Recipe by Carambola
Originally marshmallows were made from the marsh mallow root and were a throat lozenge. The common candy is now made with gelatin and contains no marsh mallow root. This recipe is 100% kosher. Vegetarian / contains egg (no gelatin)
- 4 tablespoons marshmallows, roots
- 28 tablespoons refined sugar
- 20 tablespoons gum tragacanth (or gum arabic)
- 2 cups water (Water of orange flowers for aroma or instead of plain water)
- 1 -2 egg white, well beaten
Directions See How It's Made
- Make sure the mallow roots aren't moldy or too woody. Marshmallow gives off almost twice its own weight of mucilaginous gel when placed in water.
- Make a tea of marshmallow roots by simmering in a pint of water for twenty to thirty minutes. Add additional water if it simmers down. Strain out the roots.
- Heat the gum and marshmallow decoction (water) in a double boiler until they are dissolved together. Strain with pressure.
- Stir in the sugar as quickly as possible. When dissolved, add the well beaten egg whites, stirring constantly, but take off the fire and continue to stir. Lay out on a flat surface. Let cool, and cut into smaller pieces.