Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oriental Curried Rice Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oriental Curried Rice Salad

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2011

      Loved this salad! To reduce the fat I used a scant quarter cup of oil and kept all the other dressing ingredients about the same and it came out great. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Tried this one yesterday. Very happy I did as it was a bigger hit than i thought it would be. My son also liked it warm like another reviewer, and my husband said he would like to try it warm as well, though he loved it cold. Thanks for that, I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      was looking for something different as a side and LOVED this! Made some substitutions though. A few people didn't like celery, so I added chopped red peppers and didn't have celery seed, so just subbed seasoned salt for that and used cider vinegar. Yum! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      DH loved this and thought it deserved more than 5 stars. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Try to remember to make this several hours before you plan to serve it as the flavor deepens and improves the longer it sits. This was very good. Made for ZWT #6 - ZINGO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This salad can be made up in a jiffy. I did not cook the peas as I wanted them to retain their color, used 2 teaspoons of curry, no salt and I used rice vinegar. I used hot curry powder but will use regular next time. Made for the *Zingo* round of *ZWT 6* I am cooking with team *Ya Ya Cookerhood*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Excellent salad. Made exactly as stated. I used cider vinegar. This was perfect for a hot summer dinner meal. Thanks. Made for ZWT6. Voracious Vagabonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Very good salad. I did put in a little bit of raw cauliflower and that tasted nice too. Can see that this could be a quite versatile in your veggie choices. I also used the maximum amount of curry and it was not too spicy for us. Served with Greek Chicken and Veg. Thank you Gayla for sharing. Made for Unrulies Under the Influence for Zingo during ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This is a great salad. Light and refreshing. Love the flavors in the dressing. Thank You. Made for ZWT6 - Zingo. No-Nonsense Nibblers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I swapped the vegies to what I had on hand but made the dressing as per the recipe. I used onion, red pepper and mushrooms as I had no peas. The salad dressing is terrific and the versatility of the recipe makes it a total winner for me. Made and so enjoyed for Zingo ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

    • on May 29, 2010

      I made a half recipe of the salad and a full batch of the dressing. I used sweet curry powder & added extra splenda. After reading the reviews I served this warm temp and was wowed by the flavors. The salad was delightful, sweet, crunchy, tangy, and made a great side dish. The next day I added poached chicken, sliced almonds, and mounded the salad on a bed of spinach drizzling it all with the extra dressing for a main dish salad. I am already looking forward to making this again. Thank you for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT6~ Asia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This worked well for me as a warm side dish. I substituted splenda for the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I made half a batch and for that, I used 1/2 tsp curry powder. I sneaked a spoonful of the finished salad before putting it in the fridge to marinate. "WOW!!!" I took it out of the fridge a little before serving, because I had the feeling I wouldn't like it cold. And, for me, it had gone from "wow!" to "okay". I thought maybe the rice had done an absorbing/disappearing act on the dressing (which had been incredible). My husband experimented with heating it back up, and I thought it was "good" again, but not "wow". I would serve this again, but take it straight to the table after preparation (and I did cool the peas and rice down some in the fridge while I prepared the other ingredients). I think it made an awesome warm dish. Reveiwed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I really enjoyed this it reminds me of Polynesian Salad, just doesn't have the chow mein noodles or the shrimp. I did cut down the curry powder cause I didn't want to over powder the flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      Edited to say that the salad was even better the next day, once the dressing marinated the rice and veggies! *** Wonderful salad - loved loved loved the dressing! Made as is, except I used basmati rice, yellow bell pepper instead of celery and canned peas. This makes quite a filling lunch! Thanks Laffer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      This is a very,very good rice salad. At first I thought the amount of peas was way to much but it is just right for this salad. The dressing has a really nice flavor and is just the right amount for the salad. I used vegetable for this. will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oriental Curried Rice Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.5
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    27%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 404.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites