17 Reviews

delicious!!!! i added about 1/2 cup of cream, and my cake was nice and moist. my only complaint: 1 cup of oreos is way to little!!!!! next time i'll add more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlöxölA June 13, 2009

Made this cake for my son's birthday yesterday. Followed the advice of the other reviews and added a half cup of 1/2 & 1/2 as well as instant vanilla pudding AND the extra 1/2 cup of oreos. Turned out beautifully except that I overcooked it a tad. Next time I will stick to the one hour bake time and not worry about the clean knife test.
I also frosted with simple chocolate ganache instead of the ready made frosting.
Everyone loved this cake - I will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katinacook April 24, 2011

I bet this is a delicious cake made from scratch, but I didn't have the time, so I used the Betty Crocker white cake mix with 1 cup coursely broken oreos and followed the advice of adding half and half. I also found Oreo dry pudding mix that I added - I used about 2/3 cup of half and half, and it came out super deee-lish. Needed to bake it a bit longer, but it is moist and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EnajB January 02, 2011

This was a good recipe for sure!!! I made my own cream cheese frosting to go on top (thinking about using store bought frosting gives me the shakes), and I also added the half and half. I still thought it was super dense and a little on the dry side. Next time, I would probably add more half and half or experiment with pudding. I also baked it in a bundt pan. It was prettier. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy but capable August 26, 2010

It is SOOO good, we might make it for my dad's b-day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geneveive May 14, 2010

I have made this cake several times and everyone has enjoyed it. I added the extra 1/2 cup of half and half and extra oreos like the suggestions, and it has turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baseball Taxi April 25, 2010

Very good cake, everybody loved it. I made it in a spring form pan rather than a loaf pan. I think it would have been a little better if I had added the cream like others suggested. I used ready-made icing (ick) but used even more crushed oreos as topping, which redeemed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lurcher October 13, 2009

This was a brilliant cake. Easy to make (though I advise thorough mixing) and tastes fabulous. I used 5 medium eggs which worked brilliantly, and it still tasted good/had good consistency with Vitalite (marg) instead of the no substitution butter. The malty taste of the oreos means it isn't as sweet as I was worried it would be. Very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillsybean August 03, 2009

This is a temporary rating because I have never actually tasted this cake. I made it to give to a coworker a couple of months ago and he and his whole family have not stopped complimenting me since! I've made it several times, but always to give away. Finally this weekend my coworker is coming over for a BBQ (he's drawn by the cake!) and I'm going to get to taste this recipe. I do make my own frosting because Betty Crocker is not readily available in France: I mix equal parts of ricotta & mascarpone with a bit of sugar, vanilla extract and crushed oreos. The mascarpone/ricotta mix is my sub for cream cheese and my favorite base for cheesecakes. See you soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefEmma June 16, 2009
Oreo Pound Cake or Cookies N Cream Pound Cake or the Cake That I