47 Reviews

This was just packed with flavour. I was licking up the leftover sauce, not a pretty sight but it was so delicious! I used skinless chicken breasts. I didn't bake them first, but just put them in raw, into a casserole dish with the sauce. I then baked the whole lot together for about 50 minutes. I used a heaped teaspoon each of grated fresh ginger and crushed garlic instead of the powders. The chicken was very tender and tasty. I served it over rice with some green beans. I also liked that this recipe uses ingredients that I always have on hand so I will be making this again for sure.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! May 24, 2002

YUMMY, YUMMY!!! It was too hot to turn on the oven, so I used the crockpot. I used about 1 1/2 lbs. of boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into pieces, threw in a bag of frozen oriental mixed vegetables, a can of sliced water chestnuts, and poured the sauce over top. Cooked on high for an hour, then turned it to low for about 2 hours. I did add a little water (about 1/2 c.) and used fresh garlic. I had the meal in the crockpot in about 10 minutes max., cooked some rice...so simple and ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!! The sauce is just out of this world!! Thanks so much Nancy! ~Manda

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda July 10, 2003

I would probably rate this 3 stars on taste, but it earned another star due to the ease of preparation and the fact that one of my kids asked if I would make it again sometime. (My other kids weren't as crazy about it, but thought it was okay.) The chicken was definitely moist and juicy. I used split chicken breasts with the skin on. To me, the sauce was a little salty. It probably would have been better if I'd used a light soy sauce. Overall, it was a quick and easy dinner that I would describe as adult-friendly kid food. (I think it's the processed flavor and saltiness of the tomato soup that makes me think of it that way.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen March 14, 2009

So simple, yet very flavorful. I agree with Dale! - the sauce was so yummy. I subbed the chicken parts for boneless/skinless chicken breas fillets, just over a pound since I'm cooking for just two, but I left the sauce ingred the same amount. I also can't eat dark meat with my IBS (and I don't like it anyway). I served this over white rice and the sauce tasted so good with the rice alone, I was so glad I kept the amts the same. I also served this with green beans on the side. Thanks for posting this, Nancy! I had to add to my previous comments; this recipe kind of got lost in my cookbook, but I hadn't forgotten about it. I made one big change this time. Tomato soup usually has ingredients that my IBS doesn't allow me to digest well, so I subbed tomato sauce instead (about 11 oz), used 2 large boneless/skinless chicken breasts and kept the rest of the ingredients the same, baking chicken and sauce at once for about 50 mins. Still great, still melt-in-your-mouth tender! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage August 16, 2007

A very simple and yummy chicken recipe! I followed the recipe exactly the first time and used the crockpot the second time. Both were good but I prefer the oven method. The sauce is great over rice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Wood September 13, 2003

This was delicious. I followed Dale's advice and poured the sauce over the raw chicken and baked for 50 minutes. We all loved the tangy sauce - I used a bit more soy sauce and garlic powder. Thanks for posting. I will definitely make this again as I know I will always have all the ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mermaid September 03, 2003

Thanks for a really easy and tasty recipe Nancy. I made this at work this morning, with 4kg of skinless chicken thighs and 3 times the sauce-it was a real hit. I think I will make it again through the week for the people who missed it today!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 13, 2002

This dish was great. My family loved it. If was so easy to make and so flavorful. The only thing I would add next time (per request) is a spicy element like cayenne or tobacco.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbyalex9 December 29, 2013

I would have rated this 3 stars personally, but my kids asked for seconds, so I'm adding an extra star. We served this over white rice and my kids LOVED the sauce. I agree with another reviewer that said it was very ketchup-y tasting. I may make it again for the kiddos sometime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever May 27, 2012

This was okay. The sauce wasn't quite what I was expecting, but I served it over rice and everyone liked it okay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bullscreeker October 26, 2009
Oriental Baked Chicken