Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange You Glad You Made This Roasted Chicken? Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange You Glad You Made This Roasted Chicken?

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2009

      Sauce was awesome, but chicken was only pretty good. With all the great ingredients, was expecting much better - I put it together using all fresh ingredients, covered it and refrigerated for 2 hours - it cooked up really nice and pretty and was really moist, but next time I will put the fresh herbs under the skin and put the whole chicken in a large baggie and pour the mixture of the fresh orange juice with apricots and Grand Mariner over the whole chicken and marinate for at least 2 hours. I will save the marinate liquid and boil it and then add the juices from the baked chicken like you suggested. I did not add the brown sugar. I used corn starch instead of flour to thicken the final sauce. Thanks NcMysteryShopper for a good chicken and a great starting place. I am going to try this on a pork tenderloin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Sorry, this one just didn't do it for me. Not that it was a bad recipe, I just realized I'm not a citrus/sweet sauce person. I did as others suggested and only used 1 T of brown sugar and it was still really sweet. The chicken did turn out very moist. One tip, if you get a chicken that is over 4lbs, make sure you allow extra roasting time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Delicious! Tender juicy meat in 1.5 hours, great flavor. Easy to make. I threw some carrots in the pan for the last half hour, the gravy went very well with the carrots. The gravy was just a touch too sweet for me, my boyfriend loved it as is. Next time I think I will only use 1 Tbsp of sugar. And yes, there will be a next time, hopefully soon:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Excellent chicken and enjoyed by all family members. I did use freshly squeezed juice and Grand Marnier but it's the apricot that made the sauce that made the chicken! TFS. Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Very good! This is basically a roasted chicken, with a very nice orange/apricot sauce to serve over it. We enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Yes I am glad I made this roasted chicken! It was very moist and the skin crisped up very nicely. Don't skimp by omitting the Grand Marnier. It really 'makes' the sauce. You can buy a little 50 ml. airplane-sized bottle and it's the perfect amount. The sauce does not have an alcohol taste..just a slightly sweet orange finish. Very nice. I did add a little less than a Tb. of flour to thicken the sauce a bit. Thank you NcMysteryShopper!! Side suggestion: roast some quarted red-skinned potatoes (tossed with some olive oil, kosher salt, pepper and garlic) while roasting the chicken. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      I love this chicken. I don't like gravy on my meat but this gravy was so good I put it on everything. I think the recipe has a cool and funny name! Thanks NC for making the chicken so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      I found it easy to make and very tasty, didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      Delicious! I wouldn't change a thing. Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      This was a wonderfully tasty chicken and sauce. It made the house smell good also. We loved the sauce over our mashed potatoes as well as the chicken. It was fairly quick to prepare for the oven. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      The nicest chicken I have made in a long time. The aromas that fill your house will have you swooning. A fabulous entry; good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      The chicken was moist and crisp. I did roast to internal thermometer of 175 degrees and let sit for 15 minutes before craving. The sauce was great I did add the flour using 1 cup of juice. As for the stuffing in the chicken I added the onions that I sliced and squeezed the juice from the oranges into the sauce along with the rosemary and basil. I added the sauce to the pan juices in the pan that it was roasted to get all the goodness from the pan. 5 stars Thanks for a great easy comforting meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This is one terrific chicken! I cut the time in half and baked it in my convection oven. It had a perfect blend of flavours, very moist with the most amazing sauce. We really enjoyed this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This was delicous. Great flavors. Easy to follow directions. A sweet and savory dish. I could not fit everything into the cavity of the chicken (I guess my orange and onion were quite large) and so I just placed the overflow around the chicken to bake. Turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This is one of the best roasted chickens I have ever made! The spices are perfect... The skin was crisp, it's a treat when we have skin on chicken ! I did use a tbls of cornstarch in the sauce (not patient enough) for the desired thickness. Great recipe, good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I loved everything about this chicken. It was tender inside and crispy outside. I am a huge fan of cooking with Grand Marnier, to me this is what made a difference in this recipe! Kudos to the chef. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This chicken is so flavorful and tasty! Love the fresh herbs in here! They shine! The sauce was a fantastic addition to the plate and made the perfect dipping sauce for the flavor packed meat. Good luck with the contest chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I have made several Roasted Chicken recipes submitted for contest and this is by far the best. In fact, I've made it 3 times in the last month. The chicken was not only tasty and tender, but the presentation was beautiful. I think the Grand Manier gave this chicken the flavor and wouldn't substitute it or it could change the recipe entirely. I will make this for my family again and again. Best of Luck Chef.... ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This is delicious. The chicken is flavorful, the skin is crisp and attractive, the lightly-sweet, fruity sauce complements the chicken without overwhelming it (I skimmed the grease off the pan juices before making the sauce). But I can't give it 5-stars because My Orange Roast Chicken is not only even tastier but also easier to make. In a general review I might have gone 5 stars, but since its a contest entry I have to rate it lower than the other entry that surpasses it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange You Glad You Made This Roasted Chicken?

    Serving Size: 1 (408 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 696.7
     
    Calories from Fat 420
    60%
    Total Fat 46.6 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 202.4 mg
    67%
    Sodium 446.5 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 16.9 g
    67%
    Protein 45.6 g
    91%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh basil

    fresh rosemary

    Grand Marnier

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites