different. Nest time, I will use fresh ripe Italian tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      This is it. The real thing. Authenic. I have been searching for this recipe for a long time. I finally found it, and prepared it. I was better than any other succo that I have ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      The meatballs with this were wonderful and delicious. Very nice simple flavors. But although I used top quality fresh herbs and tomatoes, I found the sauce itself too bitter, and lacking in depth. I ended up adding a pinch of brown sugar and a sprinkling of baking soda to neutralize some of the acid, and also let it simmer for an hour or so after adding a cup of good cabarnet. The meatball formula, though, is quite good. I will definitely use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      Fabtastu. My Sicilian husband loved it. He said it was better than his mother made. I will be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      My family and I found this sauce to be much too bitter. I wonder if it isn't all of the tomato paste. The meatballs have been making very good meatball sandwiches though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      Fabulous recipe! Very easy to make, but outstanding results. I halved the recipe, because my kids aren't very fond of meatballs(crazy, I know, but they're still little and only like noodles). I used about 5 cloves of garlic, because we are garlic lovers, and used the fresh herbs. Like I said, this is extremely easy to put together, but you'll look like you've been slaving all day. I also added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water, because the sauce is very thick. I know that's probably the effect you are going for, but it is very thick sauce. Whe I reheat the leftovers I'll add a little red wine, I think. We served it with fresh linguine and garlic bread. This is a dish I will prepare over and over, and also, I will never make any other meatballs but these. They are fabulous! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      Heardy, Mama Mia,Wonderful meatballs!!! Fantastic sauce,And VERY EASY to make. THANK YOU!!! Darlene Summers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      Wonderful recipe. My whole family just went wild. Even the children loved it. Definately a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      It has been a long time. I finally found it. Succo like my late grandmother prepared. Wonderful recipe. Bold taste. A gourmet's delight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Mama Mia. Mange. The best that I have ever made. Compliments galore. Rivals the succo made by my Sicilian grandmother.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Fantastic Taste. Out of this world flavor. Evan better with fresh produce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      This is it. The real taste of succo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

    • on January 07, 2008

      wow- the sauce was unbelievable. How simple and delicious. I will keep it in my recipe box. The meatballs were really good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      Truly Sicilian!!! Just like grandma made. It's so simple and has that peasant appeal that makes this dish so flavorful.Lots of garlic and you can never go wrong with the mix of pork and beef they blend so well. In richer parts they even add veal which also adds a wonderful flavor.Thank you for your recipe and history. glitter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      Great recope. Real Sicilian. Taste out of this world. Easy to make. Readily adaptable to crockpot. Prepare the evening meal in less than 10 minutes. A godsend after a busy day at the office.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      Wow, What a taste. Real succo. Its been a long coming, but when it arrived it was out of this world. Real Sicilian for sure. Great taste. This will be made often in my home. Really great with fresh tomatoes and herrs. So simple and easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      Very good! I too added some water to thin the sauce a bit. I also broiled the meatballs to brown them. I tried using a frying pan, but mine has high sides, and it was awkward to turn them and they kept breaking apart. Under the broiler, they browned nicely and kept their round shape.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Original Recipe Sicilian Succo (Meatballs & Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.8
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    44%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 56.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1129.6 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites