Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oreo Cookie Turkeys Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oreo Cookie Turkeys

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2010

      These are TOO adorable... I can't wait to show the kids at Thanksgiving tomorrow! I took a step from the other Oreo Turkey recipe on this site and removed the top layer of the base Oreo to expose the filling. I think it looks better this way, and it's easier to stand the vertical Oreo up because you can push it down into the filling. However, you do still need to cement it with icing on the back or it will fall over. I also cemented the candy corns on with icing as those kept falling out as well. I found that laying the bird on his back to attach the body, head, and beak worked well as gravity kept them in place while the icing dried. I used the yellow part of the candy corn to make the feet. I didn't bother with the wattle as I was afraid I'd mess it up and it was pretty obvious that it was a turkey so I didn't feel it was needed. I arranged them on a bed of left-over Fiber One cereal with some pumpkins from Recipe 146641.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Fantastic! These are so cute. I paired them with Cheese Pumpkins to make a cute little pumpkin patch full of turkeys for the buffet table. Everyone enjoyed both the appearance and the flavor. I used the double stuffs, and it was easy to get the candy corn in. Instead of frosting, which I always have trouble using up when I buy it for a small project like this, I used melted chocolate bark (for candy-making) and melted white chocolate chips. These worked great for "gluing" the candy and cookie parts together. Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Too cute! I couldn't resist! I made these to take w/ me to DS's for my grandsons. I had to make one adjustment: I subbed Rollo's for the mini peanut butter cups b/c of a grandson's peanut allergy. I split one Oreo double stuff and, after putting in the candy corn tail feathers, sat the "tail" firmly into the white filling of the split cookie. I dabbed a bit of chocolate frosting onto the bottom and one side of the Rollo and "glued" it to the "tail" and the white "snow-covered" ground. "Glued" the malted milk ball onto the Rollo. I noticed that some of the candy corn didn't have the white tip so I broke of the orange tips for the "beaks"... which I "glued" on w/ the frosting. By this time the turkeys were starting to get some personality! I used yellow gel to make "feet" on the "snow" under the turkeys. I used red decorating gel to make the "snoods" and "wattles" across the "beak" and hanging down one side. I used blue decorating gel to make "eye"... too cute. The blue didn't show up as blue b/c of the dark background of the malted milk ball... but they're great! My DD who dropped by w/ my granddaughters LOVED them and I had to send two home for the girls. I'm sure they're going to be a HUGE hit when I get to my son's house for Thanksgiving! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      I lovvvvve cute food! Instead of frosting, I "glued" with melted semisweet choc chips. Dries harder than frosting! Also, I used butterscotch chips for the beaks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      Very cute additions for each place setting at my Thanksgiving table. Everyone loved the novelty. I used double stuff oreos and just stuck the candy corn into the filling instead of messing with separating the cookies and using additional frosting. These came together pretty quickly and were quite easy. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      Cute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      tried this for grandkids this past Thanksgiving they loved them and the were easy to make<br/><br/>i will make them again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      Love these....newphews really liked them. I used the melting chocolate wafers to put them together as the frosting just wasn't hardening like I wanted. It worked great! They were fun to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      kids love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      These turned out great! And I don't typically make creative treats like this! After doing a bunch of them though, I think I found the best way to do this with less hassle. This is what worked best for me.

      I first of all put the resee's cups and whoppers in the freezer. I found they melt quickly when you are handling them so putting them in the freezer delayed that process a bit. Also, I couldn't find candy corn and read reviews of how they were difficult to keep attached so I used Mike & Ike candy. The colors were perfect and I was able to use the orange ones for the feet and beak. Also, I cut them in half long ways for the feathers and they stuck right into the oreo without having to use frosting to hold them in place. Anyway, first I took a whole oreo and stuck in the "feathers". Then I put cookie icing (I used white Betty Crocker that hardens quickly) on top of the resee's cup and stuck it to the oreo with the feathers in it. Then I took a whopper and put two small dabs of frosting (I used white) and then used the little nonpareil balls for the eye colors. Then I cut the orange mike & ike into a beak and used frosting to attach. They are already a bit sticky so that helped out too. I put some frosting where the head should be placed and stuck the whopper to it. After letting that sit for a couple minutes to harden, I then took an oreo and removed one cookie to expose the icing. I put a line of frosting on it and stuck the other cookie I had put together on top of it. I then cut another orange Mike & Ike and made the feet.

      This process worked well for me. I used the photo for this recipe as a guide but found the directions were not the way that worked very well for me. I hope this helps. I had no problem with things falling apart. I posted a picture of the final product on here. Its pretty easy to tell which one it is since mine obviously don't have candy corns used. I put them in a dish that I lined with brown sugar for presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      How awsome! My grandkids had a wonderful time assembling these. They did a center piece which consisted of a tray of Cocoa Puffs to set the turkeys on display. It was so cute! They will remember this for years to come. Thanks for the recipe and ideas! Please post more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      These were a HIT! We got small 4" pie tins and turned them face down and built our turkeys on these so they were on a silver platform! We too, took the top layer cookie off so the base had the white filling exposed. From there we cemented the vertical Oreo on with the icing. One suggestion is to be sure you have the orange candy corn ahead of time. It was kind of hard to find after Halloween. We first used brown candy corn which was crumbly and fell apart easily. We finally located the orange and these worked fine. The brown ones that did work were a whole different look. We had fun mixing it up and had 4 varieties of turkeys. We made icing eyes and used Christmas candy corn to make the wattles and the beaks. I gave these out to friends and with a grin told them "We were making these turkeys last night and we thought about you!"
      We will definitely make these again. They made a wonderful dessert table display!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Really cute Pam. I am not sure what we did wrong but gravity took over with all the candy decorations and we could not even get one that would stick together. My son and husband tried a pass at it then I thought they were just being men, so since I decorate cakes professionally thought it would be a snap, but I didn't have any luck. I wish I could get them to stick. I tried decorator frosting and spreadable cake frosting neither worked to hold the candies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Found these to be EXTREMELY time consuming to make and not near as easy to make as inplied. Picture did not match instructions. Eyes and waddle difficult to create. Been working on these for 1 1/2 hrs and only have 6 done. Cute idea tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      Very cute cookies! I bought candy "eyes" since I couldn't make them look good. I made these for my sister's kindergarten's Thanksgiving party, and I know they will love them. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      What an adorable idea...hats off to Pam-I-Am for her creation! I intend to pass this on to my daughter. She's a Girl Scout Brownie leader. I know she'd love to have her group make them. What fun!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I am not much into sweets but this is so darn adorable and cretive that I'm very excited to bring it as an activity for this year's Thanksgiving meal for the kiddos. I'm sure it'll be a huge hit. Thank you so much for sharing and happy Gobble-Gobble day everyone!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      Love this, sooo easy for kiddos! Thank you Great Idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      These are too adorable. I wish I had found this at Halloween so I could hoard some candy corn! I will be making these next year with my granddaughter for sure. Thanks for the creativity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      These have become a Thanksgiving tradition in our home. You need to remember to buy the candy corn in October though, I've never been able to find it after that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oreo Cookie Turkeys

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.2
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    43%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 150.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 26.6 g
    106%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    malted milk balls

    candy corn

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites