358 Reviews

I make these for every holiday! Just use different colored chocolate wafers and a contrasting color drizzled on top! They are a huge hit every time. Also, use a food processor to crush oreos, then mix with cream cheese in mixer bowl. No fuss at all!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karajeboo730 December 07, 2010

I love these I was doing them for a demonstration for 4-h and i found that if you blend the oreos and cream cheese together in a food processor it works better and if you drop the ball in the chocolate and get it with a spoon it works better

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
violinplayer December 01, 2010

This recipe is a classic. Smiles and compliments are guaranteed ! It is a little messy and a bit of a hassle so defiantly make them the day before if you are planning to have them for a party. They do freeze well for a few days. I like to serve them right out of the freezer. I also try to make the balls smaller than walnut size because they are super rich. Thanks for posting this !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shannon N. November 21, 2010

I used Double stuffed it deff. made them a little more delious But it's deff. a great recipe Husband and in laws loved them soo much! I also put a little parifin wax in to the chocolate so it wouldn't get soft... but it's a must do recipe! especially for parties! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwigoddess December 31, 2009

These were easy to make!! I had put the crushed oreos and the cream cheese in the microwave for about 30 secs so the cream cheese can melt a bit (easier for mixing the 2 together). I found that the mixer nor blender works really good when combining them.a good old spoon or your hands works better actually. After the "dough" was made, I put it in the freezer for about 5 mins so it can harder (makes it easier to shape the balls). Put them back into the freezer after the balls were formed..makes for easier dipping into the melted chocolate. Overall, it was a great end product! I will be making these again that's for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marbars December 28, 2009

These are awesome. Took to a big Christmas party and they were the first thing on the table to go entirely. Lots of people asked for the recipe. TIP: It's very difficult to mix the cream cheese and the crushed oreos. I tried the hand mixer first: disaster. Next I tried the blender: not much of an improvement. Then I put it all in a medium-large bowl, put some disposable gloves on and used my hands to roll it all together: perfect! TIP 2: I couldn't find mint creme oreos, so instead I bought some peppermint patties (Russell Stover), melted four in a bowl then worked them into the oreo-cream cheese mix and it turned out perfect. You can add the patties to taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmsfoodfreak December 27, 2009

Just finished making a batch of these for a holiday party. I better make another before I clean up this mess. They are very rich so I will make them smaller. Maybe use a melon baller size instead of a 1 inch cookie scoop. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenkittie December 22, 2009

YUMMY! When I put the whole package of Oreos in my Vitamix, it kept clogging. It worked best with half of a package. Then I took them out and crushed the other half. I mixed the Oreos with the cream cheese by hand. Worked much better for me. Then I scooped them out with a teaspoon scoop. It made 50. After they were dipped in chocolate, I put a few crushed candy canes on top for a festive look. YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sisty Gin December 10, 2011

I can't believe I've never reviewed these. Everytime I make them they disappear. I make mine smaller only because they're so rich. I agree with others that it's best to crush the oreos either with a rolling pin or food processor, then mix with a mixer. I found using two toothpicks is the easiest way to get them covered with chocolate and then pulled out of the chocolate. They turn out so pretty. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 10, 2011

I actually haven't made these yet but my future daughter in law made them for turkey day and they were wonderful! I didn't think the were to rich maybe that's because she did the same recipe but added 1Tbs. of creamy peanut butter and 1Tbs powder sugar. After dipping them in white chocolate she dusted them with some of the oreo crumbs. She did some with just a drizzle no dipping. My husband who hasn't be eating sweets much just loved them. He thought they were made with brownies. They were a big hit and went fast. I have seen a lot of variations for this recipe. You can try adding flavorings like orange, mint etc. which I plan on trying this x-mas as well as an orange ball made with vanilla wafers that I found on this site. when I do review on it to follow. also people are saying they are expensive to make. I usually get my oreo's for 2 for 5 bucks or 2.99 which isn't bad. they also have a store brand with Chocolate centers which would be interesting to try. Yummy Stuff!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VanDyck November 30, 2011
Oreo Balls