Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Original Leche Flan - Philippines Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Original Leche Flan - Philippines

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2006

      This is the closest to my Tita Garnette's recipe I have seen. All the ingredients are basically the same and in the same proportion. The biggest thing I do differently is that I hand stir the custard mix and I do it very gently. I avoid frothy bubbles as much as possible. I also pour the custard mix through a strainer as it goes into the pan. This is the trick to make a very creamy flan. Air bubbles will change the texture and mouth feel of the flan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      this turned out so good, you have to have sweet tooth for this, now I'm going to wait for my DS's Philippino GF to taste this and give it the thumbs up, my review is 5 stars all the way, thank you for sharing this Char, I made this for KK's Chef's Pick forum game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      My son and I made this together. Yummy! We will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      my first time to try making leche flan and it wasn't bad at all! was a hit! though next time i'll try harder to not shake the pan before putting it inside the oven.. :) thanks for sharing..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

    • on December 03, 2008

      Very good recipe!!! Yum!!! What I did with mine (cooking method) was placed a cheesecloth (i.e., or any thin enough garment) at the bottom of the tray/pan (roasting pan is BEST) before putting water in it. Then place the ramekins (i.e., or whatever container you may use) on top of the cheesecloth, then pour boiling hot water in the tray/pan. The cheesecloth will prevent water from splattering at you and, in addition, the ramekins won't be shaking inside the pan when moved. Yes, I agree! Using hand-mixing method will give you better results as to texture/smoothness of your flan. Using a whisk and gently stirring the mixture will completely mix your ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      this is the BEST!! first time i made this, i used semi-skimmed milk it was okay. the second time around, i thought i'd use evaporated milk and it was fab! very thick, creamy and tasty indeed. my hubby and i finsihed it in one sitting! thanks Chabear01!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I will try this baked leche flan. before I used to cooked this using steamer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Original Leche Flan - Philippines

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.8
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    30%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 412.9 mg
    137%
    Sodium 144.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 72.0 g
    288%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites