Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oreo Turkeys (Thanksgiving Snack) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oreo Turkeys (Thanksgiving Snack)

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2010

      Had to make them without double stuff Oreos, but they worked great anyway. Kids had lots of fun!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Too cute! I couldn't resist! I made these to take w/ me to DS's for my grandsons. I used a couple of ideas from a similar recipe for this turkey, subbing Rollo's for the mini peanut butter cups b/c of a grandson's peanut allergy. I split one Oreo double stuff and, after putting in the candy corn tail feathers, sat the "tail" firmly into the white filling of the split cookie. I dabbed a bit of chocolate frosting onto the bottom and one side of the Rollo and "glued" it to the "tail" and the white "snow-covered" ground. "Glued" the malted milk ball onto the Rollo. I noticed that some of the candy corn didn't have the white tip so I broke of the orange tips for the "beaks"... which I "glued" on w/ the frosting. By this time the turkeys were starting to get some personality! I used yellow gel to make "feet" on the "snow" under the turkeys. I used red decorating gel to make the "snoods" and "wattles" across the "beak" and hanging down one side. I used blue decorating gel to make "eye"... too cute. The blue didn't show up as blue b/c of the dark background of the malted milk ball... but they're great! My DD who dropped by w/ my granddaughters LOVED them and I had to send two home for the girls. I'm sure they're going to be a HUGE hit when I get to my son's house for Thanksgiving! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Absolutely adorable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      This was something fun to do. The only thing was everywhere I went was sold out of candy corn so used reeses pieces m&m. They looked just as cute and fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      These are adorable and simple enough for our 4-year old granddaughter to make, and enough fun for the 8 and 11 yr olds, too. IMPORTANT TIP! If you are planning to make these for Thanksgiving, BUY THE CANDY CORN AT HALLOWEEN. Two weeks before Thanksgiving I have searched in 8 different stores for candy corn -- no luck. Grocery stores and drug stores do not stock this candy once Halloween is over. Lucky me, I was able to finally score some candy corn at a local restaurant whose initals begin with CB and they have an old-fashioned gift shop attached to the restaurant. The candy corn was on close-out, but at least I found some! My advice to everyone is PLAN AHEAD to purchase the candy corn in October if you want to make these in November! So cute and fun to make....5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      This is very late I know. These were a big hit at Thanksgiving. I did have to use some extra frosting to keep the turkey standing, and the feathers in, but it was alot of fun. I also added the peanut butter cups for the body of the turkey. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      My 13 year old son and I made some of these tonight. I couldn't find candy corn so we used peanut halves. They were still cute just not as colorful! We're going to make some more for Thanksgiving as the ones we made tonight all got eaten!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      We have snack day in my kinder's class the day before TG vaca, and when I saw this, my search was over! I LOVED the look & ease for 20+ kids. I chose the *golden* double stuf Oreos & feel it looks cleaner than the choc-no dark crumbs on the 'stuf'. Good advice on getting x-tra cookies, b/c they either break or are already broken. BTW-Save the lids to smash w/ butter for a dessert crust-I hate to throw away a perfectly good cookie! I used malted milk balls for the head & made the eyes w/ a dot of store-bought white cream ch. frosting & stuck a red jimmie or sprinkle (ya know the colored things for ice cream). A tooth-pick helped place it in the center of the frosting dot. I dotted the licorice w/ frosting to stick it under the malted milk ball head. I love the realistic look of the mini-Reeces cup, but think the round heads are cuter for the kiddies-I tried both. Super-duper easy for a non-baker like me! My kinder (and hubby) loved them & I can't WAIT til Tuesday to present it to the class. Great, fabulous idea. More like crafting than cooking & I really enjoyed creating these lil gobblers! I submitted a pic of my first so you could see the golden cookies, too. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      When we arrived for Thanksgiving our 4 yr old grandson proudly led us to the table to show us the turkeys he made for each place setting. His mom also made 25 turkeys for daycare with his help. It is a very kid friendly recipe & he was thrilled with the results. As you can see in my photo she added a small Reese's cup for the body. I was delighted to see your recipe printed out & you a part of our holiday. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I have to give you 5 stars for cuteness alone! Too bad I didn't see these for the class project for my daughters at thanksgiving time. I am printing it out to pass on to their teachers for next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      These were a huge hit and SO easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I am not sure what happened in my house, but I could not get these to stick together. I bought store brand double stuff oreos, and maybe that was it. They fell apart; and I needed to transport. Next time I will try them with original oreos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      I saw these in Woman's Day or Family Circle a couple of years ago. We made ours with the same ingredients but added red hots for feet and mini M&M's for eye. The kids loved them. The ingredients for this are pretty high but a good activity for about 30 minutes. My 2 1/2 year old needed help but my older kids did just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      These are ADoRabLe!!! they were a big hit at my house these year! my uncle kept insisting on where we bought them cause he didnt believe i made em! haha!! it was very difficult eating them though cuz they were tooooooo KUTE!!! :D:D:D! these'll be coming back every single thanksgiving!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      These were so cute and festive on our Thanksgiving dinner table. Everyone thought it was my idea and I didn't say it wasn't. :oops:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      They went over very well with the young crowd, but I couldn't get the recipe to look like the pictures. How did you get the eyes and woddles? Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      My kids had a blast making these fun festive cookies. All our guests were impressed. However, we couldn't figure out how to make the eyes shown on the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      My family loved these, we had lots of fun in making them and eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Great fun in the making and the eating. Our turkeys had an unfortunate tendency to fall apart, which kept the kids busy keeping the turkeys intact, or eating the victims. Fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Absolutely a hit. They were great fun for all of us to make & really nice on the Thanksgiving table. All the guests were amused by them. A few were eaten and a few went home with guests and I am sure many more will be made in the future -- thanks for the fun

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oreo Turkeys (Thanksgiving Snack)

    Serving Size: 1 (2026 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.2
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    44%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 91.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    malted milk balls

    candy corn

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes