Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Original Indian Naan Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Original Indian Naan Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2013

      This is wonderful! I omitted nigella seeds simply because I don't have them. <br/><br/>Straight forward recipe with easily accessible ingredients on hand. I even used vanilla yogurt with no drastic changes in flavor (didn't have any plain yogurt). <br/><br/>I've rolled them no less than 1/4" thick. Any thinner and they turn into naan crackers! <br/><br/>I've noticed a heavy skillet/pan is crucial to getting the lovely crispy bits. I also use a lid and cover and do around 1 to 2 minutes a side, checking every so often to make sure the brown spots don't born. I used medium high heat to start, then adjusted the heat as necessary. <br/><br/>Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! It makes chewy soft naan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      I really liked this I made green onion flavored on top of the stove its very easy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      These are delicious! As awalde suggested, I used 2 teaspoons of active yeast and replaced the nigella seeds with black sesame seeds. This was surprisingly easy and was enjoyed with awalde's Coconut Rice, oven baked chicken and veggies. Made for PRMR tag game. Thanks awalde!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Easy to make and delicious! Couldn't find nigella seeds so used sesame and poppy, crushed a bit. I cooked mine in the oven at 500 degrees, 2 minutes on one side and about 45 seconds on the other. Lovely with your Micronesian Coconut Chicken Curry - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Just lovely! I had no nigella seeds, so I added a 1/2 tsp curry powder and it really popped! I also ran out of yogurt, so I substituted with low-fat sour cream with great results. Used the skillet method and served with <br/>http://www.food.com/recipe/chicken-makhani-indian-butter-chicken-234639. Winning combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      This recipe was very easy to do..I thought bread would raise more than it did, it still turned our great. I took advice to not roll the bread too thin...I took pics so check it out. I was disappointed that I did not take more time to add some added flavor, like fresh ground garlic, etc. to the recipe. I cooked on med/high heat, and it was too hot..Watch your bread, it does not take but a min to cook when you cook it in a skillet!! It went fast on the table, so be prepared to make more. This recipe is only good for 6 people..if they share and not get too greedy..which is easy to do...add butter after removing from skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      This was simple, easy and gobbled up quickly at dinner. I baked mine (minus nigella seeds) on a pancake griddle. My family thought I had discovered the trade secret to replicating Trader Joe's naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      I substituted whole wheat flour and it turned out well. I also used a pancake grill instead of oven. Worked well also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I forgot that the broiler element was out in my oven, so I cooked mine in a skillet over medium heat. Delicious! For ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      I love Naan, and was happy to see this recipe posted. I used the stovetop method. After making it plain, I also made a garlic flavored one since I am a garlic-a-holic. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I really enjoy Naan bread. I made the butter version. It was awesome. I can't believe that I made this. It was wonderful and very quick and easy to make. We enjoyed it with scallops and curried pineapple & carrots. I seasoned the finished product with coarse sea salt, personal preference only as I couldn't find any nigella seeds. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT8 - India

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I made these on my griddle. I made half with garlic powder and half with curry powder. I liked both ways but the curry was outstanding. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This is the best naan I have ever made. Thanks for the recipe! Made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      These naan are very authentic. I let it rise for a total of 4 hours because I wanted to have the dough more sour-like. They were actually fluffy/airy on the inside. We grilled these on the BBQ - 2-3 min per side and brushed with butter afterwards. Just wonderful. We will for sure be making 8these again. Made for ZWT 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I don't have much luck when it comes to making naan bread...but I keep persevering as we love them, and haven't found a decent one since moving to Oz.
      I found the dough very easy to make, and all was going well...until it came to cooking them...
      I put this down to user error rather than the recipe, hence why I haven't rated this recipe.
      Practice makes perfect, so I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Original Indian Naan Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.8
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    13%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 47.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1187.2 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh yeast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites