Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oriental Mini Meatloaves With Honey Garlic Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oriental Mini Meatloaves With Honey Garlic Sauce

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2003

      I'm giving these a 5 for concept and ease. I have some suggestions for people trying this recipe though... We found these mini-loaves a lil' too salty. I reccommend using lite or low-sodium soya sauce in the meatloaves. I used milk instead of evaporated milk and it comes out fine. Beef substitutes well for the ground turkey/chicken. The crunch of the water chestnuts had to be explained to those at the table (otherwise they didn't know /WHAT/ the crunchy thing was that they were biting into.) The sauce for the loaves was lovely and has possibilities for use in other dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      God bless you for posting a chicken dish that Ron actually ate & wanted 2 nights in a row !! Adorable-looking little baby meatloafs -- came out brown & toasty. Easy & fast preparation. Sauce to die for. Might add a bit of black pepper to the chicken mixture next time. Bless you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I was looking thru Zaar for a quick and easy dinner to make with ground turkey and came upon this wonderful recipe. I didn't have water chestnuts or evaporated milk, so I eliminated them. I also used regular onion instead of green onions. These were filling and satisfying and will be making these again! Thank you for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      My husband and I thought that this recipe was OK, but a little odd. Both the meatloaves themselves as well as the sauce were extremely salty, even though I used low-sodium soy sauce. We used ground chicken. I followed recipe directions exactly, and they were easy to make. Perhaps they might have worked better with ground turkey or maybe ground beef, and with less soy sauce. These looked so good, I'm sorry they didn't work for us. Thanks for sharing, though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      I've done this a few times now and it is our current fave way to have meatloaf. I have done it with ground beef as well as with ground chicken and/or turkey. The water chestnuts are a brilliant addition. I typically use minced yellow onion instead of the green onions, just because that is what I usually have on hand. I sometimes make the sauce, sometimes not. And I don't always make them mini, just do a big loaf and bake for 10 minutes longer. Very easy and tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      This recipe was FABULOUS. I omitted the water chestnuts (not a fan) and went a little heavy on the green onion to compensate. The sauce is really good, and so simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Mixed reviews on this.. I thought they were great. Perhaps because it was not the "norm" for my family (they were expecting traditional meatloaf), they looked at it with reluctance. After I finished making, I looked at the recipe and realized I forgot the chicken bullion, I don't use this anyway, but I can see where it would make them extremely salty! Leave them out altogether & use low sodium soy sauce, I think they'll be a crowd pleaser!
      I didn't make it into mini muffins, rather I combined everything in the food processor (my water chestnuts were whole and I didn't care to chop them up) and placed in a greased 8x8 pan, glazed, covered and baked until done. I did add a bit of ground ginger & black pepper as another reviewer mentioned to the meat & the glaze; to the glaze I added a few drops of sesame oil, decreased the honey a bit. I think that these would make fab appetizers garnished with green onions & sesame seeds with the glaze for dipping on the side!
      It was very moist & flavorful. I will make these again, for a work potluck! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      We really enjoyed this recipie - made it using ground chicken as it was on sale. I made it in meatball shape since I knew the kids would enjoy that and doubled the sauce and used 2 lb meat and more panko than called for. Will make again - thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      This was a very nice change from other ground beef recipes. Substituted celery for water chestnuts as I was out & worked out fine. The sauce is excellent! Everything went together easily and I recommend to experienced and beginning cooks/chefs. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      There were mixed reviews on this one. I really liked these. My husband (who doesn't like meatloaf anyway) didn't like these. My 2 year old happily ate her "muffin," but my 4 year old took a bite and wouldn't eat anymore. I added 1 Tbsp. fresh ground ginger along with 1/4 cup minced cilantro. I thought they both made nice additions. I would agree that these were slightly too salty, so I might lessen the soy sauce if I make these again. Steamed edamame, steamed rice, and mandarin oranges nicely rounded out the meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This was a meal that I made for my Sister for the "freezer" after her daughter was born. They LOVED it! She made it with Asian Rice and a green salad and said it was fabby! The sauce to froze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Thanks for an easy tasty recipe. I made a double batch and I am glad I did. They turned out great and I froze part of them. I followed the recipe, except that I put the Onion and the Water Chestnuts in the food processor and that made it super quick. I also used reduced Sodium Soy Sauce. Also I only had Bouillon Cubes so I just crumbled them up and it worked the same. Oh and I love making them in the muffin tins, I used disposable ones. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

    • on August 16, 2009

      These were super yummy. I used a combination of lean turkey and beef, left out the water chestnuts, and used vidalia onion in place of green onions. I didn't add very much soy sauce since the mixture was getting pretty wet. The meat muffins were very moist and held together perfectly. I was worried the sauce would be too sweet even after I added some hot chili sauce but the sweetness was balanced by the savory meatloaf. Now I just wish I had made more of them! Hmmm... maybe that's what I'll do with the rest of my ground turkey! :) Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

    • on March 05, 2009

      I was surprised at how much I liked this...YUM! Even my pickiest 16 year old son asked if there was anymore of that "amazing" meatloaf. That makes this a winner! Thanks for sharing, we will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      OH MY GOODNESS! Pam you have a winner here. I made this for the 2 of us and it is the biggest hit yet. I did change it just slightly to fit our tastes and what was in the house. Used panko rather then breadcrumbs and low fat sour cream in the place of milk. Rather then green onion I used a yellow, and added just a 1/4 cup of carrots, celery and green peppers. Your sauce is to die for, I will have to double it next time to have leftovers. Pare this with steamed veggies, a salad and maybe french bread if the diet allows. THANK YOU PAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      DH found this recipe because we had some ground turkey to use. We tweaked the recipe a bit, and used less soy sauce in the meatloaves because of salt. We also used grated carrot for crunch instead of water chestnuts (which we didn't have and I don't like). The carrots actually added nice color. We don't usually make sauces for our food but enjoyed this sauce very much! Great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I am so glad I stumbled across this recipe. A very nice change from our usual turkey meatloaf. The sauce on these is great. I think I may also try making a turkey burger variation of this recipe this summer. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      overpowering taste of soy sauce (even with loy sodium), but, the boyfriend loved them, and since he's so picky, i'll make them again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oriental Mini Meatloaves With Honey Garlic Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    30%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 58.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 681.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium instant chicken bouillon granules

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes