8 Reviews

I love Rachel Ray and her recipes. For the greens I used a salad blend. The sharp cheddar adds a wonderful contrast to the sweetness of the fruit. I had some leftover dressing and made a version of this salad the next day adding in candied pecans and craisins. Delicious. Made for Zaar Stars in Cooking Games with Friends.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 23, 2011

Delicious salad with a very satisfying combo of fruit & cheese! Nicely refreshing on a warm day! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 28, 2011

Yum! I really enjoyed this easy, fresh salad. I had probably eaten 1/2 of it before I realized that my sliced cheddar was still sitting on the cutting board! Oh well, it was very nice. Thanks Sharon. Made for ZWT7 for the Emerald City Shakers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 23, 2011

I made this salad for hubby tonight and he licked the bowl clean - for real - OK, so he didn't lick it but there was nothing left in that bowl. I asked him if it was good and he said "yeah". And I asked if I should make it again and he said, "yeah, it's good". So we have a keeper of a salad recipe here which is saying a lot coming from my spoiled foodie of a hubby! Good one Sharon! Made for ZWT7 Team Emerald Shakers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 22, 2011

This was a simple to prepare and very fresh and yummy. Prepared for ZWT 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser June 15, 2011

This was very refreshing. We enjoyed this salad very much. The sharp cheese is complimented by the sweet apple and the crisp pear and mellowed by the dressing;which I made exactly as stated, it was wonderful, fruity and tangy. I seasoned the finished salad with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. Thanks for sharing another winner Sharon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 05, 2007

Very good salad which we enjoyed. I made a few subsitutuions based on what I had on hand by using apple juice (instead of cider), sherry vinegar (instead of cider vinegar) and safflower oil (instead of olive oil) and a bit less cheese. Although we had this for supper I think this will be perfect for lunch with maybe a bit of chicken thrown in or the whole amount of cheese listed. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 14, 2005

this was very tasty. the crisp apples and pears are complimented by the dressing and contrast with the sharp cheddar.i only used a pinch of sugar in the dressing as the cider adds sweetness. this is a perfect autumn dish

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia October 25, 2003
Orchard Salad