Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oriental Ramen Seasoning Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oriental Ramen Seasoning Copycat

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2008

      This was really good but beware the amount of pepper! I used only 1 Tbsp and even that was too much. By the way, did I miss something or does the recipe state anywhere how much to seasoning to use per serving? I ended up using 1 teaspoon for a standard package of ramen noodles and it came out perfect. I like shrimp ramen so I used a little clam base in the water and I added a few shakes of soy sauce. It was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      I used 1/4 teaspoon of the powders with a dash of pepper for one pack of noodles. I did add a low salt chicken bullion cube, but it had to be less sodium than the little included packet. It tasted very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Love the idea of using no MSG. But... to get the taste I was looking for, I had to add MSG. So, the first time I tried this, I crushed a chicken bouillon cube and sprinkled it in. With that added, it was a spot-on copycat. Which kind of defeats the point, I know. :) But at least I have the option of using as little as I want. Now I usually make my soup by boiling 2 1/4 cups water with 1 bouillon cube (or 1 tsp concentrated chicken stock) and one teaspoon of the seasoning. Then I add a 2 oz block of rice vermicelli noodles. When I eat it, I add extra seasoning to taste, and a few squirts of sriracha sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      I messed up & didn't read the warnings re: amount of pepper. That's why this gets a low rating. BigFatMomma should edit this post & correct the pepper quantity!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      This is great! I halved it and used 1/2 TBLS of white pepper. I also added 1/2 tbls ground mustard and 1/2 tbls of sugar. AWESOME!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Made ramen for the kids, and tried this recipe in lieu of the seasoning packet. The recipe as stated was severely bland, so I took another reviewers advice and added in Chinese Five Spice powder and salt, and still thought it was way too bland. It's definitely lacking the same intensity of flavor that the seasoning packets have, and while this recipe may be healthier (much, much healthier), it needs to at least taste like something.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      The seasoning was good, but I added 1/2 t of Chinese Five Spice Powder and 1/2 t of salt. It seemed more like the Ramen seasoning that way. Like another reviewer said, I used 1 t of the blend to a packet of Ramen and it was great. I did use the basic seasoning blend and made fried rice using cold steamed white rice, soy sauce. a scrambled egg and mixed frozen veggies and it ROCKED!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! I use it for Oriental ramen noodles and add a squirt of soy sauce to the mix. Today, I made it into an Asian seasoning for pork chop gravy. I browned some flattened pork loin chops, deglazed the pan with pork stock and a swig of sesame oil. I mixed in a tablespoon of the mix and a swig of soy sauce plus 2 teaspoons of brown sugar. I added back in the pork chops with a slurry of corn starch and water. This recipe is so versatile!!! (Plus, I get to buy the "chicken" ramen noodles for cheap cheap from Sam's, keep the chicken packet to season other things, and make up the Oriental Ramen Seasoning so I can have my favorite flavor!) Thanks a bunch, BigFatMomma!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I love this seasoning mix! As a matter of fact, I used it last night to make ramen soup. The only change I made was to use 1/2 Tbs of pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Too much pepper AND too much ginger. I read the reviews and added 1/2 the pepper and it was still too spicy. I found a chicken base WITHOUT MSG and added that and it helped, I'll add more of that next time and try again. Kids were bummed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      It was alright, but with the amount of salt you need to add for it to taste good, it depletes the purpose of low sodium. A 1/4 teaspoon of salt is about 600mg and you need to add a lot more to therecipe for it to taste good...you are better off just making ramen with the seasoning they give you :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I like all flavors of the Ramen Noodle Soups. This did not taste at all like the Ramen seasoning to me. I feel like there was something left out of your recipe and directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Great substitute! I like to avoid excess salt too, and this is a wonderful way to help control it for the ramen. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I'm glad to enjoy ramen again without the msg. I'm going to experiment with this recipe for a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oriental Ramen Seasoning Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    87%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 27.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites