357 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made these many times. They are awesome and easy! I am a coffee addict and often add a tablespoon (or more) of finely ground coffee grounds. I have also made these with vanilla sandwich cookies and a tablespoon of cinnamon. Great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HumanCannonball November 29, 2011

I made these just to have something sweet to snack on whenver and they were wonderful! I used fat free oreos and fat free cream cheese and the were perfect for me! Not too rich this way!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texastornado22 January 28, 2010

This recipe is amazing! I made a batch with regular oreos and cream cheese and also made a batch with golden oreos and strawberry cream cheese dipped in white chocolate--these were my favorite!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraholson9 October 18, 2011

I used a food processor to crush the oreos and a hand mixer to mix in the cream cheese (8 oz for a normal sized batch). The only difficulty I had was melting the chocolate. I used white chocolate and could not for the life of me get it to liquify. Double broiler and microwave - FAIL. Until I added 1 tablespoon on Crisco (vegetable shortening). That is key! I was easily able to liquify it in the microwave. Cook 30 seconds stir and repeat.
*****Any tips on how to drizzle the decorative chocolate would be appreciated. I attemped to drizzle it off a spoon and it would come off in globs.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristy9188 June 16, 2011

I made these for an upcoming baby shower at work. I made as directed except I used peppermint Oreo cookies. I also put a candy cane in the food processor and ground it until fine. The red and white blend into a pink. After I dipped the Oreo balls in white chocolate, I sprinkled them with the candy cane powder. I will update my review after the shower and let you know what everyone thought. They look so good, it will be hard to resist them until then!
Updating as promised. These were a hit at the shower. I would give them five stars based on taste alone, but deducted a star because they were so time consuming to make.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 31, 2011

I made these for a birthday gift, and everyone loved them. They are intensely sweet, so it's easy to be satisfied with just a couple. I made them in the food processor, coated them with chocolate bark, and drizzled them with white baker's chocolate. They looked impressive presented in paper mini-baking cups.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle March 22, 2011

Absolutely wonderful. Helpful hints- 1) use a food processor to make the cookie crumbs 2) I used a kitchen aid blender to blend the cream cheese and Oreo crumbs together. As far as dipping there's many ways so I won't go into much detail there.

I make these all the time year round. They're an absolute smash at all kinds of events. Yes they are a little time consuming but totally worth it. I'll just put on my black under armor sweatshirt and sweatpants and go to town and can have an adequate amount made in seemingly no time at all. Oh wear black because sometimes they can get a tad messy if you use the regular oreos.

Overall if you have an hour and a refrigerator go for it. I sometimes add the chocolate drizzle but not always. You can go for the healthier alternatives but I usually go for the regular old ingredients, I think they taste better that way but that's just my opinion.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fat teen December 30, 2010

OMG these were sinful. I made them for our Christmas Eve party and everyone was raving about them. My 9yr old daughter kept saying it didn't look like I made them, that instead they looked like I bought them at a candy shop. My best friend has already requested I make these for her birthday in June. I don't have a food processor so I used my blender to chop the cookies and then mixed the cookies in a bowl with the cream cheese with a hand mixer. I made them a few days before xmas and froze them...just popped them out right before I served the desserts. Definitely a lot of work in my opinion but well worth the smiling faces of my guests.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sueboo31 December 28, 2010

Made these last year just as written and everyone loved them!! The dough is a little sticky so putting in the fridge works well. This year I changed the cookies to the Peanut Nutterbutter Cookies. Still used a full package of cookies and a full package of cream cheese. Used a food processor just like last year. These turned out super yummy again!! Thanks for such a super easy recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Mom 28 December 18, 2010

Messy and time consuming but everyone says they are delicious. And they look beautiful. I had a hard time mixing the oreo crumbs and the cream cheese together. Then I discovered that I should put the oreos in a food processor to grind them up fine. Then I put them in a mixing bowl and used a hand mixer to mix in the cream cheese. That worked better. I couldnt find almond bark so I tried white coholate chiips melted. That did not work. So I went on a wild goose chase and finally found almond bark in Walmart. That worked much better. Dipping them was a pain and they kind of crumbled little bits into the liquid almond bark. They looked very pretty but to me this was a whole lot of work.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpr711 December 14, 2010
Oreo Balls