355 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe tastes great but from my experience, these don't turn out well with a hand mixer. The easiest (and least messy!) way is to simply toss the cookies in a blender and chop... once they're a crumb-like consistency, then add the cream cheese and use the hand mixer in a large bowl so they're smooth. This way, they roll into a nice round ball without the big cookie chunks the hand mixer cannot crush. Enjoy! (:

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starlitkris August 09, 2010

Soaked Whole Maraschino Cherries in alcohol for 2 to 3 hours. Draind them on paper towel and than covered with Oreo Mix. Everyone loved them.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tooltime November 26, 2011

Absolutely a 5-star winner and so easy! I took another reviewer's advice and put the Oreos into the blender on "chop" until they were the crumb consistency I wanted. I then used my KitchenAid mixer to blend the crumbs and cream cheese, used a cookie/melon baller to make perfect round balls, and set them all in the freezer til solid. I had no problem dipping them into the melted almond bark and still keeping them in perfect form. It didn't take long to thaw out and everyone loved them, even with using Reduced Fat Oreos and 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese.

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick December 07, 2010

Guess what? These FREEZE beautifully! If you can make yourself stop eating them on the way to the freezer! Stored in a Ziploc bag for 1 month, and they were great! A holiday regular from now on!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn November 30, 2010

These are sooo easy and yummy!! I've made these for many occasions. The latest one being Halloween where I dipped them into white chocolate and used Life Saver gummies as irises, upside chocolate chips as pupils and red food coloring for "veins". Make for a scary treat that everyone LOVES! (see the picture I posted.) I also recommend taking out the cream centers first and mixing with the cream cheese then adding the finely crushed cookies. Seems to make for a smoother ball to dip.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smylie2222 November 13, 2011

These are always a hit at any function! The last time I made them, I used peanut butter oreo cookies, dipped them in the white chocolate and then drizzled them with melted peanut butter chips! This variation was absolutely yummy and just as big a hit as the original!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Le Cafe' June 03, 2010

What a great dessert! I made these for a pampered chef party, and they were a big hit. Several people asked for the recipe. They were very simple to make, and looked great on the table. I put them in the freezer for about 15 minutes instead of refrigerating them, and found that made them easier to dip. I cant wait to try this with different flavored oreos!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a.gisondi January 19, 2010

Wowza! These were GONE in no time flat! I split the recipe and used half Golden Oreos (covering them in the brown chocolate) and half Regular Oreos (covering them in the white chocolate). What an amazing recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene December 30, 2009

Awesome EASY recipe that looks so professional. These are just perfect for making ahead of time and giving to co-workers, friends or family. I also tried them with Mint Oreos and they were an even bigger hit than the regular! Thanks for posting this.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElatedMom January 04, 2010

What is NOT to like about these?!! I was a little confused about the amount of cream cheese, but added an 8 oz. package and think it was the right proportion. I also flattened the balls a little so they were more like a small cookie. Excellent!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna January 24, 2003
Oreo Balls