Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oriental Baked Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oriental Baked Chicken

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2002

      This was just packed with flavour. I was licking up the leftover sauce, not a pretty sight but it was so delicious! I used skinless chicken breasts. I didn't bake them first, but just put them in raw, into a casserole dish with the sauce. I then baked the whole lot together for about 50 minutes. I used a heaped teaspoon each of grated fresh ginger and crushed garlic instead of the powders. The chicken was very tender and tasty. I served it over rice with some green beans. I also liked that this recipe uses ingredients that I always have on hand so I will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      YUMMY, YUMMY!!! It was too hot to turn on the oven, so I used the crockpot. I used about 1 1/2 lbs. of boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into pieces, threw in a bag of frozen oriental mixed vegetables, a can of sliced water chestnuts, and poured the sauce over top. Cooked on high for an hour, then turned it to low for about 2 hours. I did add a little water (about 1/2 c.) and used fresh garlic. I had the meal in the crockpot in about 10 minutes max., cooked some rice...so simple and ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!! The sauce is just out of this world!! Thanks so much Nancy! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I would probably rate this 3 stars on taste, but it earned another star due to the ease of preparation and the fact that one of my kids asked if I would make it again sometime. (My other kids weren't as crazy about it, but thought it was okay.) The chicken was definitely moist and juicy. I used split chicken breasts with the skin on. To me, the sauce was a little salty. It probably would have been better if I'd used a light soy sauce. Overall, it was a quick and easy dinner that I would describe as adult-friendly kid food. (I think it's the processed flavor and saltiness of the tomato soup that makes me think of it that way.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      So simple, yet very flavorful. I agree with Dale! - the sauce was so yummy. I subbed the chicken parts for boneless/skinless chicken breas fillets, just over a pound since I'm cooking for just two, but I left the sauce ingred the same amount. I also can't eat dark meat with my IBS (and I don't like it anyway). I served this over white rice and the sauce tasted so good with the rice alone, I was so glad I kept the amts the same. I also served this with green beans on the side. Thanks for posting this, Nancy! I had to add to my previous comments; this recipe kind of got lost in my cookbook, but I hadn't forgotten about it. I made one big change this time. Tomato soup usually has ingredients that my IBS doesn't allow me to digest well, so I subbed tomato sauce instead (about 11 oz), used 2 large boneless/skinless chicken breasts and kept the rest of the ingredients the same, baking chicken and sauce at once for about 50 mins. Still great, still melt-in-your-mouth tender! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      A very simple and yummy chicken recipe! I followed the recipe exactly the first time and used the crockpot the second time. Both were good but I prefer the oven method. The sauce is great over rice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      This was delicious. I followed Dale's advice and poured the sauce over the raw chicken and baked for 50 minutes. We all loved the tangy sauce - I used a bit more soy sauce and garlic powder. Thanks for posting. I will definitely make this again as I know I will always have all the ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Thanks for a really easy and tasty recipe Nancy. I made this at work this morning, with 4kg of skinless chicken thighs and 3 times the sauce-it was a real hit. I think I will make it again through the week for the people who missed it today!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      This dish was great. My family loved it. If was so easy to make and so flavorful. The only thing I would add next time (per request) is a spicy element like cayenne or tobacco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      I would have rated this 3 stars personally, but my kids asked for seconds, so I'm adding an extra star. We served this over white rice and my kids LOVED the sauce. I agree with another reviewer that said it was very ketchup-y tasting. I may make it again for the kiddos sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This was okay. The sauce wasn't quite what I was expecting, but I served it over rice and everyone liked it okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This was a great recipe, great flavor YUMMY dish. I used fresh ginger and garlic. I baked the chicken first as directed and added the sauce. The chicken came out tender and juicy. I served with spinach salad and Oven Baked Parmesan Potatoes Oven Baked Parmesan Potatoes. Thanks for a yummy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Pretty good. I put this together and refrigerated overnight, so it really gave the chicken a good flavor, I used boneless chicken breasts and they stayed very moist. My 4yo dd couldn't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Made this last night and it was fantastic! Being the dummy I am, I forgot the brown sugar. It was great anyways. Used alot of fresh garlic. Served with sesame oil/garlic fresh green beans over rice! Cant wait to make again and remember the brown sugar. A real winner in our book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Loved it! I only used one pound of chicken tenders, so we had plenty of delicious sauce. If I did the full two pounds of chicken, I'd probably double the sauce- but that's personal preference. I served this with rice, spring mix veggies, and pineapple chunks. My husband and 4 year-old both enjoyed it, too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Good recipe, although it tasted a bit too much like ketchup for my taste (I have a very strong aversion to ketchup). I would certainly recommend other people trying it, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      What a great way to spruce up a boring tin of tomato soup. I used 8 chicken drumsticks and fresh garlic and reduced the cooking time to 50 minutes. I served it with rice & broccoli, the yummy sauce really soaked into the rice. I also sprinkled sesame seeds and shallots on top when serving, i'll be making this again, thanx for posting Nancy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

    • on March 09, 2007

      What a nice, quick, tasty sauce for chicken. I prepared this sauce to bake chicken legs, and they were moist and tender. The sauce was yummy served over rice too. I will use this recipe again, it now has a regular spot in my cookbook. Thanks Nancy for adding another special taste to my meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      I had high hopes for this recipe with so many rave reviews. I must admit that I used boneless breasts though to cut down on the fat so the chicken didn't have the flavour from the pre-roasting. Made like this it was very ordinary, the chicken itself was tasteless and the sauce needed extra zest - and I am not a lover of spicy food. Sorry :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      This turned out great...had some boneless breasts and thighes and did not know what to do with them...this recipe was perfect...ingredients I had on hand...I baked 50 minutes and it turned out great...will make over and over I am sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oriental Baked Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 559.0
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    44%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 176.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 962.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 56.8 g
    113%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites